Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Knit Ridged Cowl
Knit Ridged Cowl
Pattern Number: 90742AD
Rating: *****
4.4 (based on 23 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 23 results Page 1 of 3
123Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Knit Ridged Cowl Reviewed by Kristen Nelson on 2012-11-12 *****
i absolutely adore this pattern. it was my first "in the round" project and went over exactly how it should have. i gave this to my greandmother as a gift last christmas and she ahs commissioned me to make one for her sister :) i used a baby yarn with some sheen (not LB *eek*) and held two strands together. i also used size 10 needles and the result was stunning. pardon my unattractive outfit in the picture, i didn't realize i would end up posting it here! :)

Click to zoom

Knit Ridged Cowl Reviewed by Erika Leahy on 2012-11-05 ****
Loved this pattern! Super easy to knit and it worked up quick because the yarn was so thick. I didn't have any problems with the size.

Knit Ridged Cowl Reviewed by Allison Gessner on 2012-01-25 ***
The pattern says to use a gauge of 14 sts per 4", but I think that is too loose for the weight of the yarn called for (Superwash Merino Cashmere, a worsted weight yarn). The other cowl patterns using SMC indicate a gauge of 18-19 sts per 4", so I plan to use that gauge for a thicker fabric and cast on accordingly. (about 120 sts) Will probably need more yardage to acheive the same length with this tighter gauge.

Knit Ridged Cowl Reviewed by Tammy on 2012-01-12 ****
I made this using LB Wool Ease. I had 89 stitches in the round. It fits me great. I knitted most of this when riding in the car. My ten year old daughter loves it and wants one of her own. I'll go with fewer stitches for her. Sure keeps out the Kansas wind!

Lovely Cowl! Reviewed by Stacy Foote on 2011-12-22 ****
I am working on this cowl right now. It's looking really good and I like the pattern and the ease of it. My only criticism of it is that it wasn't big enough when I cast on, and I don't have a large head. It was difficult to make adjustments to begin with. Once I figured out how to make the cowl larger than the 1X (which was VERY small) it was easy and so far, good going. I wish more of Lion Brand's pattern selections had larger sizes. Overall, though, once this is finished, I'm confident that it will look good. I keep checking it to be sure that it's going to fit and look right. It's a good pattern, just check the fit (over your head) after you cast on and knit a few rows.

Knit Ridged Cowl Reviewed by Judith A Mills on 2011-10-17 *****
I made one as soon as I saw the pattern. Very pretty and warm. I like to use different weights of yarn so I adjust the number of stitches cast on and the width. I have made nearly 100 for the local children's hospital. Love the pattern!

Knit Ridged Cowl Reviewed by Nell Holland on 2011-01-10 *****
my cowl turned out fabulous! I shortened it to 3 skeins and it was still warm and cozy. love the yarn, love the look, love it all!

Knit Ridged Cowl Reviewed by lynne.wells on 2011-02-23 *****
This pattern was on the skeins of yarn that I bought and the pattern there said to use Size 11 circular needles, which worked with casting on 82 stitches and the size worked.

Knit Ridged Cowl Reviewed by Renate on 2011-02-18 ****
Very pretty! I added 5 stitches to make it wider so I could drape it over my head on those extra chilly days! Hope the photos are of some use.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Knit Ridged Cowl Reviewed by Jean Kohlman on 2011-01-30 *****
I love this pattern. It is very easy. With the frigid winters of ND, it is perfect to wear as a cowl or a hooded cowl. Made a cord and wove it through one end for tightening in the wind. Gave several away for presents and they are very much appreciated.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font