Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Child's Simple Knit Hat
Child's Simple Knit Hat
Pattern Number: L20402
Rating: ****
4.1 (based on 8 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-8 of 8 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Reviewed by Mariana on 2014-06-16 *****
I love this pattern! I'm expecting a baby boy in September and have been searching for the perfect baby beanie. I crochet and knit so I tried patterns for both but this one is my favorite. So fast to knit up! And I think it's going to be the perfect size for my baby boy. It's a really easy pattern and you can knit it on straight needles instead of using double pointed needles. Overall perfect pattern and I will be making more beanies with this pattern. Thank you lion brand yarn! :)

Child's Simple Knit Hat Reviewed by Kirsten Verdi on 2013-12-27 *
It came out to short and too wide ;-(

Child's Simple Knit Hat Reviewed by elsie ghirxi on 2013-12-06 *****
tried this nice hat it turned out very nice I did it for my grandson of 2 years thanks for the lovely patterns I don't know if I am wrong but when you decrease the knit row should be purl I did them purl and it came like the one in the picture

Child's Simple Knit Hat Reviewed by Donna POtts on 2013-08-03 *****
Nice little hat. Did the larger size for a 3 year old but it turned out too large so I did it again with only 80 stitches and stayed on #7 needles (did not increase to #8 after finishing the ribbing) and that turned out great.

Reviewed by attack.of.the.ninja.squirrels on 2013-06-23 ****
This hat turned out lovely, but I made my own adjustments. I decreased differently, added a pompom and for the body of the hat I wove in some fluffy yarn.

Child's Simple Knit Hat Reviewed by Elizabeth on 2013-02-14 ***
Skill Level: Easy means you are going to be getting beginners. As I said I was a beginner (apparently I skip words in patterns and other people skip words in reviews). It was the second thing I had ever tried to knit.
I'm still confused by the pattern though. I'm on my second attempt and is it 4" from the beginning of the hat or is it 4" from the start of the stockinette stitch?

-------------------
Now I'm a beginner there is no two ways around it but something went very very wrong for me. By the looks of that hat they knitted several rounds before doing the decreases because mine looks more like an infant yamaka and sadly was a waste of my time. I'll have to restart.
Again I'm a beginner but I don't see where there could have became that dramatic of a difference.
Trust me if you make this. The moment you start making decreases the hat will close up pretty fast so make sure you've got enough height to the hat so the hat will stay on and not be a yamaka.

Child's Simple Knit Hat Reviewed by Adriana on 2013-02-21 *****
Yes, I would agree that Elizabeth missed that step of the instructions. I have made three of these for my local hospital and all turned out exactly as shown. Very quick, very easy, and so cute on a newborn. The finished hat is definitely big for a newborn, but not any more than any other newborn hat I've seen.
I added a clip-on (barrette) knit flower to one for a girl. Cute by itself, but super-cute with the flower added!

Click to zoom

Child's Simple Knit Hat Reviewed by jodi on 2013-02-17 *****
I am wondering if maybe Elizabeth being a beginner misread or skipped the part where you knit in st st for 4 inches. That's the only reason I can see for her hat to come out like that.i hope she tries it again, it's a great beginner pattern!

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font