Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Misty Morning Cowl
Misty Morning Cowl
Pattern Number: L0342
Rating: ****
3.3 (based on 12 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 12 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Misty Morning Cowl Reviewed by Martha Steele on 2015-10-15 *****
Lovely pattern and yarn! Pattern is easy but interesting. Stylish finished product. Unfortunate so many have unfairly given this a low rating over photography. If you read the pattern, you'll see it is a tube (like the majority of cowl patterns).

This would work with any yarn, and any needle. Give it a try!

Misty Morning Cowl Reviewed by Dene Preston on 2011-09-26 ****
This pattern was so easy. I made it over the course of 5 days, and I love it. I'm going to make a matching hat and give the set away as a gift.

Misty Morning Cowl Reviewed by Payas-Arnold Lesa on 2011-01-16 **
The picture is misleading - it looks like there should be some decreasing or increasing depending on if it's made top down or down top. HMMMM? Sorry for the previous reviewer to have to spell it out.

I suggest they take an accurate picture of the pattern.

Misty Morning Cowl Reviewed by Stephanie Brooks on 2011-01-06 **
I was very disappointed in my finished product. I learned a valuable lesson that I should read the instructions to see if they sound like they make what the finished product looks like. There is ABSOLUTELY no shaping to this cowl and the finished product WILL NOT look like the picture here.

Misty Morning Cowl Reviewed by Rebecca Houser on 2010-12-03 *****
I, too, was disappointed at first to find out that the photo was so misleading. After reading the comments below, I decided to do a set of 8 decreases in each of the first 6 sections. I would knit one row after the seed stitch rows (so the decreases didn't distort the pattern of the seed stitch rows), and then do 8 decreases evenly spaced in the following row (2nd row of knit stitch after the ornamental rows). That gradually decreased the stitch count by a total of 48 stitches, or 12 inches if you're in the right gauge. This decreases the neck down from 28 inches to 16 inches, the circumference of the average neck. It also had the unexpected result of making the seed stitch rows stand out a little bit more, so that they are more visible.

Then I worked the remainder of the pattern as written. The result was similar to what you would expect by looking at the photo, and doesn't require any folding and tucking at the top. The pattern was easy to work, and the result is lovely. I'm a happy knitter.

If you need it to be a bit looser to get over your head or fit a bit more loosely around your neck, you can skip the 6th round of decreases.

As an alternative, you could add a pair of lovely buttons and loops to create the fold that draws the cowl close to the neck. Just make a vertical fold and sew the loops onto the inner side of the fold so that they stick out beyond the fold edge, and place the buttons so that they make as big a tuck as you desire. It would be decorative, and also achieve the same effect.

Misty Morning Cowl Reviewed by Laura Warner on 2010-12-05 **
I'm glad I read the reviews and pattern before beginning to knit. The picture is definately misleading in portraying the neck as smaller than the bottom - tucks can be seen on the right side of the neck. It may be a beautiful cowl, but we can't see the true look of the finished project from this picture. Very disappointing.

Misty Morning Cowl Reviewed by Rebecca McCue on 2010-12-06 *****
This was my first time knitting in the round and I couldn't be happier with the results. The cowl turned out beautifully and is a staple of my wardrobe.

Misty Morning Cowl Reviewed by Trisha Turner on 2010-11-03 **
Very disappointed I am half way in and it is just a tube, the picture is very misleading! Going to try and decrease as I finish out to see if it will help the look and shape of it. It is such a beautiful look and a very simple pattern overall.

Trisha

Misty Morning Cowl on 2010-10-26 *****
I just finished it, and love the way it drapes. Easy pattern to follow, and a quick knit.

Misty Morning Cowl Reviewed by holacat on 2010-10-20 *
Yes, I was wondering why it was narrower at the top without any decreases. I am about 4 sections in. I plan to decrease one stitch at each end of each knit 9 rounds for the last 3 sections. This will be an overall decrease of 54 stitches. I think this will work but does anyone have any other ideas. What a bummer to waste time and my very special cashmere that I've been saving. This is indeed a very misleading photo.
Shame on Lion Brand.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font