Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Gretchen's Easy Tam
Gretchen's Easy Tam
Pattern Number: L40074
Rating: *****
4.7 (based on 17 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 17 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Very simple and well written Reviewed by Thealexa Becker on 2015-04-25 *****
I found this pattern to be both straightforward and clear. This was my first fair isle project and I'm very happy with the results. I would highly recommend this pattern to anyone looking for a simple pattern that produces a lovely hat.

Gretchen's Easy Tam Reviewed by Adrianna Hitchins on 2015-05-14 ****
The pattern is relatively easy to follow and the resulting hat is quite nice. As tams go, it's not the widest, so if you have a larger head or prefer a floppier tam, this has its limitations. I chose this project in order to kill two birds with one stone: I wanted to try knitting a hat and I wanted to learn fair isle. It was excellent for both. Very fast, too.

Gretchen's Easy Tam Reviewed by Dawn Schofield on 2015-04-10 *****
I went down a size on the needles and it turned out more like a stocking hat, which is just what I wanted! I love this pattern! For my youngest, I left out the plain rows to make it a little shorter. That worked great!

Gretchen's Easy Tam SOOO EASY! Reviewed by Raven Wallace on 2015-02-22 *****
I literally made this in one weekend. If you have never done anything like this, watch the video tutorial by iKnits!!!!! It helped me sooo much. It was my first time doing a fair isle pattern, or any type of chart/color change like this. I had been avoiding it because it looked intimidating. I am SOOOOO happy I finally tried it. It was so easy, I am definitely going to make more. I used heartland in purple and black, just because that's what I had on hand. I do wish I had used one brighter color to really bring out the pattern more, but it's okay, I'm definitely gonna make it again!!

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Gretchen's Easy Tam Reviewed by kate ford on 2015-01-12 ****
I was surprised how fast this knitted up. I find that to make the rib stich fit well I have to go down a size or two for my needles. I would also recommend placing a stich marker every 20 stiches during the decreases. It will make keeping track of where you are in the pattern much more manageable.

Gretchen's Easy Tam Reviewed by Serena Enslow on 2015-01-06 *****
This was my first fair isle knit and the first time using DPN's. I have made 2 so far and have requests from people at work to make more. It was easy and fun to make. My second one I started on circular needles and switched to DPN's after I started deacreasing and that seemed to make it go faster.

Gretchen's Easy Tam Reviewed by marguerite Horn on 2015-01-06 ****
This was a fun project though I did have a little trouble at first with the beginning of the second charts and the decrease. Once I put total attenion on the project it all came together and I love the results. I used purple and white 4ply yarn and I want to make more. Thanks for the great pattern.
Maggie

Gretchen's Easy Tam Reviewed by Susan Koutnik on 2015-01-06 *****
This was a very clear, and easy to follow pattern. I would post a picture but my hat is being blocked right now. I spun my own yarn for this but I think any worsted would work well. Make sure you do a gauge first!

Gretchen's Easy Tam Reviewed by Jaswandi on 2014-12-23 *****
This is a fantastic design, can't go wrong with this one. I have never knit in a pattern before, and I was able to create this flawlessly by following this pattern to the T.
One word of caution - check the yarn you've bought. I bought the ones that were suggested in the pattern (I swapped out the Tan for the Yellowstone yellow) but the ones they sent me was from the Hometown USA series. So my tam is a little big for my head, and a little brighter too. However, it is a gorgeous pattern!! Go for it even if you're a beginner.

Click to zoom

Gretchen's Easy Tam Reviewed by Sue Lowry on 2014-12-27 *****
I love this pattern. I made one and loved it so much that I made two more and gave all 3 as Christmas presents. And I just finished a fourth that I'm giving as another Christmas present. Now I need to make one that I can keep for myself. I've been using yarn that I had left over from other projects.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font