Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Ripe Wheat Hat
Ripe Wheat Hat
Pattern Number: L0491
Rating: *****
4.9 (based on 11 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 11 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Ripe Wheat Hat Reviewed by Alejandra Perez on 2013-06-17 *****
The pattern is ok, no mistakes... and the result is really cool, I already made 3 and counting!

Ripe Wheat Hat Reviewed by Andrea Ruminski on 2013-01-12 *****
Used Hometown yarn in Portland Wine to match a scarf I made (dc in back loop so this complimented the scarf pattern nicely). Since it was a gift I got as close to 19" as possible, a little over (if it had been for me I would have gone under - small head). I think the top came together nicely. Slip stitched it together on the outside of the hat and in my opinion you can barely tell where the seam is (first photo is "front" of hat, second photo is "back" of hat where seam is - only evidence is the hat has a little notch but the pattern carried). Note, this is the first thing I've ever crocheted that wasn't a sc or dc scarf. Perfect beginner project.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Ripe Wheat Hat Reviewed by Marie Rowe on 2012-01-16 *****
Started it on a Friday night, finished it up Sunday afternoon. Quick, easy, warm and cute. Two thumbs up!

Click to zoom

Ripe Wheat Hat Reviewed by JoAnn Clark on 2012-01-02 *****
This hat was super-easy to make and quick! I made it in 2 colors - white and navy blue (1 ball of each) to match my alma mater's colors so I could wear it to an outdoor ice hockey game coming up.

Just a few notes that I made that others might find helpful (especially if you want to do multiple colors in vertical stripes):

1) I did 3 rows of each color to make the stripes. I started with Rows 1 & 2 in blue, then Rows 3-5 were in white, then Rows 6-8 were in blue, etc. The last row (Row 42) was a single row of blue. This method kept the stripes evenly sized and hid the seam when I slip-stitched it together prior to gathering it at the top. (The sl st was completed on the wrong side of the hat.)

2) I crochet a little tight, so I needed a P (11.5mm) hook to meet the gauge.

3) It took me 42 rows to reach the 19" length. I probably should have stopped at ~18" to fit my head, but the slightly loose fit has given me room to wear a warmer head liner underneath.

4) The pom pom instructions were NOT included on the yarn (as the pattern implies), so I defaulted to the typical pom pom-making technique. I wound both colors of yarn - simultaneously - 50 times around a piece of cardboard ~3" wide, tied the one side together, cut through the other side, and trimmed to shape. The result was a little large, but loose pom pom. It looked fun/borderline goofy on the hat, but I liked it b/c I like goofy hats. :)

5) I'm not sure if it has to do with the color switching, but the hat flared out a bit on my head. (It looked a little like the Mush Mouth character on the Fat Albert cartoons - the guy with the hat pulled way down over his face and you can only see the eyes.) If I make this hat again, I may try to avoid that look by making it another 4-6" wider so the brim can be rolled up. Since the pattern used every bit of the 2 balls of yarn (including the pom pom), I'd get at least 1-2 additional balls of yarn to make that brim.

Ripe Wheat Hat Reviewed by JoAnn Clark on 2012-01-02 *****
This hat was super-easy to make and quick! I made it in 2 colors - white and navy blue (1 ball of each) to match my alma mater's colors so I could wear it to an outdoor ice hockey game coming up.

Just a few notes that I made that others might find helpful (especially if you want to do multiple colors in vertical stripes):

1) I did 3 rows of each color to make the stripes. I started with Rows 1 & 2 in blue, then Rows 3-5 were in white, then Rows 6-8 were in blue, etc. The last row (Row 42) was a single row of blue. This method kept the stripes evenly sized and hid the seam when I slip-stitched it together prior to gathering it at the top. (The sl st was completed on the wrong side of the hat.)

2) I crochet a little tight, so I needed a P (11.5mm) hook to meet the gauge.

3) It took me 42 rows to reach the 19" length. I probably should have stopped at ~18" to fit my head, but the slightly loose fit has given me room to wear a warmer head liner underneath.

4) The pom pom instructions were NOT included on the yarn (as the pattern implies), so I defaulted to the typical pom pom-making technique. I wound both colors of yarn - simultaneously - 50 times around a piece of cardboard ~3" wide, tied the one side together, cut through the other side, and trimmed to shape. The result was a little large, but loose pom pom. It looked fun/borderline goofy on the hat, but I liked it b/c I like goofy hats. :)

5) I'm not sure if it has to do with the color switching, but the hat flared out a bit on my head. (It looked a little like the Mush Mouth character on the Fat Albert cartoons - the guy with the hat pulled way down over his face and you can only see the eyes.) If I make this hat again, I may try to avoid that look by making it another 4-6" wider so the brim can be rolled up. Since the pattern used every bit of the 2 balls of yarn (including the pom pom), I'd get at least 1-2 additional balls of yarn to make that brim.

Ripe Wheat Hat Reviewed by Clara Tsai on 2011-09-15 *****
I'll be making my version of Michelle Edward's Preemie Pumpkin hats with this pattern except with a stem and leaf on top. I just need to test out different needle sizes to go with the Vanna's Choice Baby yarn I got. Will update this later with what I decided to go with.

I ended up using a K hook.

The hat is on a powdered coffee creamer bottle to give perspective on size.

Ripe Wheat Hat Reviewed by judy callahan on 2011-10-27 *****
Great Pattern: I made it longer and rolled it to make a cuff and made earflaps for it.
I don't know what I would do without LB great patterns.

Ripe Wheat Hat Reviewed by Mary on 2011-08-03 *****
I enjoyed making this hat. It was easy and simple and fun. The pattern was great.

Ripe Wheat Hat Reviewed by Phyllis Morgan on 2011-04-08 *****
Great hat and easy to do. I made this with one exception- instead of hand stitching up the two sides to complete, I connected both sides together using single crochet- it adds another "lifted" row and when finished you can't tell where it was stitched together.

Ripe Wheat Hat Reviewed by Jnw michaudblaine on 2011-03-13 *****
This was quick and easy to crochet and turns out exactly as the picture looks. It fits well and is warm on a cold day. I made mine in green moss color.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font