Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of District 12 Cowl Wrap
District 12 Cowl Wrap
Pattern Number: L30293
Rating: ***
3.1 (based on 21 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 21 results Page 1 of 3
123Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
District 12 Cowl Wrap..I love it Reviewed by Lori-Lynette Mumford on 2014-12-31 *****
This is an easy pattern that is easy to follow and adjust (which I did). The results are gorgeous and I highly recommend anyone to try it. I am onto the knitted version the survival cowl.

District 12 Cowl Wrap Reviewed by sharon willis on 2014-12-08 ***
Made this over the week end, but did not read anyone's comments before. Sure wish I had. I instinctively made a couple of changes as I worked up the cowl, not nearly enough though. The cowl work is to guage, as directed and is beautiful, but nothing like the photo. In the photo, there must be increases in the rounds, as in a circle. The wrap is gorgeous as well, but needs to be "filled in" at the arm side, as one of the comments suggests. Is a work in progress! I always like working in the back loops and rarely make bulky things. I just wanted to make the huntress vest. To be continued......

District 12 Cowl Wrap Reviewed by Dani Long on 2014-11-25 ***
To be fair, if you look at the Katniss original, it's a COWL. And an odd one, at that. So, you know, that's what this is a pattern for.

I used this pattern as a starting point ONLY and heavily modified it, so I'm not going to post a photo because it's not much like the original. But EXCELLENT idea!!

District 12 Cowl Wrap Reviewed by Brigitte on 2014-10-26 ****
I had to make changes similar to the other reviewers. I tried the pattern as written first but was disappointed with how the wrap was so stiff and weird to the side. I increased on the cowl and decreased a lot on the wrap and it fits well to my body. I am not sure I like it this way, I may try to make it again like the picture but with a floppier yarn that will be a thinner end product that drapes and folds and is less bulky.

Click to zoom

District 12 Cowl Wrap Reviewed by teresa l cline on 2014-08-10 ***
it is a beautiful piece BUT the pattern is a little misleading. there is a big opening under the arm-which makes the wrap look weird, so I twisted and tacked both sides to make the wrap fit closer to the body. it looks a lot better. pattern is beautiful-but not the way it is put together. many of my friends like the way I put together better than the way the pattern called for.

District 12 Cowl Wrap Reviewed by Lori Anderson on 2014-01-24 ****
I made this for my first crochet project, using bulkier yarn and a larger hook. I finished off the cowl after the third round of popcorn stitches. I made the wrap only 12 inches across, but it was way too long, so I pulled up the side under the arm with round elastic. It looks a lot different than the picture, but my daughter loves it.

District 12 Cowl Wrap Reviewed by Andrea Smith on 2014-01-04 *
I'm very........ disappointed with this pattern. The Pattern written does NOT say anything about increasing to wide it out around the shoulder. It seem to be very popular and fun to make. I'm not having fun right now. While, I'm crocheting this pattern, it's looking like a turtleneck. I'm making this for a college student and she 5"7. I hope SHE like it.

This pattern needs to be reviewed by LB! Reviewed by SARAH R HECHT on 2014-01-17 **
Thank you to the previous reviewers for pointing out the problems with this pattern and strategies for making the cowl look like it does in the picture. When I finished the initial cowl I couldn't figure out why I was feeling so claustrophobic. ^_^

Did anyone use a larger crochet hook as well as modifying the pattern? Although I'm fairly small, I'm broad in the shoulders.

District 12 Cowl Wrap Reviewed by Lynda Altman on 2013-12-13 *
This pattern is a dissapointment. the cowl does not crochet the way it is shown in the photo. If you look at the way the model is wearing it, the cowl is severely stretched to give the look. I crocheted to gauge and the Wool Ease yarn does not have enough give to stretch completely. In order to obtain the look in the picture, you have to increase around each row otherwise you have a very bulky tube.

You can see in the picture how much extra fabric is by her hip. That is what happens when you try to fit a rectangluar piece to a circle. The wrap should be decreased on each end to form a trapeziod. This way you loose all that extra ease by the hip.

I decided to scrap this pattern and design my own.

District 12 Cowl Wrap: How to make it look like the photo Reviewed by elaine liner on 2013-12-20 ****
Here's how to adjust the cowl pattern to make it look more like the photo across the shoulders:

On the SC round before the third round of bobbles, increase by 10 stitches (I did that by simply inc 1sc every 10 stitches all the way around). That leaves you with 70 stitches.

Now there will be 17 bobbles on the next round, which makes the piece more triangular, like the photo.

NOTE: This will mean the cowl takes more than 2 skeins. Just a little more, but more. Hope this helps.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font