Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Garden Patch Granny Afghan
Garden Patch Granny Afghan
Pattern Number: L10350
Rating: *****
4.8 (based on 22 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 22 results Page 1 of 3
123Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Garden Patch Granny Afghan Reviewed by Kelly Patterson on 2014-09-14 *****
I absolutely fell in love with this afghan and knew I had to make it for my daughter! The colors are gorgeous and the pattern in so beautiful. After having the pattern and yarn for about a year I finally had the time to dedicate to making it. The squares weren't as bad as I thought they would be, actually went pretty quick. After making a few of the medium size ones I decided to crochet in the ends as I went, boy was I glad I did! Once all the squares were done and then after having all the rectangles sewn together there are a crazy amount of ends to sew in. Unless you know a trick to not have as many the ends will take you longer than making the squares themselves, and if you do know a trick please share it! The only thing I have to complain about the pattern (other than all the ends)is that it doesn't tell you what color to sew all the squares together with and you are not left with enough of any one color to do the job itself. I suggest buying extra of whatever color you are going to want to see on the back to sew together with, at least a few skeins. Please don't read my comment and think this afghan is not worth the time and effort put in, because it is. The picture does not do it justice when you can see it in person, it is STUNNING!!

Garden Patch Granny Afghan Reviewed by Sandy on 2013-03-19 ****
Just finished this. Loved working it. Did not like sewing it all together. The result is beautiful though.

Garden Patch Granny Afghan Reviewed by Sandi Testut on 2013-02-12 *****
Quick and easy to crochet up. Sewing together took a lot more time. Love the (nearly) finished product, though plan to add a little more "finished" edging.

Garden Patch Granny Afghan Reviewed by Connie Ritter on 2012-12-11 ****
My daughter found this on Pinterest and asked me to make. OK had to take the challenge and make it her xmas present. It is alot of sewing together but came out beautiful. For new beginners that are new to crocheting - when crocheting your squares together put the right sides of each square facing together and sew squares together thru outside stitches of each square only. Do not sew thru both stitches. If sew thru two outer ones of each square you will not see the seams. I added a bigger boarder so that it would cover her full size bed.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Garden Patch Granny Afghan Reviewed by Krystal Daugherty on 2012-11-27 *****
Unbelievable how awesome this pattern is. I made it for my neice's birthday and she loved it. I did stray from the pattern in the following ways: I did not leave tails on any of my squares; I used Rose to whip stitch all the squares together, which made a wonderful border around each square on the backside of the afghan. Also, I used Rose as the first row of my border and Antique Rose for the second row.

I also had a problem with my squares being squares, so I wet-set all my squares to ensure proper gauge. It added a lot of time to the total process, but was worth it to have perfect squares.

I will do this pattern again. I am thinking about swapping some colors. I'm not color-matching savvy, but think it could be easy enough to swap out 3 pinks for 3 purples and 3 greens for 3 greys, etc.

You will not be disappointed with this pattern!

Garden Patch Granny Afghan Reviewed by Betsy Phillips on 2012-11-15 *****
This is a great pattern. The afghan is absolutely stunning in real life--the picture with the pattern hardly does it justice.

I second the other commenters who say to work up the small squares with three at the corner instead of five. That way you end up with small squares with 8 stitches on a side, medium squares with 16, and large squares with 24, and it's much, much easier to keep everything square when you're sewing it together.

Garden Patch Granny Afghan Reviewed by Lynette Olsen on 2012-09-20 *****
This is a fun project crocheted with Vanna's Choice. I love the colors and different size squares. BUT, I agree with a previous reviewer that the small squares should have chain 3 corners like the medium and large squares. You'll end up with unsquare squares when you go to sew everything together. After spending nearly $100 on yarn, you want your project to look right.

Garden Patch Granny Afghan Reviewed by Barbara Prinsen on 2012-08-12 *****
loved this pattern.very easy to follow and it turned out beautifully. i am not very talented in color matching, would be nice to see this in earth tone color scheme.

Garden Patch Granny Afghan Reviewed by Lindsey Dommeyer on 2012-07-19 ****
Loved this pattern for several reasons. It looks so intricately detailed, I love the way the colors are combined, and its very unique as far as afghans go. I chose this pattern because I had many skeins of yarn that I didn't know what to do with, so my colors are a little different from the suggested pattern ones. The thing I didn't like was that the large squares ended up starting to round out instead of being really square, which made sewing everything together a bit annoying. If I did this again, I'd probably use one size smaller hook when making the large squares. This pattern also requires a LOT of sewing, a lot of weaving in ends, etc. For the border, I wanted something sturdier, so I did about 8 rounds of single crochet using a different color for every round. It was a successful project and made a beautiful wedding gift for my friend!

Click to zoom

Garden Patch Granny Afghan Reviewed by Bev on 2012-06-02 *****
Loved making this Afgan. It was my first and I was so happy with the product. There should be instructions as to how to put them all together especially for first timers like myself. All in all a great project and it came out perfect!

Click to zoom

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font