Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
New Catalog
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
Free Catalog
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
Find a Store
post code:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern

Customer Reviews

Image of Celtic Afghan
Celtic Afghan
Pattern Number: L20303
Rating: ****
3.7 (based on 48 reviews)
Write your own review
Search All Patterns:  
Displaying 1-10 of 48 results Page 1 of 5
12345Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Celtic Afghan Reviewed by Sherri Andrews on 2015-02-20 *****
I practiced each section of this afghan before attempting the put it all together. I used heartland yarn and a smaller hook size. After I mastered each cable I put it together and it turned out beautiful! I emailed lionbrand for some help and they couldn't have been nicer. This was a fun pattern!

Click to zoom

Celtic Afghan Reviewed by Deborah Kirby on 2015-02-03 *
I, too, am an experienced crocheter (more than 40 years) and find the instructions for this pattern lacking, to say the least. Very difficult to establish the patterns, based on how it's written. I love the look of this, but am going to find a new option. Pretty disappointed.

Celtic Afghan Reviewed by Janice M. Fleischer on 2015-01-25 ***
I am a very experienced crocheter and I am finding the instructions difficult to follow. The graphs were a great improvement over the first set of instructions and help tremendously but I am still struggling a bit. Actual close up pictures of each pattern would be a great addition. Once I get this pattern straight in my own head I will send some. I will not give up because it is such a beautiful piece. My stars are for the pattern explanation (3) but the finished piece is a 5! This is an advanced piece not intermediate- you really need to understand the stitches well.

Celtic Afghan Reviewed by Linda Adams on 2015-01-21 *****
I really struggled the first 2-3 days doing Rows 1 and 3 above the FPTRCross stitch. I ripped out whole rows multiple times when I knew it wasn't right. The problems were solely my own. IF I had read the note 'When working repeats of Row 1 (and 3), work each BPTR around the post stitch only of each FPTRCross', MAYBE I wouldn't have had so many rip-outs. Use your fingers to find the vertical post and work a BPTR around only this post, then work the puff stitch, then again with your fingers find the next verticle post and work another BPTR. I felt so victorious when it finally came together. I LOVE this pattern, and FINALLY am on auto-pilot. Many thanks for sharing this BEAUTIFUL Celtic afghan pattern. I can't include a picture using my old iPad, so I will include a pic from my husband's computer on a later post. Don't give up, you won't be sorry.

Click to zoom

Celtic Afghan Reviewed by on 2014-04-26 *****
I'm active duty Army and currently deployed to Afghanistan. I thought it would be fun to make an 'Afghani afghan' while I'm here. So this is made entirely in Afghanistan from yarn purchased from an Afghani. It is 100% acrylic, so not very luxurious, but I am in love with it.

I could not love this pattern more. I classify myself as a beginner, but I've been crocheting almost my whole life. I've just never done anything more challenging than a zigzag before. It took some learning, and I'm pretty sure I did one of the cable stitches just a little wrong, but that's what makes it unique and I love it.

Click to zoom

Celtic Afghan Reviewed by Raphael Hankin on 2014-03-28 **
The afghan itself is beautiful, the directions are terrible. I'm an experienced crocheter and I'm having the a devil of a time with this pattern. I'm using the N hook and I agree that it makes the afghan a little to lacey. I'm doing this for a wedding present so I will have to soldier on. I would love to see a video on how to do the cabling.

worth the effort Reviewed by Jane Kamper on 2013-12-18 ****
Overall, I say this is worth the initial frustration with the FPTRCross stitch. I have been crocheting for many years, and found the directions for this to be confusing, but the diagram and slowly going over the written instructions helped. I honestly don't think I ended up doing the FPTRCross correctly, but I made it work for me, and the finished project looks beautiful, although "holey". I had to use an L hook to get the proper gauge.

Click to zoom

Celtic Afghan Reviewed by Katie on 2013-11-05 *****
This pattern was so much fun to make and after the tenth row i didn't need to reference the pattern as much. Definitely would make it again and recommend it. I switched color between skeins so you can see how much you get from one skein.

Click to zoom

Celtic Afghan Reviewed by Becky Griffes on 2013-09-11 *****
I was really nervous to do this afghan because I knew it would be the hardest thing I had done. In the beginning I wasn't sure I was going to be able to figure it out, but with a little trial and error - and lots of starting over, I slowly picked up the patterns and new stitches and after a couple rows I had it down! I am so excited with how it has turned out, especially since it is a wedding gift for a friend. The only thing I would do different a second time is tighter stitches - There are so many "holes" between stitches that there is a lot of stretch. It looks great though!

Celtic Afghan Reviewed by P on 2013-08-03 *****
I made this one for my mom using a mid-weight yarn, double stranding it the entire time. The result: I didn't make it as long as this says to make it b/c of the finished weight of the blanket but it is as wide. I did it long enough for one person, if used vertically and short enough for two people as a lap blanket, if used horizontally. It tuned out having a nice, heavy winter weight and looks great draped horizontally (the longer way) on a couch.

It was a great project to make but definitely required thinking the entire time. I am an experience crocheter. It did take 3 rows to get the pattern down but, after that, it was easy to see what to do next but i did have to use the pattern the entire time to figure out when crosses and skips came when. It really wasnt until the last few rows that i was able to remember. But like i said, i didnt make this nearly as long as it says. Think around 3 feet long by 4-5 feet wide.

The extra notes were a bonus and made the pattern easy to understand. I wouldn't do this again b/c I like variety and pride myself in never repeating a pattern BUT, it is a great blanket and I would make it again if another loved one really really REALLY liked it.

separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font