Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Glitter Shrug
Glitter Shrug
Pattern Number: 90733AD
Rating: ****
3.5 (based on 17 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 17 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Glitter Shrug Reviewed by Linda Goris on 2013-05-03 ****
I haven't learned to crochet yet and for others like me that see wonderful patterns in crochet format that they'd like to knit, this pattern is very similar to Pattern #: L30117 which is the Canyon Crochet Shrug. I made this one and it is beautiful and quick to make but I used a little heavier yarn (weight 3)because I was concerned it may stretch with wear over time.

Linda

Glitter Shrug on real people Reviewed by Elaine Greywalker on 2013-01-04 ***
After reading the reviews and looking up this pattern in ravelry.com projects, I am carefully planning to make this as a gift for a taller woman. I will make the larger size and hope it fits properly. Here are photos of real people wearing the shrug to give a better idea of what it looks like. See more on Ravelry.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Glitter Shrug Reviewed by Lori Ellis on 2012-04-12 **
I was very disappointed with this pattern, I double checked my measurements and had even used a size larger needle but it does not fit at all. I haven't knitted in awhile and thought this would be an easy one to do. I was really looking forward to wearing it too. Guess I'll have to rip it all out and save the yarn for another project. :(

Glitter Shrug Reviewed by Stacey Miller on 2011-12-03 *****
I am a new knitter and fell in love with this pattern. With some help from a friend I as able to do this pattern with just a few questions. I used WoolEase and am very happy with the results. I am a bigger person then the model and used size 8 needles and mine came out just like the models.

Glitter Shrug Reviewed by Sharon on 2011-08-15 ****
I have made this pattern twice. The first time on the size needle called for in directions (size 5?). Because I needed more length and ease, I then used size 8 needle and increased the length by 4". That provided the correct size for a taller woman that was required. It is an easy pattern. Overall I was happy with both results.

Glitter Shrug Reviewed by Jen Cohen on 2011-08-07 ***
The shrug that this pattern makes is much smaller than the picture suggests. For the positives, I feel it is an easy pattern for beginners, like myself, and actually creates a small shrug for spring or early fall. It also taught me a valuable lesson as a beginner: what you see is not always what you get. The picture featured is actually the pattern for the "curtain call shrug." I feel like if you post a picture for the pattern it should be of the actual results. Now, I have a ball and half of yarn left and a shrug half the size of the one pictured.

Glitter Shrug - absolutely beautiful from my husband Reviewed by Teri Stubits on 2011-08-02 *****
I made this a little different and my husband said it looks absolutely beautiful. I used a glitter yarn. I did the k1, p1 ribbing for 10 rows, then 10 rows in St St (which will make the collar fold over naturally), then found a "pattern" to give it a little flair. The pattern I used was very simple (k2, p2) to end for each row. Because there are an odd number of stitches, it creates a variation of a ribbing. I'm also adding a "cuff" to the sleeves (10 rows in St St & 10 rows k1, p1 ribbing. I'm a larger woman than the model, so the next one I make will be wider, but I'm very happy with how mine turned out.

Glitter Shrug Reviewed by Angelina on 2011-03-19 ****
I am an experienced knitter. There are a few commenters that seem to be having problems.

Several people commented on size. There is no additional size measurements, but my recommendation is to measure from just beyond elbow to just beyond elbow and that will be your width measurement. Now using a 3.75mm needle, you should be at 6 stitches per inch. So whatever your E-E measurement is, multiply by 6 to get the number of stitches to cast on. Then measure from neck to where down your back/tush you'd like it to sit. This will be how long the project will be before finishing. Still use the 6 inch guide to sew the seams. This should ensure that it fits you properly.

For Carole who is having trouble with getting the 24 sts to = 4 inches. Try working a few rows before you decide that your gauge isn't correct. At size 9 needles, you're more likely to be at 12 sts=4inches. That's definitely too large a needle. After working a few rows you'll see your gauge more accurately. Don't give up, try again.

While i've made my shrug and I am happy with it, I think i would go with a softer bulkier yarn and a larger needle for a much softer end result. I used a fine cotton and find that it is much to stiff to flow. So i may make another in a softee or a baby yarn on a 4 or a 5 with a gauge of 4sts =1 inch. The project would also work much faster.

I do agree that it sits shorter than where i would have wanted it to, but i didn't measure down my back, i just figured i'm about the size of the model so it should be ok. Measuring is your safest bet.

Happy Knitting!!!

Glitter Shrug Reviewed by dawn schwartz on 2011-02-26 **
The way the model is holding the shrug makes it look nicer. I was not very pleased with the looks of mine,when I had it finished. Also the way it is put together was a joke it could have been done in one piece instead of two. I didn't like that long seam down the back...

Glitter Shrug Reviewed by carole clure on 2010-11-13 *
24 stitches = 4"? I am now on size 9 needle to equal the gauge. I'm going to tear out what I've done and put the yarn away. It isn't looking like the picture at all - the yarn in the picture seems alot heavier than Vanna's Glamour.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font