Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Angora Lace Scarf
Angora Lace Scarf
Pattern Number: L0306
Rating: ****
3.8 (based on 22 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 22 results Page 1 of 3
123Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Reviewed by rachel taylor on 2013-09-27 ****
Like other reviewers I also wanted my scarf to be a little wider but was confused to read that someone advised 29 stitches because as far as I can see the pattern is a repeat of ten stitches plus the knit stitch for the edge. Anyway I tried 31 stitches and the finished result is very pretty and the picture shown is definitely done using 21 stitches. Very easy pattern to follow even if you want a wider scarf, just increase cast on in multiples of ten (plus 1) and repeat pattern as many times as needed across the row.

Angora Lace Scarf Reviewed by Debbie Cook on 2013-08-26 ****
Love the lace pattern and it works up very nicely with the recommended yarn. The pattern is pretty simple - almost too simple, as I did sometimes forget which row I was on, but after a while I got so I could "read" my knitting and was able to tell what row I was on that way. Ripping out stitches is a real pain, however, with this yarn, so if you think you'll have problems, try it with something less fuzzy.

I didn't knit a swatch because I didn't think the gauge was important, and the pattern as written is very narrow, so I cast on 31 stitches and added an extra repeat, which of course meant that one ball of yarn was not nearly enough. Two ought to do it, though, and the final product is beautiful and very, very soft, just what I was hoping forl

Angora Lace Scarf Reviewed by Selina Coward on 2013-08-19 *****
I made this scarf from size 30 crochet cotton for a lacey feel. It turned out beautifully lightweight and airy. Good pattern, easy to use, good result. Sorry don't have a photo as I gave it as a present.

Angora Lace Scarf Reviewed by Megan Baldwin on 2012-02-27 *****
This is a beautiful scarf and was easy to make. I made it according to the directions and it looks just like the picture. The scarf does want to fold in half in the middle but that doesn't really bother me.

Angora Lace Scarf Reviewed by Rachel Phillips on 2012-01-06 ****
This is a great pattern, but it is a little tricky. Once I got the hang of it, my first scarf worked up quickly. Just make sure to pay attention, or like me you'll find yourself taking out rows! I can't wait to wear the one I'm making for myself now.

Angora Lace Scarf Reviewed by Hope Shores on 2012-01-06 ****
I made this scarf for my mother in law with the yarn listed (in blue). I think the pattern should be ranked higher than Easy+ due to the complicated patterns. It took me a little while to get the hang of the rows, but after that, it was easy to complete. I really loved the way it turned out, but I think adding another skein of yarn for a longer scarf would be better.

Angora Lace Scarf Reviewed by Yalda on 2012-01-07 ****
I would agree with the previous comment, a lovely scarf but I am quite an experienced knitter and it is not so easy to avoid making mistakes and end up with 1 extra or 1 less stitch! You really have to concentrate - and if you do make a mistake you have to unpick it stitch by stitch rather than just pull it undone due to the large number of loops which would make it difficult to pick up the stitches again. And if you do make a mistake it is likely to ruin the pattern so you can't really get away with it!
Also I would suggest adding 1 extra pattern width ways as it is quite a narrow scarf otherwise (ie. cast on 31 instead of 21 stitches and repeat pattern 3 times instead of twice per row).

Lovely results! Reviewed by Stacy Foote on 2011-12-22 ****
I love this scarf! I used a different yarn - a worsted weight that had some sparkly to it for the Holidays. My only criticism on this project is the rating. I'd have given this pattern a highter rating that an "Easy +". It is difficult to keep track of the yarn overs and there are A LOT of them. Because of that, I might have considered upgrading this pattern to an intermediate. It's totally do-able for a semi-novice, but you really have to pay attention. If you make a mistake, you've got to rip out several rows of stitching to get back to the way the scarf is supposed to look. One wrong stitch and the entire scarf is off-kilter. The end reslut is a beautiful scarf. I made two myself and am planning on making at least 2 more. My advice on this one is to really pay attention and don't watch TV when you're working on it. :-)

Angora Lace Scarf Reviewed by Orla Turner on 2011-12-15 *****
Thanks for the lovely pattern, just finished knitting for my sisters Christmas pressie. Started with 21 stitches and it looks exactly like the picture.

Does require full concentration couldn't watch the telly while doing this one. I think putting the skill level at easy may be misleading.

Angora Lace Scarf Reviewed by cathy jones on 2011-12-03 *****
Nice pattern. Thanks Lion! I had an easy time knitting this once I committed to putting in a life line every 2 pattern sets so I didn't have to rip out as far when I made a mistake. I plan to block the finished scarf to stretch the length a bit & help deal with the tendency to fold in the middle. These will make relatively fast and affordable gifts.

Cathy


 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font