Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Simply Shrug
Simply Shrug
Pattern Number: L10375
Rating: *****
4.5 (based on 11 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 11 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Simply Shrug Reviewed by Jesika on 2014-05-10 *****
I found this pattern to be extremely easy and quick to do. Since the Michaels Arts & Crafts store where I work does not sell the silky twist wool, I used the lion brand homespun wool. I only used 3 skeins and a bit of another to make the shrug. I will definitely recommend this pattern to others who would like to crochet their own clothes, since this pattern is great for beginners and once it's finished you'll never want to get out of it. I know I don't want to.

Simply Shrug Reviewed by Jennifer on 2013-12-23 ****
My mom asked me to make this for her for Christmas. I've never used this yarn before and I have to be honest- it was a little bit of a pain to work with. But it is absolutely the softest fiber I've EVER worked with, and the shrug is so easy to make. Only took me four days, even with a toddler running around. The only suggestion I have is that you buy an extra skein of yarn. The 5 that are recommended wasn't quite enough. But overall the shrug is wonderful. I'm going to make another one for myself.

Simply Shrug Reviewed by Henshaw RJ on 2012-07-03 *****
This is a great pattern! Even the kids love it. My oldest granddaughter picked it over money for her graduation gift.

Simply Shrug Reviewed by Elizabeth Fox on 2012-06-14 *****
I love this pattern I was able to work it up on 2 Sat working OT what a great way to make money and make something cool. I plan on making more for gifts this holiday.

Simply Shrug Reviewed by Beth Anton on 2012-06-08 ****
To: Alice Pierson
Take a look on Ravelry, there are 444 projects listed. I didn't look at them all but I looked at a few.

Simply Shrug Reviewed by Alice Pierson on 2012-02-28 **
While this pattern was very simple to make, I really do not like the way it looks on me. It is incredibly bulky under my arms and hangs very low down over my butt. Granted, I made it with Homespun so maybe it hangs differently made with different yarn. I wish Lion Brand had a picture showing the model holding her arms straight out to the sides. You would really be able to get a better sense of the shape of the shrug that way. This pattern just didn't turn out the way that I had hoped. This was my first attempt at making something other than scarves and cowls.

Simply Shrug Reviewed by Barb Clegg on 2012-01-11 *****
I have made four of these shrugs and am currently working on number 5! To keep it from sliding off my shoulders, I crochet a tie to insert in the front, using three rows of the pattern, and connect with a slip knot! Being a person undergoing chemo treatments,
I was always cold...but no more! I am giving away the extras to other people undergoing treatments! Nothing but positive feedback!

Simply Shrug Reviewed by Debra Benton on 2012-01-02 *****
I've made this (September 2010, Tweed Stripes Sequoia Shrug) and love my shrug. I think though, because I'm not as small as your model, I will make the next one 48 x 42 so it will fit a bit looser on me. Also, I used a different yarn that is a bit stiffer and a 'K' hook, so it doesn't 'give' as much as I would like. Next time, I will definitely make it with a yarn that isn't quite so stiff and the larger hook.

Simply Shrug Reviewed by Sandra Ward on 2012-01-03 *****
This pattern is nearly a duplicate of the Sequioa Shrug. Be sure to go and read all the corrections and comments there. The 92 st should measure 42" across, when folded this edge becomes the 21". It would help if the measurements were in the pattern.

Also, double check that you want it 38" long. The Sequoia Shrug corrects the length to 28". As shown in the photo for the Simply Shrug, it appears that they did make it 38" long. If you are shorter you may want to make an adjustment. This 28"-38" measurement ends up being the back length from neck (including collar fold) down to buttocks. I made the Sequoia prior to the correction and decided not to rip out the extra 10". It's very long and covers my butt, but it was made to help me keep warm so why not cover more of me? :)

Once made, you will love the comfort of the garment. I love having such a warm piece that leaves my forearms bare.

Simply Shrug Reviewed by Amy Depew on 2011-12-15 *****
Actually the math is correct. The piece, before folding, will be appx 42" X 38. Folding in half will only change the height dimensions, down to appx 21", but the width will remain the same at 38".

And I agree...what a nice way to showcase this new yarn. Simple, but effective!

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font