Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Cozy Cocoon Poncho
Cozy Cocoon Poncho
Pattern Number: L30134
Rating: ***
2.3 (based on 14 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 14 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Cozy Cocoon Poncho Reviewed by Diane Reid-Lapointe on 2015-02-13 *
Not happy at all with this pancho, made it longer and wider but I will rip it out and follow the pattern, it's cute on the model but not wearable if I leave mine the way it is. Spent 14$ per skein * 4 so it's pretty expensive, it was for my daughter,s birthday and I'm very disappointed that it did not turn out. Oh and I've been crocheting for years, I think I will make my own patter with this yarn that I don't know what to do with.

Cozy Cocoon Poncho Reviewed by Kandis Hunter on 2014-10-07 ****
I picked up some of this yarn because I liked it so much and started following the pattern. I used a P hook and just under 3 balls of yarn. Came out exactly as expected. The drape was lovely, the cowl was 8 inches high and sat as it should. The pattern in these dimensions is best suited for someone who is a medium or slight build. I liked it enough to immediately make another for a larger size. Larger bustline or someone with more realistic proportions should add appropriate stitches to beginning chain and length and of course expect to use more yarn so grab another ball. Cowl can remain the same. Another poster suggested 36 in and 63 length and thats about what I went with. Good call.

Cozy Cocoon Poncho Reviewed by ivy on 2014-04-13 *****
Not sure why so many people were having problems with this pattern. I made myself one in the late fall and I love it. My daughter wanted one, but as she is large-chested, I immediately added stitches to the initial amount called for (in her case, I ended up with 36 stitches, then 63 inches in length. Cowl is 33 inches to replace 30 and I am now adding a few rows to the back. I am listing these changes for anyone who may want to try again. If you do, please feel free to share your experience. I hope this helps. :-)

Cozy Cocoon Poncho Reviewed by Brenda Wear on 2014-01-26 *
I have to agree with several of the above comments. Being a beginner I thought I was the one that had something wrong. Actually ripped the whole thing out after the first try and re-did it a second time only to have the same problem. Finished product seems to be somewhat assymetrical (not in a good way) and the cowl is very bulky and tends to lay to one side. I can't rip it out again but will only wear it around the house as it is very warm.

Cozy Cocoon Poncho - Needs Modifications Reviewed by Jean Sparks on 2014-01-14 ***
Like others have said the picture looks great but working it does not produce the same results.

I was using this pattern in a crochet class and my instructor helped me make adjustments for it to come out beautifully though which is why I gave it a 3 star review.

My gauge was correct and all seemed well until I started the cowl. 8" was way too bulky and did not lay anything like the photo. I took it down to 4" and it looks very much like the photo.

The second issue was it was grossly lopsided (both before and after changing the cowl). My instructor suggested I add 4" to the long edge by working half double crochets (like you added the cowl but on the opposite edge.) With the added work it came out into a garment I am proud to wear.

Cozy Cocoon Poncho Reviewed by Cyndi Perkins on 2014-01-01 *
Very disaponted with the way this turned out. I too ended up ripping it out and will hopefully find another use for the yarn. Fit was poor for anyone with a larger chest. Just doesn't fit right.

Cozy Cocoon Poncho Reviewed by Sandy Harper on 2014-01-02 ****
I made this poncho and i couldn't get the gauge to match so i just went by the demensions, it worked out really well. Makes a great gift. I am working on one for myself now. Thanks for the free pattern!

Cozy Cocoon Poncho Reviewed by Lynn on 2013-12-11 *
I tried this pattern with the P hook twice before giving up before ripping the yarn out and using it for another project. I double checked my count and watched tension, just couldn't get the correct width vs. shape. I absolutely love the poncho in the photo. It's a shame the pattern doesn't work for me. I am a lover of ponchos - and this yarn!

Cozy Cocoon Poncho Reviewed by barb on 2013-11-29 *
Same as many have said. Spent a bunch of money on the material and was very unhappy with the outcome. If you have broad shoulders or are chesty, there is no way to make this work. Not as written. I'm usually very happy with the outcome using Homespun. This was my first time using the Thick and Quick Homespun.

Cozy Cocoon Poncho Reviewed by Gina on 2013-11-24 ***
The pattern was easy, but I also had to use a Q hook for gauge. Looks and feels ok. Also was a little crooked but overall looked nice.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font