Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Painterly Beret
Painterly Beret
Pattern Number: L32322
Rating: ****
4.0 (based on 11 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 11 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Painterly Beret Reviewed by Olivia Blanchard on 2015-02-26 **
I made this up and it is small, like for a toddler or baby. It looks so good here in the picture.

Painterly Beret Reviewed by Twana on 2015-02-26 ****
I made this for myself, added a couple of extra rows. Very nice.

Painterly Beret Reviewed by Sue Washburn on 2014-12-22 ****
I really like this pattern but mine looks nothing like the picture. I used an N hook with Homespun and followed the pattern exactly. It is not the large, floppy hat in the picture, but it fits, it looks like a beret, and it will be okey. Next time I will try a P hook and add some extra rows.

Reviewed by Kayla on 2014-07-04 *****
I did it and it turned out perfectly! I didn't use the homespun, as this was only my 4th project. I wanted to use a yarn where it was easier to see the stitches, so I just used a soft bright red I had in my stash.
Also, I had no idea where the spaces were or how to go in them so I just did regular double crochet and it worked great! At first I thought it wasn't going to turn out as it just looked like a big giant circle, but I started seeing the hat when I did the single crochet part.
All in all, this is an excellent pattern! I've always wanted a beret.


Painterly Beret Reviewed by Bernadette NOlan on 2014-01-25 *****
I am on my 6th one. Works up great. Easy to follow directions. It fits my head and the person I made it for.

Painterly Beret Reviewed by Jane on 2014-01-22 ****
Very very small. I doubt my 6 year old can wear it. When I made a second one, I increased the needle size to an L (8.0mm) and it was a little better but it's also not deep enough. Put three additional rounds of sc at bottom and made it a little better. Definitely does not fit like it fits on the model. She must have a really small head. I really liked the pattern for working in spaces rather than stitches with this type of yarn since it's so hard to see stitches. Just wish it turned out like it's pictured on the model.

Painterly Beret Reviewed by Jill Butler on 2014-01-23 *****
I love this beret and have gone crazy maing them. I have been using Vanna's Choice and really love it. It is really easy to make and it looks fabulous.,

Painterly Beret Reviewed by MERRILEE BOST on 2014-01-14 *
Wayyyyy toooo small. Pretty on the model but next to worthless as a hat on me. I will be ripping it out and trying another pattern. I am very disappointed.

Painterly Beret Reviewed by Kathleenroderick on 2014-01-16 *****
I made this pattern, true to the directions, in just a couple of hours and it came out beautifully. If you need the circumference to be larger, just do less decreases on the last couple of rows. I have never been a big fan of HomeSpun yarn but it worked perfectly for this pattern and is so soft and drapes nicely in whatever style you like to wear a beret. I am sure I will be making many more of these as gifts.

Painterly Beret Reviewed by Janie Lang on 2014-01-21 *****
Great pattern--works up quickly and easy to exchange yarns and needles for different looks. Will be an all-time favorite!! Thanks so much for sharing.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font