Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Simple Cowl
Simple Cowl
Pattern Number: L30163
Rating: *****
4.4 (based on 14 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 14 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Simple Cowl Reviewed by Doris Altmansberger on 2014-12-29 *****
Love this patern. looks so pretty and warm.

Simple Cowl Reviewed by Peggy Fuentes on 2015-01-02 *****
Love this pattern, I used Size N hook, worsted weight yarn, held two strands together and made an awesome SeaHawks inspired cowl. Very easy pattern to follow and one could easily make smaller or larger increasing or decreasing the chain at the beginning of the project.

Simple Cowl Reviewed by Judith Bourne on 2014-12-16 **
i'm trying to make this cowl, but should have read all of the reviews first. everyone is so polite, while i have to rip it apart again. using a K hook is making a gaiter. hard to believe this is considered for beginners.

Reviewed by michele tagg on 2014-10-30 ***
Love the yarn. Worked this in a spiral so the colors blended smoothly. Working per directions, the colors do not flow/match well at the seam. Using a stitch marker at the 1st stitch to mark each new round, I alternated single crochet stitches working in the front loop for a round and the back loop for the next round, and so on. This provided the cabled effect shown on the model.

Simple Cowl Reviewed by Karla Mcmorran on 2014-08-12 *****
Love this yarn! Soft, yummy hand. I used a HDC throughout except for first and last rows and worked it in the round so the colors lined up better and didn't have to join the ends. I also used this pattern with left over baby weight yarns, adjusting the pattern for size. It came out soft and dainty.

Simple Cowl Reviewed by Mary Monk on 2014-05-19 *****
I made this cowl with leftover yarn from my many afghan projects. Because I am lazy, I did first row in single crochet and the rest in half doubles. Still in back loop only each row, and when it looked wide enough I did the last row in singles again. They turned out great, everyone at my knit& crochet group loved them and began using their leftovers as well. You can make one in about 2 hours, and they are great gifts in the winter. We are gonna make them for our church bazaar in the fall.

Simple Cowl Reviewed by Theresa Cox on 2014-02-07 ****
I had some novelty yarn I wanted to play with and this looked like an easy place to start. used Homespun with some eyelash yarn mixed in for texture and it turned out great. Getting ready to start #2

Click to zoom

Simple Cowl Reviewed by Victoria White on 2014-01-25 *****
I made two for my daughters and they love them! Working on one for me. Keeping us warm!

Simple Cowl Reviewed by Jennifer on 2014-01-10 ***
Love the yarn, love the pattern. However, I think for me, I'll have to chain it longer next time to have that looser feel as it appears on the model. I found the cowl a little difficult to fit over my head (my head size is larger than the average woman) but I expected it to be cozy, not vice like. But overall, it's really nice and beautiful.

Reviewed by Patty Oconnor on 2014-01-06 *****
I made this cowl a little bit longer and not quite as wide. I'm guessing that this is why I didn't get the striped effect as in the picture. Still, it turned out pretty and was super easy, without looking like it was super easy. The yarn is really soft and cozy too!

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font