Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Garter Stitch Hat
Garter Stitch Hat
Pattern Number: L0336B
Rating: *****
4.9 (based on 8 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-8 of 8 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Garter Stitch Hat Reviewed by on 2015-02-24 *****
This is a great first project for the beginner knitter. It was my first hat and it turned out beautifully. I used Hometown "Cheyenne Wild Iris" and I loved the colors in this yarn. I did take others' advice and just made the length 10 inches which was plenty. I think I would have started out with a really long tail and used that to seam up at the end. I did have to use an extra piece of yarn to sew it up, then a little extra to close the hole at the top. But the "painterly" yarn is so beautiful and chunky, you can't tell where the seams and top stitches are.

Click to zoom

Garter Stitch Hat Reviewed by Carol Utley on 2012-05-12 *****
I am a beginning knitter and successfully made this hat for my friend's birthday. She loves it and wears it daily to walk her dog in Winter. It's one of my favorite projects. Thanks...

Reviewed by Mary on 2012-01-17 *****
I LOVE IT! Was so simple to make and looked great when it was done. VERY warm and perfect for winter. Perfect for a first hat.

Reviewed by kimberchick19 on 2011-12-02 *****
This hat was a snap to make

Reviewed by Debbie Roberts on 2011-10-01 *****
Just finished my first one in black and can't wait to make another. I actually used wool ease thick and quick as that is what I had on hand. I made mine only 10 inches long based on the other reviews and do not think I would make it any longer. I do want to trim the cast on edge with a single crochet of fun fur trim on the next one just to add some pop to it. All in all it is a wonderful and easy project!

Garter Stitch Hat Reviewed by Lisa Warren on 2011-08-17 *****
This is a great pattern. I did not have any problems with it. I think some people might have problems when bring it together. I kept pulling in each corner and attaching it rather than trying to gather it all together at once. This usually creates a whole.

Terrific project - for beginners or knitters who prefer straight needles Reviewed by Kathleen Waits on 2011-02-23 ****
People couldn't believe that a rectangle could so easily be turned into a hat - I wasn't sure I believed it myself. But my finished hat (made in a different, "fluffy" bulky yarn) looks just like the one in the photo.

I actually wasn't able to pull the top completely closed - perhaps because of the fluffiness of the yarn I was using. So there was a noticeable hole in the top after the side seam had been sewed up.

I could have covered the hole with a pom pom, but decided instead to crisscross the top a few times with a little more yarn. Worked fine, and at least in my fluffy yarn the fix doesn't show at all.

I'll plan to make this one again - and show to others. Especially because I'm not a fan of circular needles, so it's nice to find such a cute and easy hat made with straight needles.

The next time I make the hat, I think I'll make it a little shorter (maybe more like 9.5") - the brim here is a little too wide for my taste. Great to have such an easily adjustable pattern.

Garter Stitch Hat Reviewed by Sydell Polin on 2011-01-23 *****
Great hat for teaching beginniners. Not many stitches and before you know it they have a hat. I volunteer with a lot of youth and this is my favorite pattern. Because of privacy rules, I cannot photograph them wearing these hats, but they love them.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font