Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
New Catalog
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
Free Catalog
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
Find a Store
post code:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern

Customer Reviews

Image of Brighton Beach Washcloth
Brighton Beach Washcloth
Pattern Number: 90390AD
Rating: *****
4.9 (based on 18 reviews)
Write your own review
Search All Patterns:  
Displaying 1-10 of 18 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Brighton Beach Washcloth Reviewed by Kelly Calmeyn on 2013-08-19 *****
I love this pattern. It is quick and easy. The only problem I have is that my finishing end always seems to be more pointy or elongated than the starting edge. Does anyone else have this problem? Is this normal?

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Brighton Beach Washcloth Reviewed by Julie Kauffman on 2013-06-04 *****
I have used this pattern over and over with very thin cotton or hemp for delicate washcloths and with sturdy, heavy cotton for kitchen pads. Plain or striped it is always quick, fun and well received.

Brighton Beach Washcloth Reviewed by Lynn Greenleaf on 2013-01-21 ****
This is a great pattern and makes wonderful gifts for anyone you want something for.
I start with three stitches, knit one row
Pattern: K2, yo, knit to end of row repeat each row until (# of stitches you want to obtain size)
K1, K2tgr, yo, K2tgr, knit to end of row
When you have 3 stitches remaining knit each stitch and bind off.
This creates an even pattern from start to finish.
I have made hundreds of these as I watch TV, travel on planes, etc. A great "little something" for anyone on your list.

Brighton Beach Washcloth Reviewed by Stephenie Serna on 2011-12-20 *****
I love this pattern took about two hours to complete and its almost no brains required! This pattern seems to be very versatile too! I can see doing st st, linen st and other stitch patterns after the k2 yo at the beginning of each row. Very nice washcloth.

Brighton Beach Washcloth Reviewed by Suzanne C. Boucher on 2011-08-22 *****
I am making this as a coaster. Just work it to less stitches in the middle. I made the un-striped version as a coaster and it is quite cute. The good part is that you don't have to do an edging later. The cotton coasters work better than the other kinds because they absorb the water that collects on the outside of the glass. Fun project - colors so pretty.

Brighton Beach Washcloth Reviewed by Stacy Foote on 2011-05-26 *****
This is a classic, easy pattern makes knitting fun again. It's pretty and so functional. My sister & I just were Gagage saleing last weekend and there was a place who had these dish cloths out too - the lady who made them was actually blind, but was so familiar with the pattern that it was second nature to her. My 93 yr. young Grandma has also been making this same pattern for probably 60+ yrs. or so. It's a wonderful dish cloth. The store-bought ones, just don't hold a candle to them.

Brighton Beach Washcloth Reviewed by Pat Phillips on 2011-01-03 *****
This is my favorite to use for myself, and give as gifts, once you have used this as a dish cloth you will not like the store bought dish cloths again. I am an experienced knitter, but I always have this project going, for the Dr's office waiting area and for road trips. Yoy can carry on a conversation while you knit. One of my favorites.And my friends favorites too!

Brighton Beach Washcloth Reviewed by Grae Lewis on 2010-07-09 *****
The un-striped version of this cloth (as a dish cloth) was my first project when a co-worker taught me how to knit 10 years ago. The basic pattern has been around for a very long time as my co-worker said she found it in some old knit magazine from (I think) the 40s or 50s. I also used this pattern to teach my neighbor's daughter how to knit. I too have many friends and family scooping these up as fast as I can knit them. It's a great take-along project. You can sew two together to make a pot holder, or leave one side open to make a shower mitt. I've also made some larger ones and some that were rectangular as a matching dish towel (increase until you get the width you want, then start the decrease on only one edge; when you get the length you want, decrease on both edges).

Brighton Beach Washcloth Reviewed by Debra Andrews on 2010-06-23 *****
I, too have made these for years. The only difference is that I use size 10 1/2 needles. I use them as dishcloths. They are the best!. Everyone in my family fights over them-can't make them fast enough! They make great gifts. I try to keep some on hand for those unexpected or last minute invitations, but somehow they always disappear as fast as they are finished.

Brighton Beach Reviewed by MICHELLE WINGATE on 2010-06-11 *****
A friend gave me a similar pattern. The first row was knit 4, but the same k2, yo, knit to end of row. But on the decreases it was k1, k2together, yo, k2 together, knit to end of row and the end corner is similar to yours. This past winter a friend at church had a beautiful triangular shawl that someone had knit for her and upon examination I discovered that it was actually this dishcloth but the maker had just bound off at the widest part when it seemed large enough! It was made of the Homespun yarn. I am making this pattern right now into a baby afghan using a soft baby yarn and enlarging it to 36" square. Next time I will use a thicker yarn though because it has taken forever. I really like the stripes of your pattern.

separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font