Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
New Catalog
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
Free Catalog
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
Find a Store
post code:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern

Customer Reviews

Image of Basic Hat
Basic Hat
Pattern Number: L0410AD
Rating: *****
4.3 (based on 15 reviews)
Write your own review
Search All Patterns:  
Displaying 1-10 of 15 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Basic Hat Reviewed by Tina Breese on 2014-11-29 *****
This is an awesome toque. All my men will wear it! I knit it in the round and it was super fast!

Reviewed by Wendy Swan on 2014-02-10 *****
I have made about 20 of these for friends. Great pattern! I prefer doing them on 16" circulars as it's much faster, but either way it's a fabulous pattern! Only once have I had to make it bigger for an adult (42 stitches). All else fit just fine.

Basic Hat Reviewed by Michelle Stocking on 2012-12-07 ***
It turned out kind of small. I'm a little disappointed. Maybe another few rows and it would be ok. It fits fine around my head but ends too soon.

Basic Hat Reviewed by jill rogers on 2011-11-17 *****
A few of the reviews of this hat say it came out too small, for an adult.
I made it for my friend, and it fit him well.

What you need to keep in mind is this. It is designed to be a " beanie", or another name would be a " skull cap". It is supposed to fit tightly. So, you don't need to add any stitches to it

My friend loves it.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Basic Hat Reviewed by Kim Bultsma on 2011-11-12 *****
Nice pattern because you can wear it knit or purl side out. Used Chenille Thick n Quick (6 weight). Size 12 needles, 18 rows total length (7 inches). cast on 38 stitches for a 22 inch circumference. Gave as a chemo cap for an adult woman. Liked the softness of the chenille and that is wasn't too tight on an already bald head. If I made many I would buy double pointed needles so there is no seam.

Reviewed by Nancy Kuykendall on 2011-08-21 ****
I made this hat. It was quick and easy and fit an adult man. I'd say just check your gauge to see if your smaller or larger and adjust. I'm not super great at seaming either so I prefer making hats in the round.

Basic Hat Reviewed by Brook on 2011-01-26 ****
Very easy pattern. I've knit a very similar hat but on circular needles which I prefer as my seaming leaves a lot to be desired. Still looks great on my boyfriend though. I'd definitely recommend it if you don't like dpns or circulars.

Click to zoom

Basic Hat Reviewed by Carleen Kline on 2011-02-05 *****
love this pattern.knits up in no time.

Basic Hat Reviewed by alicia booher on 2010-12-18 ****
I knitted this hat in three hours exactly as described and it fit me perfectly. I am now going to knit several of them in different colors.

Click to zoom

Basic Hat Reviewed by SL Fournier on 2010-12-11 ****
I just finished this hat (began it this afternoon). Love this pattern. Worked up in only a few hours. I made it for my 6 yr old nephew adding the extra rows that another poster suggested. The hat fits me (full grown adult woman). SO I am HOPING it isn't too big for him. If it is, I guess I have a new hat and will need to redo one for him. :)

separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font