Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Openwork Crochet Hat
Openwork Crochet Hat
Pattern Number: 90683AD
Rating: ****
3.9 (based on 20 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 20 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Reviewed by vodakmarotta on 2014-04-24 *
This pattern is very poorly written. The sizing is completely wrong, a women's small hat size is at least 21 inches, there is no way a medium would be 18 inches. Using so many slip stitches to get to the next rounds starting point is just sloppy, especially when the instructions than instruct to crochet into the slip stitch. I find it hard to believe this pattern was actually proof read by anyone who knows how to crochet. I appreciate all of Lion Brands free patterns, but I would rather see fewer patterns with better quality.

Openwork Crochet Hat Reviewed by Michelle ALcorn on 2013-10-19 *****
I made this hat with a variegated yarn that was slightly thinner than that of the pattern. I read the reviews and followed some of the suggestions like, chain 72 then increase by increments of 8. I chained 80 to start. I also skipped rows 5 and 6 and the length from crown to forehead is much nicer for me. I though the chained edge looked a little unfinished so when the hat was done I edged the opening. I made chain 3 loops all the way around, joining in the middle of the chain-5 spaces and in the sc. Then to mirror the larger arches in the hat, I went around and put 6 hdc in each chain-3 space. I LOVE IT! Favorite hat yet!

Reviewed by Nose Nara on 2012-10-02 *****
This is a great pattern! I only started crocheting a year ago but this pattern is easier than it seems. I made it in some leftover WoolEase yarn and it came out great. The brim was way too tight so I added 8 ch to the first round. Also on the last round, instead of pulling all the stitches together, I did: ch5, sk 4 st, sl st 4 times in next 4 sts, ch5, sk next 4 st, sc in next st. It made a little "x" and looked nice.

Openwork Crochet Hat Reviewed by Tina on 2012-09-23 ****
I made this hat for my Halloween costume (Jan Brady). It was quick and easy to do, but it came out a little big from top to bottom and a little tight around my head. I still love it :), I attached a flower for good measure, and made a purse to match.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Openwork Crochet Hat Reviewed by amanda on 2012-03-28 ****
I have made this hat several times and I LOVE how it looks, it's such a very cool style. I did, however, find the pattern somehwat confusing, especially the instructions at the beginning of rounds three and four. And also like another reviewer mentioned, I ended up with cone head top on a couple of them. I found the size to be too small at first, but used a different sized hook and adjusted my tension and yarn and made the 56 work for a good fit. I give the style and look of this hat 5 stars and the instructions on the pattern 3 stars.

Openwork Crochet Hat Reviewed by yolanda lopez on 2012-03-28 ****
The circumference of the hat is quite snug, didn't realize it was 18" until I completed it. My head measure 20" I added a lower border of dc instead of 2 rows sc. I founds some of the instructions a bit confusing. I made a vid tutorial on my youtube channel to help others out. It looks very nice and my niece loves it. Thanks for this great project.

Click to zoom

Openwork Crochet Hat Reviewed by Louise Williams on 2012-02-04 ****
Cheers to you gals who got through this pattern, I found row 4 to be very confuzing, try as I may, But have not given up yet, will try again.

Reviewed by Domenika Zatarain on 2011-11-13 *
My hat was a bit too big the first time, so I improvised...still did not like the fit on me personally, but it looks good on the model. I decided to unravel the whole thing and use the yarn for something else.

Openwork Crochet Hat Reviewed by Andy Martin on 2011-09-05 *****
love this pattern!! I did make a few corrections though...I ch 72 in the beginning to fit my head...if your head is bigger, go up by intervals of 8 ch. I also skipped rounds 5-6. This hat turned out beautifully!

Reviewed by Sheryl Johnson on 2011-06-04 ****
Hat turned out great. Not too snug, I must have a smaller head than most. I was a bit confused as others also were.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font