Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
New Catalog
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
Free Catalog
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
Find a Store
post code:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern

Customer Reviews

Image of Color Rich Simple Knit Afghan
Color Rich Simple Knit Afghan
Pattern Number: L0243AD
Rating: ****
3.4 (based on 34 reviews)
Write your own review
Search All Patterns:  
Displaying 1-10 of 34 results Page 1 of 4
1234Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Color Rich Simple Knit Afghan Reviewed by carolyn swain on 2012-03-24 ****
This is a really beautiful afghan. I'm still a fairly new knitter and this was my first time seaming pieces together. I managed to make it look pretty good, but the only part I had trouble with was the final border. I couldn't figure out how to calculate so it would pick up the exact number of stitches required, so I just winged it and tried to do it evenly. Did too many on one side so it sort of puckers, but I figure it's for me and it's rarely laying flat on something anyhow, so who will notice? he he. But it's just beautiful and warm. I love snuggling up in it. I found the recommended amounts of yarn to be just about right.

Color Rich Simple Knit Afghan Reviewed by Myra R. Slatoff on 2012-01-20 ****
I loved working on this afghan, and just finished it as a gift for my daughter. It is worked in a simple knit and purl, except for the seed stitch in the border. I knitted it over a two months, and when I found instruction errors for the color combinations, I corrected when I could and used some of the extra yarn for the border.
I did have a problem fitting the pieces together along the center horizontal and vertical seams, since some of the pieces were placed perpendicular to how they were worked, and some of the stitches were not exactly the same tension. But even though it isn't perfect, this afghan was handmade with a lot of loving effort and the colors are breathtakingly beautiful. I intend to make another one for my husband and me. Got a good discount online at

Color Rich Simple Knit Afghan Reviewed by karen shaw on 2012-01-20 ***
love it; but if I was going to spend over $150 on yarn, I might just go to Sak's and buy and afghan and skip all the time and effort to make it. Will probably just use different yarn and it won't be as pretty.
and, $150 for acrylic is a bit much.

Color Rich Simple Knit Afghan Reviewed by Judy on 2012-01-21 *****
Made this for a house warming gift! Beautiful, easy, and a joy to make; I was amazed at the color combinations and the results.

Color Rich Simple Knit Afghan Reviewed by on 2011-11-26 ****
Turn down the heat while you are knitting this afghan because because it is WARM! I keep it now on my side of the bed, because I am always cold. I had 2 leftover balls for Ruby, almost 2 for Grape and 1 each for Rust and Blush. The colors on the Amazing yarn are fascinating, inspiring me to use it for other projects. I've put my rating down from 5 to 4 due to leftover yarn quantities and the pattern issues others have mentioned.

Color Rich Simple Knit Afghan Reviewed by Jan Kirkwood on 2011-09-02 *****
I have not made this yet but will after Christmas. When I saw the Amazing yarn, I loved it and I loved the colors. I purchased it little by little with my 40 % off coupons, the same with the Jiffy.
I buy some yarns at local knit shops,,,,if you think this yarn is expensive you should visit one of them. You get what you pay for, if you want beauty, softness glamour and a beautiful finished piece, it will cost you. I am with the bargin gals in this review. This afghan "is" worth the cost because it will turn out so outstanding. Bargin shop wisely for a beautiful out come.You can buy yarn on line on sale and get free shipping sometimes.

Color Rich Simple Knit Afghan Reviewed by Kerry Rooney on 2011-09-02 *
Are you kidding me!! An acrylic throw that will cost at least $100 in materials!!!
Then you still have to make it. I usually love the patterns on this site, but this one seems to be too over the top. If I am going to spend this much on yarn, it had better be natural fiber! Save your self some $$$$ and buy the acrylic throw from Pottery Barn for $69.

Color Rich Simple Knit Afghan Reviewed by Andrea Kalfoglou on 2010-12-29 ****
Based on the comments, I just purchased the yarn, cutting back a little on the two Amazing colors, at Joann's online for $100. Use the free shipping code. All yarn is on sale right now. Now I just have to figure out which directions are correct. I think if I get this one finished, I'm keeping it for myself!

I'm with Rachel on the directions. I've finished all but one stripe. I started making one of the stripes with the rust yarn all the way through, and it didn't look anything like the picture. The only way it looks right is for the 9 by 9 patch to include the solid color and the additional 18 inches to be made out of two strands of the same color of Amazing yarn. When you do it this way, you can almost get by with one package of rust and one of blush. You need 2-3 of the solid purple because you use it in the border. Once I'm completely finished, I'll post the number of balls of Amazing in each color that I needed. I needed more of the mesa than was recommended primarily because I made it as I explained without the solid rust running the length of the stripe. I wish there were directions for which stitch to use to sew the stripes together. The most important thing is that all your stripes be the correct length. They really have to all be 9 by 27 or the squares won't match up. I used a coupon and waited for an online sale at JoAnn's. I bought the yarn for just about $100.

Color Rich Simple Knit Afghan Reviewed by R POPOFF on 2011-02-05 ****
Agree with the reviews, beautiful but too expensive.

Color Rich Simple Knit Afghan Reviewed by barbie on 2010-12-30 *****
I have to make this afghan, it will warm up our house, this winter. My husband is unemployed, BUT, I have my own stash put away, a little at a time. So I bought it, but could not start it until after Christmas, as I have been knitting my presents, socks and fingerless gloves and that has been a blast!!! I just started today, and I am so excited. I feel safe that the pattern has been corrected. My Christmas present to myself. Ho, Ho, Ho and it is cold in Mesa, Az. Thank you, Lion Brand.

separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font