Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
New Catalog
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
Free Catalog
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
Find a Store
post code:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern

Customer Reviews

Image of Berry Spice Scarf
Berry Spice Scarf
Pattern Number: L0003AD
Rating: *****
4.6 (based on 48 reviews)
Write your own review
Search All Patterns:  
Displaying 1-10 of 48 results Page 1 of 5
12345Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Berry Spice Scarf Reviewed by Lori Mattioli on 2013-12-16 *****
Love this pattern - easy, beautiful, stylish! After it was done, I added a sc row over the initial chain so it doesn't feel so taut around the neck. Next time, knowing I will do that, I'll make the 1st row a hdc so it doesn't appear bigger than the other rows (which is only apparent if you do 2 colors like I did). Since I was making this for a glamour girl, I used a sparkly yarn in between each row of homespun (MC). Because it was a smaller yarn, I used a smaller hook for those rows and put 2 hdc into each dc of MC. Because of these extra rows, I only did 3 MC rows, then ended with the sparkly. Rolling it up looks like a rosette, making a beautiful presentation. Can't wait to make more!

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Berry Spice Scarf Reviewed by Lynda Lippin on 2013-11-06 *****
An easy, beautiful pattern that will introduce a new crocheter to double crochet and basic increasing. I like a shorter scarf, so I did 100 rows on my foundation chain with a K hook, and it is perfect for warming my neck without too much hanging. And I added a final row of plain single crochet at the end (not increasing), which looks more finished.

Berry Spice Scarf Reviewed by tahansen24 on 2013-11-14 ****
I made this pattern and it works up fast and easy and what you do is fold the scarf in half when done, put it over your neck and then pull the 2 loose ends through the folded half of the scarf. When you wear it like that it falls really pretty and full. Also, I put a single crochet border around the whole inside of the scarf where the beginning chain row is (once I finished the pattern). Otherwise, the scarf feels like its cutting in to your neck a little. The s.c. border eliminates that. If it were already patterned that way I would have given the pattern a 5 but I feel in order to make it practical, wearable, comfortable, you need the single crochet boarder along the inside (you can do it to the whole scarf if you want).

Berry Spice Scarf Reviewed by Alejandra Perez on 2013-06-09 *****
Beautiful and easy! Just perfect. I didn't run out of yarn :)

Berry Spice Scarf Reviewed by Anne Wallingford on 2013-02-02 ***
I made at least a dozen of these scarves as gifts. Simple and pretty. But I, too, ran out of yarn on at least half the scarves!

Berry Spice Scarf Reviewed by J Finley on 2013-01-21 ****
I have made three already and they all came out beautifully. I had the problem of being short on yarn at the end so I solved that by making the foundation chain a little bit shorter. It does end up being a shorter scarf but still looks great. I like the suggestion of doing a single crochet on the foundation chain before starting the pattern and will try that next time. I was doing the sc when finishing up instead. It does make the neck edge softer and more comfortable. This is such a nice item for gifts and I am enjoying making it because it is so quick and the results are satisfying.

Berry Spice Scarf Reviewed by Diane Brown on 2012-11-21 ****
As many other reviewers have said, this is a riduculously quick and easy pattern. Virtually instant gratification--just one skein of yarn and a couple hours to stitch. However, as others have mentioned, I also ran out of yarn on the last row. I was only a few yards short, so I switched to hdc then sc to create a tapered end. My understanding is that yarn is actually sold by weight not length, and that different colors weigh in differently due to dye processes. Therefore, some colors actually might have a few yards more or less than others. Luckily, being a little short really made no difference in the finished product, so I'd definitely make it again!

Berry Spice Scarf Reviewed by Rebekah Williams on 2012-08-22 *****
I made this in blue and it's gorgeous!!

Berry Spice Scarf Reviewed by dukesj6 on 2012-06-21 *****
Easy fun pattern, added dc row around sides and top chain edge to soften it.

Click to zoom

Reviewed by Arlene Baron on 2012-02-10 *****
I have made several of these scarfs as gifts. The pattern is easy, but I never had one of these measure 4 inches in width, always just under this measurement. I gave four of them away and then made one for myself. They look very stylish and pretty.

separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font