Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Around Town Bag
Around Town Bag
Pattern Number: 60803AD
Rating: ****
3.6 (based on 18 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 18 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Reviewed by Rebecca Lussier on 2013-06-15 ****
I've made two of these bags now and really enjoyed the pattern. I thought the strap was too thick so when I sewed in a fabric lining I attached belt material as a star and then folded the knit strap in half and stitched it around the belt material. This helped to not allow the knit material the stretch. Not sure if I can post pictures from my phone but if not ill try to upload some later. Very cute bag, definitely want a fabric lining and strap to keep from loosing its shape.

Reviewed by Gertrud Gillespie on 2013-06-11 ****
I loved this bag. Have made 3 so far in all different yarns. I did not have trouble with the pattern, but can see where it can be confusing.
I also added a button and loop closure. Gives it a little something extra.

Around Town Bag Reviewed by Rebecca Engel on 2011-05-30 ****
Thanks to all the reviewers who pointed out the lack of clarity in the writing of this pattern. This was my first attempt at cable knitting and my first pattern repeat was a big mess that had no resemblance whatsoever to the pictured tote. After reading the reviews, I was able to figure out how and where I'd gone wrong and rip out and start over with success.

I made some changes to the design, in that I used some leftover worsted weight yarn isntead of bulky yarn but kept the size needles called for so my tote came out somewhat smaller. I did not bind off at the top of both sides but continued knitting on one side in the pattern so the tote had a flap. I added a buttonhole to the flap, and in the finished product put three buttons on the flap, one that worked (middle) and one on each side for ballast. I also did not like the way the stitch on the tote handle looked with the cable and did the cable stitch for the handle as well, using a three-needle bindoff to join them rather than sewing as I thought that might be sturdier. I also lined the tote.

I rated this four stars rather than five because of the lack of clarity in the pattern, but it was a very nice introduction to cable knitting.

Click to zoom

Around Town Bag Reviewed by Shelley Daley on 2011-05-17 ****
Haven'y begun this yet, but here's a tip about the strap. Straps always stretch during use, so I use a width of grosgrain ribbon that matches the strap width and sew it on the underside of the strap. Then I knit or crochet another strap to match and crochet or sew it over that ribbon on the underside. It really makes the strap firmer and less stretchy!

Around Town Bag Reviewed by Erin Nolan on 2011-05-12 ****
I have only been knitting for about 8 or 9 months and this is the first intermediate pattern I attempted. After reading other reviews that warned the pattern was hard to follow, I paid close attention and was able to get it right. I used the cranberry yarn and it goes perfectly with the denim dress and white cardigan I am wearing today. The only thing odd about the bag is that once you put stuff in it, the handles stretch and it hangs kind of low, so it might be a good idea to make them a little shorter. Also my straps came out wider than in the picture.

Around Town Bag Reviewed by on 2011-05-10 ****
I have been knitting for many years...as others have said, the pattern is a little hard to follow and I find the instructions for the handles not very well described...but I have had friends say that it came out beautifully...I made this for my 18 year old granddaughter who is big into purses...and hopefully she will enjoy it.

Around Town Bag Reviewed by Rosemary Spiegel on 2011-05-09 *****
I have been knitting since I was a little girl. I love the criss-cross cable pattern on this bag. I did have to restart the first half a couple of times. Finally, I had to rewrite the pattern for each row in full instead of the confusing way they have the instructions written. So far, I almost have the first half done and I love the look. I am using the recommended yarn and needle size. It is very hard to work with, but worth it. I had to get a thimble for my right index finger to move the stitches along. Maybe I will post a pic after I finish.

Around Town Bag Reviewed by Emily on 2011-05-08 ****
I'm currently in the process of knitting this tote. Read the reviews before starting and was prepared for the odd instructions, but it was easy to follow once I wrote out the instructions in my own table. The thick yarn is tough to work with and I'm using size 9 needles so its a little easier but its thrown off my gauge (by the time I get to 60 stitches it'll be at least 12") In the end though, the pattern/cables are beautiful and I'm pleased with the outcome.

Around Town Bag Reviewed by Claire on 2011-04-12 *****
Love this bag!!! Used a different yarn as in UK with same tension. I added an icord and toggle to make it more secure, and used Kitchener stitch to join the two halves of the strap. Had the pattern on my phone and it worked a treat. Due to using thick wool with small needles it makes a very dense fabric that could be a little hard on the hands to work with if you lack strength in the fingers. Will definitely make another one.

Around Town Bag Reviewed by Sue Payeur on 2011-03-18 *
Been knitting for 50 years. Love doing the cable stitches, but honestly the pattern is very poorly written. I started this bag, did not finish. I also would find another yarn,

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font