Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Slip Stitch Sampler Throw
Slip Stitch Sampler Throw
Pattern Number: L10347
Rating: *****
4.2 (based on 60 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 60 results Page 1 of 6
123456Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Slip Stitch Sampler Throw Reviewed by Pat Young on 2013-12-01 *****
I made this BEFORE the corrections were imposed. I would rate this without the corrections a one star because of the pattern errors. But visually it is a 5 star and if the pattern is now corrected it would be stunning. Now I know why some of my blocks were not accurate-- This throw is beautiful anyway-- I was able to 'doctor' the joinings to make it acceptable but given the amount of time and expense involved, I think this pattern should have been better proofed before it was posted for use. It certainly was not up to my normal knitting-- Not something I would give as a gift but certainly usable in my own home. I did line the back to finish it off cleanly.

Question re finishing Reviewed by Janet Crews on 2013-07-31 ****
Did any of you "kill" the acrylic? This is only the second project I've done with acrylic. I love this blanket - so soft and warm. But it's destined for my son's bachelor apartment. If it has to be washed again, all the tutorials indicate it will bounce back to the original un-square size. If I go through the steps to kill the acrylic, will that ruin the blanket.

HELP!!

Thanks,
Jan

(Love this pattern!!)

Click to zoom

Slip Stitch Sampler Throw Reviewed by Penny Douglas on 2013-04-23 *****
I really enjoyed doing this though I ended up on different size needles and used 8 ply wool. I actually dyed quite a lot of the yarn because I had a large stash of white and cream yarn. I love the fished product, the color selection worked really well.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Slip Stitch Sampler Throw Reviewed by nancy gibney on 2013-03-19 ****
started jan 12, finished march 4. but didn't knit everyday. I liked this pattern, but I changed log 2 to basketweave pattern, since it isn't a slip stitch pattern anyway. I edged the throw in I cord, using purple. I will make another one, but not for a while, because it takes a lot of your time and I want to knit other things. Next time i will use wool ease yarn cos I like wool better.

Slip Stitch Sampler Throw Reviewed by Blazinski Winnie on 2013-03-07 *****
I love,love,love this afghan. It is fun to knit and goes up very quickly, I', always looking forward to see what the next color combination looks like. I used size 10 needles and didn't knit the first square for the 13 in. as in the directions. The square would have been a rectangle. My square turned out to be 11 in. When knitting the logs, I made them 3 1/2 in. instead of 4 in. I used the prescribed number of stitches. The squares came out to be about 22 1/2 in.
Instead of putting the stitches on a stitch holder, I put them on a long circular needle. It was easier to just knit them off the circular needle instead of having to transfer them from a holder.

KNIT THIS AFGHAN, you'll have lots of fun!

Slip Stitch Sampler Throw Reviewed by elizabeth day on 2013-02-18 *****
I made this for myself because I thought it was a very sophisticated design and I wasnt sure anyone would like the color combination as much as I. Took awhile so if you like to knit quickly-this isnt your baby. It is beautiful. The gemstone colors are lovely and the design is gorgeous. I hated the light blue, but in the context of the afghan-it works! The one color I would change is the yellow. It is too bright- what i refer to as a naked color and stands out like a sore thumb. I would use a darker gold, maybe a bronze color.

Slip Stitch Sampler Throw Reviewed by MaryAnn on 2013-02-06 *****
I am almost done with this project. I did not like the way one of the logs was turning out. I decided to repeat a pattern in another log but with the colors of the log I was replacing. I also didn't like the way the back turned out and the way the edges wanted to curl. So, I chose the rust yarn and kind of followed log 2 for the entire back. I am now in the process of binding the sides and quilting it together. I think I should be finished with this by the beginning of March. At that time if I can follow my notes, I will post all of my corrections and a photo.

In closing, I felt this was a challenge for me and it is turning out beautifully. I usually give my blankets away....but....this took me so long and it is so beautiful that I am keeping this one. I also followed the colors shown and wasn't sure when I started this....but, it is beautiful. I also used a size 10 needle.

Slip Stitch Sampler Throw Reviewed by Patti Monson on 2013-01-29 *****
I AM MAKING THIS NOW IN JEWEL TONES LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS PATTERN WILL TAKE A PICTURE WHEN I AM FINISHED

Slip Stitch Sampler Throw Reviewed by Karen Eichler on 2013-01-20 *
The squares came out very uneven. I was not able to finish because of this.

Slip Stitch Sampler Throw Reviewed by Melody Mann on 2013-01-06 *****
I learned to knit just so I could make this throw. It is beautiful. Unfortunately, I had completed all 6 squares when I saw that a correction had been made for the third log, which would certainly explain why my squares aren't. Square, that is. Hopefully, blocking will disguise this issue. Otherwise, even as a novice knitter, I was able to follow the directions and complete the project. I'll definitely attempt it again.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font