Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
New Catalog
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
Free Catalog
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
Find a Store
post code:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern

Customer Reviews

Image of Felted Soap Cozy With Cable
Felted Soap Cozy With Cable
Pattern Number: L0712
Rating: *****
4.3 (based on 30 reviews)
Write your own review
Search All Patterns:  
Displaying 1-10 of 30 results Page 1 of 3
123Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Felted Soap Cozy With Cable Reviewed by Raven Wallace on 2015-11-09 *****
Super easy pattern! It took less than an hour to make and it's really cute. If I make it again, I will felt it before putting the soap in, maybe then it will dry faster. Overall, I love the pattern and I will probably be making many more of these for gifts!

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Felted Soap Cozy With Cable Reviewed by Kristina Buckley on 2014-12-12 *****
Love this pattern. My first attempt at knitting a cable! Very easy pattern to follow. I ended up knitting it in the round so there is no seam.

Click to zoom

Felted Soap Cozy With Cable on 2014-04-20 ****
I made a few of these to learn cable, and am now working on a lovely cable scarf, pattern #80755AD, but using Heartland Isle Royale wool. When I finish mine, it moves to the kitchen as a sponge/scrubber, though I’d be curious to cut it and see it refelt! But it shrank enough that I doubt the same size bar would fit. Never had an issue with any smell of wet wool or scratchiness. Love the idea of a handwarmer, and goodness knows we could have used some of that this winter! Now I’m going to try making one with double-moss stitch, just because I think it’s pretty. Next time I'll take a picture before using or giving it away.

Felted Soap Cozy With Cable Reviewed by karen stolka on 2013-05-25 *
i'm sorry but i knit this last year and it never felted up as suggested after each use. i think it needs to be knitted first, shrunk in very hot water before putting soap bar in it.

Felted Soap Cozy With Cable Reviewed by Nora Ariffin on 2012-10-14 *****
Hi over here we are craxy over wedding favors. Recently we gave away as favors : Cinderella Carriage Candles at my daughter's wedding reception and our guests display them on their shelves. Too beautiful to use it and Im sure felted soap cozy will do juz the same especially with nice fragrances. How abt having velcro at one side so we can reuse it. Afterall it isnt hard to wash but not advisable for those with skin probs~Nora, Malaysia

Felted Soap Cozy With Cable Reviewed by Madeline on 2012-04-25 *****
I absolutely love this pattern! They're very easy to make, I made them for all the woman in my family for Christmas and everyone loved them. I also made on for myself, it's very exfoliating and makes a great bathroom accessory. Five stars!

Felted Soap Cozy With Cable Reviewed by Jan Taylor on 2012-04-03 *****
I think this is a pretty way to add something special to the bathroom. I've made several of these with roving and just love using them--when the soap is gone, cut a slit on an end fill with rice,sew up the end and use for a microwave handwarmer inside your great--am I the only one that thought of this???

Felted Soap Cozy With Cable Reviewed by Lori Prieur on 2012-02-05 *****
I made two of these last evening, one to use as a soap cozy, and then added another five rows to the second to make a purse kleenex cover. I stitched a button and loop to the back so it closes.Perfect little project to practice making cables, which is what I am now learning. Pattern was easy to follow, and I am a beginner. Adorable.

Click to zoom

Felted Soap Cozy With Cable Reviewed by Allison Poulin on 2012-01-15 ****
I agree that buying yarn specifically for this project is not very cost effective, however, I do a lot of felting and I always have left over wool and have been looking for small projects to use it up, so when I found this pattern I was really excited. I just knit it tonight and needed to go down a needle size and decrease the outer stitches from 11 to 9 to get it to fit the bar of soap better, I've knit 3 in the past 2 hours :)I don't think that it's necessarily a waste of yarn either way, and you can use the empty cozy for something else afterward (not sure what but I can see it being used to wash surfaces or clean out the bathroom sink).

Felted Soap Cozy With Cable Reviewed by A W on 2011-11-20 *****
This was so easy and fun to make! It took me less than hour and used just a teeny bit of Fishermen's Wool; I think you could make hundreds with one skein! It's a great little project to teach cables, too. Mine's so pretty I don't want to felt it! I'm going to try another reviewer's idea of making them as travel tissue cozies. I've never worked with wool before because it usually makes me itch as soon as I touch it, but I had no problems with the Fishermen's Wool.

To lose less of your soap, I recommend sewing up the short sides, felting it, then inserting the soap and sewing the hole closed.

Click to zoom

separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font