Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
New Catalog
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
Free Catalog
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
Find a Store
post code:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern

Customer Reviews

Image of Honest Warmth Shawl
Honest Warmth Shawl
Pattern Number: 81046AD
Rating: *****
4.8 (based on 56 reviews)
Write your own review
Search All Patterns:  
Displaying 1-10 of 56 results Page 1 of 6
123456Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Honest Warmth Shawl Reviewed by Debra Petro on 2015-06-24 *****
So far I have made 12 of these shawls. I have given them as gifts. They are beautiful and so easy to make. I love the homespun yarn. You can't go wrong with this shawl.

Honest Warmth Shawl Reviewed by Ydc on 2015-02-11 *****
I used 2 skeins + 3 rows of 3rd skein which as you can see would've been unecessary. I am 5'6" and wear a sm/med.. Although the wings are quite long, I love the look. Very easy yarn to knit; for projects as big, I usually always drop a stitch or make another error. Zero errors on this one. Hope my two cents helps in deciding to make or not.

Also want to note I used US #15 needles and bounded off with US #35.

Click to zoom

Honest Warmth Shawl Reviewed by Christa on 2014-12-26 *****
I am making this shawl for the second time. I made one last year using a contrasting color for my last skein. It came out beautifully. I have had so many people ask me where I bought the shawl.I am starting another one for my mother and have plans to make several more in the near future. It is simple, elegant, and flexible. I found out the hard way that you must bind off very loosely. I think I will also knit this one a bit more loosely. All in all an excellent project for any skill level.

Honest Warmth Shawl Reviewed by Pat Walker on 2014-08-13 ***
I have started this, and it is obvious that 153 stitches does NOT give you a shawl the size shown in the picture. My guess is that it is closer to 300 stitches. I am going to continue to see just how many stitches it requires to actually look like the picture.

Honest Warmth Shawl Reviewed by Carla Gillespie on 2014-01-24 *****
This is a quick and easy project. I continued until over 180 stitches. I also liked the suggestion from other reviewers regarding the edging: K2, YO, then knit to end that others suggested.

Honest Warmth Shawl Reviewed by Renee' Roberts on 2014-01-03 *****
I agree with everyone that it's a very easy pattern. I worked on it when I didn't feel like paying attention to my work or if I wanted to keep knitting when my DH was sleeping. It does seem tedious near the end, but mainly because I was planning to keep it and I REALLY wanted to try out the finished product. I am a very large woman, so the ends only made it to my hands. I will give this one to my mother and add a 4th skein in the 2nd one I make for myself. I suspected that would happen, though. I may consider using an even softer yarn for mine. Homespun feels nice, but after a while of knitting the yarn over my finger would feel course. The finished product felt lovely, though. I did not notice any punching or difficulty with the yarn. I also decided to knit this loosely. I may consider adding fringe like some others have done.

Honest Warmth Shawl Reviewed by Kathy on 2013-12-20 ****
I am making it on 10.5 round needles with Homestyle yarn. It is going good.I love this yarn, doesn't bunch like Homespun. I am on st 98 right now.Next I'm making placemats out of the same kind of yarn. Very cushy for your elbows.

Reviewed by Cindy Cole on 2013-11-14 ****
I made this on size 11 needles and increased up to 199 stitches and it turned out well. I do agree with the reviewer who said that Homespun bunches up. Also, the rows can feel like forever when there is over 100 stitches on your needles. Still, the shawl turned out well, and I am planning on making one for my mom.

Reviewed by Jennifer Baggaley on 2013-09-19 *****
Am loving this pattern so far. So easy and looks really lovely with the K2 border before the YO as suggested. Will make a great gift and is something that I think I could happily knit lots of. No more boring old scarf knitting for me!

Reviewed by Melva Godwin on 2012-01-10 *****
I made this for a Christmas present in "Prairie." It was quick, easy, and much beloved. Am making another one for me now in "Lagoon.". Will make many others.

I did do the shawl in Lagoon. One improvement I'd make is to make it larger. I would buy one more skein and work 10 more rows so it will have a fuller wrap aroung.

separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font