Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Gretchen's Easy Tam
Gretchen's Easy Tam
Pattern Number: L40074
Rating: *****
4.7 (based on 13 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 13 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Gretchen's Easy Tam Reviewed by kate ford on 2015-01-12 ****
I was surprised how fast this knitted up. I find that to make the rib stich fit well I have to go down a size or two for my needles. I would also recommend placing a stich marker every 20 stiches during the decreases. It will make keeping track of where you are in the pattern much more manageable.

Gretchen's Easy Tam Reviewed by Serena Enslow on 2015-01-06 *****
This was my first fair isle knit and the first time using DPN's. I have made 2 so far and have requests from people at work to make more. It was easy and fun to make. My second one I started on circular needles and switched to DPN's after I started deacreasing and that seemed to make it go faster.

Gretchen's Easy Tam Reviewed by marguerite Horn on 2015-01-06 ****
This was a fun project though I did have a little trouble at first with the beginning of the second charts and the decrease. Once I put total attenion on the project it all came together and I love the results. I used purple and white 4ply yarn and I want to make more. Thanks for the great pattern.
Maggie

Gretchen's Easy Tam Reviewed by Susan Koutnik on 2015-01-06 *****
This was a very clear, and easy to follow pattern. I would post a picture but my hat is being blocked right now. I spun my own yarn for this but I think any worsted would work well. Make sure you do a gauge first!

Gretchen's Easy Tam Reviewed by Jaswandi on 2014-12-23 *****
This is a fantastic design, can't go wrong with this one. I have never knit in a pattern before, and I was able to create this flawlessly by following this pattern to the T.
One word of caution - check the yarn you've bought. I bought the ones that were suggested in the pattern (I swapped out the Tan for the Yellowstone yellow) but the ones they sent me was from the Hometown USA series. So my tam is a little big for my head, and a little brighter too. However, it is a gorgeous pattern!! Go for it even if you're a beginner.

Click to zoom

Gretchen's Easy Tam Reviewed by Sue Lowry on 2014-12-27 *****
I love this pattern. I made one and loved it so much that I made two more and gave all 3 as Christmas presents. And I just finished a fourth that I'm giving as another Christmas present. Now I need to make one that I can keep for myself. I've been using yarn that I had left over from other projects.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Gretchen's Easy Tam Reviewed by minnie pesl on 2014-12-11 *****
I first watched Gretchen's video and decided to try this pattern. I have never done fair isle before, but as I followed this pattern I felt so "empowered" as I saw the design developing. In fact, I had to make myself stop and retire for the night so I wouldn't have a knitting hangover in the morning. I LOVE this pattern and plan to make it many times. It will be in my go to pattern notebook. I did use Vannas yarn instead of Heartland. Thanks so much for this pattern.

Gretchen's Easy Tam Reviewed by Lucille Hanks on 2014-12-11 *****
This pattern is beautifully written and so easy to follow.
It turned out perfectly, just like the picture. It was my first time at charts and I could not put it down. Fun to make. Thank you.

Gretchen's Easy Tam Reviewed by S Ortuzar on 2014-12-12 *****
Love this pattern. Made 2 in one week. Quick, easy, and gorgeous results. Pattern is written well and easy to follow. You can literally make this in 2 evening's worth of knitting. It also looks great on. Not too much slouch the beret is subtle.

Gretchen's Easy Tam Reviewed by Deb Falvo on 2014-12-15 *****
The video tutorial for this pattern made this project much easier! I had been hesitant about attempting a Fair Isle pattern, but this was a very enjoyable project.

If this is your first attempt at a Fair Isle, I highly encourage you to watch the video; it will help you understand how to add the second color yarn and especially how to carry the yarn across the back.

The video also teaches you how to do a long-tail cast on, as well as the magic loop, which is helpful if you don't have double-point needles.

Click to zoom

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font