Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Modern Lace Scarf
Modern Lace Scarf
Pattern Number: L10146
Rating: *****
4.4 (based on 9 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-9 of 9 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Modern Lace Scarf Reviewed by Ellen Miraldi on 2013-09-12 *****
Just finished this scarf as a gift for my sister-in-law. I used my nephews school colors and alternated after every fourth row. It looks fantastic. The pattern worked up quickly and were well written.

Modern Lace Scarf Reviewed by on 2012-04-28 *****
I made this as a gift very forgiving for someone just learning. Really enjoyed making it

Modern Lace Scarf Reviewed by Brandis Ayres on 2012-01-06 ****
I made this scarf with Vanna White "Eggplant" so it is a little thicker then what this scarf looks like, but it turned out just fine. I'm going to make another one in white for my mother. Happy Croucheting!!

Modern Lace Scarf Reviewed by AMBER GRUMBLES on 2011-12-19 ****
This was a very easy scarf to crochet for a quick Christmas gift! I used one strand of gray Wool-Ease and one strand of silver Vanna's Glamour, and it turned out super soft and very chic. I think the total time I invested in crocheting this was a couple hours. Not to mention there are really only two lines to commit to memory, so you can do this while talking, watching a show, listening to your favorite CD, etc.

Modern Lace Scarf Reviewed by debra on 2011-12-09 *****
This works up beautifully.Easy pattern really.

Modern Lace Scarf Reviewed by jillian mosier on 2011-11-17 *****
This was a fast, easy, fun and beautiful project. I added a 6 bobble flower and 2sm leaves from the book "crochet adorned." I also used Red Heart size 4 acrylic supersaver yarn in Dk Orchid because I had it already. The skein was 7ozs, and the left-overs weighed in at 2oz, so the whole thing took about 5oz, if you include the flower and leaves. Flowers/ medallions/Motifs take up a lot of yarn, so I'm sure a 4-4.5oz skein of yarn would make a decent size scarf. I wanted to use a sparkle, but I had green size 3 thread from Annie's someone gave me. My stash is so large I really need to make some stuff and cull the yarn herd or we'll have sheep soon! It took about 3.5-4 hours of work start to finish (including the flower making and stitching on!) and was a very easy project to take along places, as it's a 1-skeiner. I'm sure my friend will love her gift. I will be making more of these

Click to zoom

Reviewed by Patty Oconnor on 2011-10-02 ****
I tried this pattern in the suggested yarn and didn't like the bulkiness with such a lacy design. I switched to a lighter weight wool blend and it turned out beautifully. It's super easy and works up very quickly too.

Modern Lace Scarf Reviewed by Sir Napsalot on 2011-09-19 ****
My comment is directed at Kimberly Cerullo -

I suspect the shape in the picture was formed after blocking. Since you used a handspun wool, you should also be able to block to the shape (and size) you want.

Blocking also opens up the lacy part of any lace project.

Not Picture Perfect, but a Great Gift Project Reviewed by Kimberly Cerullo on 2011-09-12 ****
This didn't come out quite like the picture. I checked gauge as best I could and I was close. However I used a thinner yarn of different fibers (I used handspun wool) so that might have don it. The pattern still came out nice and the scarf I have now is beautiful, but the one complaint I have is that the kind of "W" shape the scarf makes in the picture did not come out that distinct in mine. It did come out as kind of a wave but it lacked the defined ripples. This could have all been through my error and yarn choice though.

Overall it is a very good pattern. It works up quickly and with very little yarn (4 ounces and approximately 190 yards of wool made a scarf that can be wrapped around with lots to spare) and would make a good gift. It is an intermediate project for sure but I think a beginner could do this with some patience.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font