Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Sunset Shrug
Sunset Shrug
Pattern Number: L32035
Rating: ****
3.4 (based on 14 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 14 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Sunset Shrug Reviewed by Catrina on 2015-02-24 **
I love this pattern and the colors and bought the kit. There is NO WAY that this will fit me (I am on the brown color round now) ! I am a small size (size 4\6) and right now it is as big as the star and green and I have completed the brown round all done with a size J hook. To save this project and get it to fit me, I am going to keep going and I will buy another of the Isle Royal color (looks purple in the picture) and enlarge it that way. This was VERY disappointing! My advice is to use ALL of the green and brown yarn increasing as you go....then measure and see if this will fit your needed size. I see this has been an issue for many folks. Please Lion Brand - fix this pattern PLEASE.

Sunset Shrug Reviewed by Mona on 2014-12-31 ***
Just completed shrug- I am 5'1" and about a size 4 - the shrug barely fits me! It's little & needs several more rounds! May want to pin & see how it works on you before you put the final edge around it. Sleeves are very confusing. I ended up using another reviewer's diagram, but they still don't look or feel right.
Pattern was easy to follow & I love the "sun" in the center.

Sunset Shrug Reviewed by Janet Sharik on 2014-03-26 ****
Made this with the wrong hook (3.75mm) instead of the recommended J hook. It look really nice! Will post photo of what I did once I finish the fitting.

I rate this four stars, because the finishing instruction was a bit confusing as to how do I figure out the marking for the "sleeve" opening.

Sunset Shrug Reviewed by on 2014-03-24 ****
I am making this entirely out of white yarn to wear with a navy and white dress to my nephew's wedding. I can't wait to see how it comes out. I will share a picture when I am finished with it.

I rated it with four stars for now, will post my actual review when it's done.

Sunset Shrug Reviewed by Renee Thanig on 2013-11-13 ****
Made two of these for my daughter in laws. Had the hardest time figuring out how to measure to sew the side seams. Would help tremendously if you could draw a diagram of where we should be measuring. Still not sure I did it right. Also as stated in other reviews gauge and yarn is not enough to make a big enough shrug to look like one in picture. I revamped the edges and added rows to make it fit for my very average size daughter in laws. No way would this fit any one over a size 10 as pictured! You must have used a very petite model.
After a second email I finally was told how to measure the sides in words that made sense and have made a diagram for anyone else who was having the same problem. Simply put you measure 8" down the open edge from the folded edge, than I placed a marker, measure another 6" down the open edge from the marker and place another one. Sew the area between the 2 markers.

Click to zoom

Sunset Shrug Reviewed by NANCY A DOWNIE on 2013-11-11 ****
Mine turned out very nice. I tend to crochet loosely, and I am also very small (5'1", size 2). It is true to size and fits me well. But I can see where it would not fit a large person. It would be a perfect project or gift for a teenager. I am more of a knitter than a crocheter, but this was very easy to make and put together. I'm not a huge fan of acrylic yarn but Heartland is quite lovely. It is soft, the colors are classy, and I did not find any knots in it. And it's great that it's made in the USA!

Sunset Shrug Reviewed by Hermene Anderson on 2013-11-04 *****
I see why everyone is reviewing this as "way too small when finished" look at the photo of the model! There are definitely more rounds added to the shrug than what the instructions say! You can tell right away... Especially the next to last color... It is way more than the three rounds as per instructions... Lucky I am not finished yet and decided to read some of y'all's reviews!! I'm adding several mor rounds! Thanks! I do agree that this is very easy to make and I just love the color combinations,

Sunset Shrug Reviewed by Irene L Henley on 2013-10-19 *
I followed this pattern to the letter. It is much to small.

Sunset Shrug Reviewed by on 2013-10-20 **
love this, but have to say the collar & arm holes are really difficult and it does not lay very well, also had problems with sizing, actually undid the whole thing and redid it with larger needle - and probably should have done an even larger needle. Not sure I'd recommend, although it was super easy.

Sunset Shrug Reviewed by Adair Killion on 2013-10-02 ****
I enjoyed making this! So easy to do, though the collar was a little bit of a challenge. I noticed that previous reviewers found the completed shrug to be too small. I used a larger size hook (K - 6.50MM) and heavier (worsted weight 4 ply) yarn, to make a plus size garment that fit me. I also made Pattern #: L10591B (hat) in a matching color, to complete the outfit, and have gotten many compliments.


 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font