Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Basic Cowl
Basic Cowl
Pattern Number: L0412AD
Rating: *****
4.4 (based on 27 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 27 results Page 1 of 3
123Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Reviewed by shirley gadouas on 2013-12-26 ****
The one in the picture has more than three rounds of ribbing but the patterns says to do only three. Next time I will do more and maybe it will look like the one in the picture

Basic Cowl Reviewed by CECI FLORES on 2012-11-09 *****
I made this for a friend for her birthday. I did not use T & Q (although I LOVE that yarn, but did not have any), I used 2 colors of a #4 w. wt. yarn(lt. pink and a rose pink). Instead of the "ribbing" for the edges, I did 3 rows of the "seed st" (P1, K1, P1, K1, P1) on an odd # of sts., then repeat the same row, and my "border" rows did not roll or curl at all. Try the "SEED St." for border rows instead of "ribbing".

Basic Cowl Reviewed by Rene Toh on 2012-04-20 *****
Simple to knit pattern, great for beginners like me! Mom likes the cowl very much! :)

Basic Cowl Reviewed by Jordana Antonelli on 2011-09-08 *****
I've made this cowl for everyone! Friends overseas, family, kids, and myself! It knits up in about 3 hours, and is great for men, women and children. Another great thing: usually no leftover yarn. Perfection.

Basic Cowl Reviewed by LInda Marshall on 2011-02-08 *****
Easy. Exactly as described. Great for quick gifts.

Basic Cowl Reviewed by Melanie Charles on 2011-02-04 ****
I enjoyed making this, however it didn't come out like the picture. My project turned out to be more of a tube, which is stretching with each use. My ribs at the top and bottom are not as defined.

Click to zoom

Basic Cowl Reviewed by Angelique Ottobre on 2011-02-01 *****
I love simple patterns like this. I used Jeny's Surprisingly Stretchy cast on and bind off.

The only change I would make is to use smaller needles for the rib stitching, like other patterns suggest. Using the size 15 all the way through leaves the ribbing a bit floppy.

Basic Cowl Reviewed by Rebekah on 2011-01-31 ****
Quick knit. Nothing too fancy. I used the Lion Brand Homespun yarn, which is awful...knotted up as I was trying to use it, but I do plan to try it out on better yarn.

Basic Cowl Reviewed by Leslie Halseth on 2011-01-24 *****
I forgot to rate with my previous comment and picture, I give it 5 stars!

Basic Cowl Reviewed by Barb Esdale on 2011-01-07 *****
I love this pattern!
I knit about 12 of these cowls to give as Christmas gifts and I'm still knitting, now for myself.
The yarn and the pattern work well together - drapes beautifully.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font