Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Drapey Cardigan
Drapey Cardigan
Pattern Number: L10572
Rating: ****
4.1 (based on 9 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-9 of 9 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Drapey Cardigan Reviewed by Helene Dionne on 2015-03-01 *****
j'ai bien aimé ce modèle, par contre je lui ai apporté une modification. j'ai coussu le col et le bas du chandail. J'ai de cette façon formé 2 poches et le chandail tombe mieux.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Drapey Cardigan Reviewed by Bobbi Izlar on 2014-12-13 **
not as attractive in real life!! arms and wrists were huge. I was disappointed--so much work for something that was eh...but it was not hard to make and it was the first "big" project I have ever undertaken.


Drapey Cardigan Reviewed by Lauren on 2014-01-03 ****
I've been knitting (and crocheting) for about 10 years now, mostly just hats and scarves. This was my first attempt at a sweater, and the pattern was fairly easy to read and understand for someone, like myself, who's inexperienced in making "bigger" projects. The biggest challenge was picking up 134 stitches evenly to make the collar…that was excruciating for me, simply because I like symmetry and I was afraid my stitches wouldn't be spread evenly apart.

There are a few changes I would make to the pattern if I were to use it again. To start with, I would make the body of the sweater just a few inches longer, only because I prefer longer shirts and sweaters. I would also reduce the "bagginess" in the sleeves…I have small arms and wrists, so the baggy part of the sleeves swim on me, and then what is supposed to be the tighter part (the ribbing) is loose. This could be changed even now, and I still may choose to do so, if I get the ambition!

One problem I did experience was that I ran out of yarn. My gauge was spot on, and all of my lengths were to the pattern's specifications. I only needed enough yarn to finish about another inch of the ribbing on the collar, but this was still a hassle to have to run out and get another ball of yarn.

Overall this was a great pattern for a beginner. I began mine in August, and just finished (in January)…I am a college student, so I knitted in my free time, especially over breaks. I'm also pretty slow at knitting, so I'm sure it could be made a lot quicker! Attached is a photo of mine. I used Vanna's Choice yarn in Linen and made it in a small (I typically wear small/medium sweaters).

Click to zoom

Drapey Cardigan Reviewed by Lorraine Hoogenboom on 2013-11-24 ****
I didn't want a THICK sweater, so I used the diagram to crochet this sweater... (DC for front and back, Rib stitch for collar and lower sleeves). Actually easier than I thought it would be. 3rd sweater I have made from Lion Brand Patterns. Looking forward to making more!

Drapey Cardigan Reviewed by Jessica Neuwerth on 2013-10-06 **
I've been knitting for years, but chose this pattern as my first sweater pattern, and sadly, I think I'm going to have to rip it out and try a different pattern. I've got larger hips, and I knew as soon as I started seaming the sweater before adding the collar that this was going to be a problem. The top of the sweater fit my shoulders, but the bottom of the sweater body (around the hips) is the same width as the rest of the sweater body, so it's too narrow to wrap around my hips and pulls toward the back weirdly. It's like a big rectangle, but unfortunately I am not. Also, on me the sleeves are HUGE. I liked the idea of the sleeves being kind of blousy and transitioning to ribbing, but it looks giant and sloppy on me.

I think the pattern's not bad, and it knits up quickly, but if I were to do it again, I'd make the sleeves about 3-4 inches smaller in circumference. Also, if you're considering this sweater, and your hips are not the same width as your waist, you might consider altering this pattern a bit or just picking a bigger size.

Drapey Cardigan Reviewed by Alethea Bushaw on 2013-03-01 *****
The pattern was easy to follow. I love that there are not alot of seams to sew. The fit is good. I'm not a fan of Vanna yarn, so I want to try with a different type of yarn. I will be making more for my daughter and grand daughter

Click to zoom

Drapey Cardigan Reviewed by Catherine on 2013-02-24 *****
This was my first sweater, and I'm happy with how easy it was! I ran out of yarn so I don't have the flipped back collar, which was probably because my gauge always runs a bit large even when I check it, but it still looks good. Next time I will just get one extra skein. I'm going to make another as a gift for a friend.

Drapey Cardigan Reviewed by Sandra Peters on 2013-02-10 *****
It looked so lovely when after I completed it, I washed it and then took a picture of it on a dress form. I made it for my daughter and I hope she loves it.

Drapey Cardigan Reviewed by jennifer dawkins on 2012-07-12 *****
I made this cardigan and found it easy to make and it looks wonderful. My daughter has now made a request for one. I am looking forward to the fall weather.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font