Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Knit Spring Ruana
Knit Spring Ruana
Pattern Number: L20087
Rating: *****
4.4 (based on 9 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-9 of 9 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Knit Spring Ruana Reviewed by Melanie Haniph on 2014-09-15 ****
This was a fun, yet time-consuming project to knit. I had only a half-hour a day to do it (and maybe an hour or 2 on weekends), and so it took me several months to complete. I had never done a lace pattern before, and this was a great introduction. The bamboo cotton yarn is so lovely and soft. My completed ruana came out just like the featured photo of the piece.

Knit Spring Ruana Reviewed by Bonnie Kilbourn on 2014-03-28 *****
I loved this ruana. The pattern was fun, quick and easy. However, I made two changes:
1. I used LB Cotton Ease instead of the Cotton Bamboo the pattern calls for.
2. I changed the back, center panel.
I am a plus size, 2X, and I thought the center panel might be a bit too narrow for me.
I increased the stitches to 39 thus adding about 4" in the width. It fits perfectly.
Total yarn usage was 7 1/2 skeins of Cotton Ease.
I cannot wait for a spring evening to wear it.

Knit Spring Ruana Reviewed by donna howell on 2013-08-07 *****
Just started my second ruana in brown, did the first in the creamy beige. Love the look and drape with this yarn. It runs true to gage and knits up nicely once you get the hang of the pattern, although this is not a project to do while watching tv, it does require concentration. The first one took about 3 weeks to do. Wish this yarn came in black........

Knit Spring Ruana Reviewed by Carissa on 2013-07-26 ***
I have been knitting for 7 years and this pattern was a little difficult to maneuver at first. I did not buy the cotton bamboo it looked really difficult to knit this pattern with, instead I bought an all cotton yarn. I had trouble with the yarn constantly slipping from the needles so I decided to double my yarn up so I had to decrease and adjust cast on to knit the pattern. I have almost a full lace pattern complete and I do not think I will use this pattern again. I am definately enjoying the challenge though!

Knit Spring Ruana Reviewed by Bridget Gilligan on 2013-06-27 *****
ssk:
Definition:
Slip slip knit or SSK is a basic way to decrease stitches. It makes a decrease that slants to the left and is often paired with knit two together, which is a right-slanting decrease.

To execute this decrease, slip the first stitch as if to knit, slip the second stitch as if to knit, then slide the left-hand needle into the front part of both stitches and knit them together.

ssk may be replaced by Slip 1, knit 1, pass the slipped stitch over, OR knit 2 tog thru back of loops. These are also decreases which slant to the left.

Hope this helps!!
Bridget :)

Knit Spring Ruana Reviewed by Josee Poulin on 2013-03-29 *****
I just finished knitting this beautiful wrap. I had fun making it and it is just gorgeous! I think I will make more in other shades!

Click to zoom

Knit Spring Ruana Reviewed by Frederica Huxley on 2013-02-28 *****
ssk is mentioned in the depths of the Stitch Explanation: "3. With tip of left needle, lift the 2 slipped sts (the 2nd and 3rd sts on the right needle) up and over the knit st (first st on right needle) and off the needle you have decreased 2 sts.
ssk (slip, slip, knit)" Looks fun!

Knit Spring Ruana Reviewed by Wendy Perkins on 2013-02-28 ***
There is no explanation given for the abbreviation "ssk". Does in mean "slip 2 stitchs and knit 1", or "slip 2 stitches as if to knit"?

Knit Spring Ruana Reviewed by Abby Baskar on 2012-06-29 *****
Looks very elegant and beautiful. Can't wait to make it for my mom.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font