Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Rock Rose Cabled Scarf
Rock Rose Cabled Scarf
Pattern Number: L0420
Rating: ****
3.9 (based on 11 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 11 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Rock Rose Cabled Scarf Reviewed by Faith Myers on 2012-11-24 *****
Love this pattern. This is my first cable scarf. It knits so fast! I did it with Homespun Painted Desert. It has the same color variations as the model in the photo. It is so soft and warm. It is a good idea to create a chart or spreadsheet to keep track of the rows. I read that using a circular needle instead of the cable needle is better. I wish I thought of that. The cable needle keeps falls out or gets lost in my knitting bag. ziplock bag cured that problem. It anyone says that they don't have time to knit, I knit on the train going to work. I plan to make another one very soon.

Reviewed by Ana Lewis on 2012-01-21 ****
I really liked this pattern. Like someone else said, I too used a chart to keep track of the rows and where the cables went. Don't be afraid to try this pattern. I used a circular needle a size or two smaller than the regular needle instead of a cable needle. It held all the stitches without fear of them falling off. I made this for my husband in a black tweedy yarn and he loves it.

Rock Rose Cabled Scarf Reviewed by kathy e on 2012-01-13 *****
I am almost finished with this and it has been fun and easy to knit. i am not much of a knitter and only did cables once before, in a hat, but they are not difficult, just awkward at first and it takes a little concentration till you get used to it. I made this in Amazing, i love the yarn, it's so soft and warm. When i finish this i am planning to make one for my DH in a subtle color like Joshua Tree, and one for my sis in a brighter shade like Mauna Loa.

Rock Rose Cabled Scarf Reviewed by Mary Dahlberg on 2011-12-31 ****
A good pattern for a first attempt at cables. Just challenging enough. Love the way it turned out using Pink Sands.

Rock Rose Cabled Scarf Reviewed by Corinne Fowler on 2011-07-08 ****
I loved this pattern! So impressive and yet so simple! It came out more narrow than the listed dimensions, and I added a few more repeats of the cable for more length, but it looks exactly like the picture. I knit this up using two strands of wool-ease worsted held together.

Rock Rose Cabled Scarf Reviewed by chelsea on 2011-03-24 *****
i thought this was a easy project! i was like wow! i'm doing cables!!! i used fisher mens wool because i loved how soft it was and i made a hat! its not with cables though....i thought i would screw it up but i didn't! i highly recommend this for beginners that don't know how to do cables! <3 i would submit a picture but i don't have any on my computer. :| i didn't use two yarns so it came out a little thin but its soooooo pretty! <3

Rock Rose Cabled Scarf Reviewed by Maria Belen Galan on 2011-03-11 ****
Much more simple than it looks, this scarf is very quick to make and quite fun. The result is very original and also with a plain color looks great.

Rock Rose Cabled Scarf Reviewed by sandi smith on 2011-03-08 *****
To the 'leary' ladies on the making of cables: I'm doing a scarf now using two different cable stitches, one a 3/3 cross, the other a 2/1 cross. Best thing I found was to make a 'counter' on a spreadsheet, mark where the cables go, and just 'tic' off as the rows are completed. As far as using the larger number for a cable, might give thought to a bigger cable hook. I have one about the size of '7' needle and about 4 or so inches long. Basically cables are a matter of slipping the stitches off the main needle, holding them to the front or back of the garment, depending on the image wanted, knit the amount of stitches required from the main garment, then knit off the stitches of the cable hook back to the main needles.
Once you've practiced and gained more experience, like riding a bike, it comes easy and I love incorporating cables into just about anything I do, just because of their effect and added beauty.
Good luck.
Sandi S
PS ~ I'm printing this one off to add to my gallery of pattrns

Rock Rose Cabled Scarf Reviewed by Barbara Burgett on 2011-03-04 *
I'm new to knitting and I don't see how a cable stitch can be considered "easy". I love the looks of the scarf, but there is no way I would attempt to make it without a lot more experience. Maye someone who has made it will tell me I'm wrong about the difficulty, and I'll give it a try.

Rock Rose Cabled Scarf Reviewed by Lisa Rymdeko on 2011-03-05 *****
i made this scarf for my mother-in-law and she loved it! it was so simple to do and i love the way it looks and feels ill definitely be making more for christmas gifts :)

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font