Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Sequoia Shrug
Sequoia Shrug
Pattern Number: L0230AD
Rating: ****
3.9 (based on 46 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 46 results Page 1 of 5
12345Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Sequoia Shrug Reviewed by JOAN on 2014-08-10 ****
I did mine in half double, which works out really well and used an N hook with one skein of a one pounder. It came out 21 by 33 with just enough yarn left over for seaming the sides. EZ and the half double works much quicker than single crochet which I've also done and not quite as 'heavy' unless you are really adverse to the cold.

Sequoia Shrug Reviewed by barbara stephenson on 2014-01-08 ****
After seeing many negative comments, I was unsure what to expect.It is an ingenious pattern= just a large rectangle and two straight seams.
I LOVE IT! Fits me wel. I actually used a J hook for mine.If I make another one, I would try double crochet because single is slow going.

Sequoia Shrug Reviewed by Georgette Cole on 2011-03-09 *****
This is a really easy pattern. When I was well into making the shrug I read the reviews and they really scared me (especially some of the photos). Once the shrug was made I took some time to arrange it--pulling and shaping the front, especially around the "collar" and then the back to lay the way I wanted it to lay. I used a wooden shawl clip (a stick with a circle you put through the layers at the front. I think it came out great. I teach crochet and just wearing this one item got me 2 new students and a whole bushel full of compliments.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Sequoia Shrug Reviewed by Melissa Rakes on 2012-08-28 ****
I'm a beginner and I love this pattern! It was time consuming, but worth it to me. I ended up only using 5 balls of yarn so my finished shrug was around 25" instead of 28" but it worked for me. (And I'm not petite.)

I think the people that gave this bad reviews just aren't fans of the style since it's not fitted, but I really like it.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Sequoia Shrug Reviewed by Joan Gale on 2012-03-06 *
I made this for my daughter-in-law for Christmas, using this exact yarn. Because the pattern was corrected after I started, I didn't have enough yarn and had to re-order. When she put it on, my son said that she looked like she was in a Hobbit coat. It's now being used by my grand children as a small afgan. Lots of money down the drain. I will say that she is only a little over 5' tall, so that could have contributed to the bad look.

Sequoia Shrug Reviewed by nancy jackovich on 2012-01-21 *****
Last year I used a solid yarn which looked very nice, the stitch gives it a corduroy-like appearance. The repetitious stitch is good for us beginners.

However I did not watch my borders,ie, crocheted looser at times, so it turned out very large.

I added a button at the front.
I will make this again, but with a varigated yarn.

Sequoia Shrug Reviewed by Kay Gayer on 2012-01-19 *****
Very easy to make. Love this style. It's very warm.

Sequoia Shrug Reviewed by Meredith Laurent on 2012-01-03 ****
I also used almost 6 skeins of yarn for the project. The pattern needs to be adjusted to call for 1000-1200 yds, IMO. Nice shrug and easy to make.

Sequoia Shrug Reviewed by Iris on 2011-12-18 *****
Made this pattern and it took almost 6 skeins of yarn. Had it pinned up with the wrong ends and it did not lay right. Once I folded it according to the pattern (42" long side is folded, not the 28" side), then it looked gorgeous. Yarn was easy to work with and the varigated stripes turned out terrific.

Sequoia Shrug Reviewed by Corinna Garis on 2011-11-19 *
What a MOMENTOUS disappointment! First of all the pattern calls for one less skein than you need, so I had to order another one hoping the dye lot would match and it did. This yarn was pricey and the entire pattern was SC so it was very time consuming...worth it all if it works out, right? It looks beautiful from the front, like the picture shown. Purchased the Tweed Stripes Yarn: Woodlands yarn...purchased a turquoise top to wear with it...but after ALL OF THIS, in the back there's a huge ugly sag that looks awful, there's nothing you can do with it to make it attractive from the back. I've been crocheting for years and have never made anything for myself, I donate or give everything. This was going to be something finally for me. DON'T MAKE THIS PATTERN. I'm going to take out the side seams and make it into a very expensive, time-consuming lapghan and donate it to a local retirement community. Very disappointing.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font