Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Dolce Fingerless Gloves
Dolce Fingerless Gloves
Pattern Number: 90612AD
Rating: *****
4.4 (based on 25 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 25 results Page 1 of 3
123Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Dolce Fingerless Gloves Reviewed by Kim Mahar on 2012-12-31 *****
I loved this pattern! The current corrections work well. As you can see, they do come out with different stripes and patterns. I was OK with that and think they look great. I made a few changes. I wanted a more lacy finish, so I used PICOT BIND OFF. I also picked up 12 stitches around the thumb and worked in knit one - purl one for 4 rounds. I then used a PICOT BIND OFF for the thumb also. Can't wait to work up another pair.

Click to zoom

Dolce Fingerless Gloves Reviewed by on 2012-08-31 *****
I give this a five stars only because I think you should try it! I'm an experienced crocheter but a knitting beginner. These worked up very easy, and are gorgeous. I did change two things... I incorporated two decreases (k2tog) into two rows up the arm. One about 5"and the second about 8". For a total of 4dec. For the thumb gusset I only cast off 10. I took this from the highland gauntlet pattern. The shaping allows it to hug your arm a little more, and one skein worked up both with just a bit left over. The stripping of the yarn is a little different for each but unlike a previous comment they look like a set. It's the nature of the yarn. So far I've made two sets with matching hats... one in strawberry fields (swoon) and one in a purple bamboo wool blend. I see me making this again.

Dolce Fingerless Gloves Reviewed by Rebecca LB Butler on 2012-04-27 ****
Yeah, even after 3 or 4 different corrections, this pattern is still off. If you start with 6 stitches in between stitch markers, then add 10 in the course of increase rounds, you have 16 stitches in between the stitch markers. I still decided to cast off 12 (in case I decide to add thumb ribbing later). So the cast off round should read: k1, remove marker, k2, bind off 12, k2, remove marker, k to end. Also, I concur with the other reviewer who suggested 12" of St st. If you want to get the slouchy look in the picture, you need the extra length.

I also cheated to make sure both my gloves came out the same. I cast each one on seperately. Then, on subsequent rounds I treated them as a double knit and worked them both at the same time. Not only did it ensure that my dimensions were the same on both gloves, but I was able to keep my color varigations roughly the same. This method is difficult, though, and I wouldn't recommend it for beginners.

Dolce Fingerless Gloves Reviewed by Jayne Anne Ekis on 2012-04-15 ****
i followed gauge. still, i think after the upper arm ribbing that the St st ought to be worked for 12 and not 10 inches(called for in pattern).

Reviewed by maumasters23 on 2012-02-05 *****
I don't know what all the fuss is about, this was a delight to make! The pattern is easy to follow. Making these would be a great first time project for those learning double pointed needles. Have a little patience. Be sure to check your gauge. Use stitch markers and a row counter. Enjoy!

Dolce Fingerless Gloves Reviewed by Kristina Mortensen on 2012-01-04 ***
This was my first project knitting in the round on dpn's, and I had to choose one of those rare Lion Brand patterns with major mistakes in the stitch numbers, thus the 3 star rating. I appreciated the hints given by previous reviewers. I used the twisted German cast on and distributed the co stitches as recommended by Anne McCombs then bound off 10 rather than 12 to get the right number of stitches for the ribbing at the end as Jennifer Kelley recommended. I also placed the markers per Mary Yong. Thanks for your tips! My daughter didn't want the color variations so I made these in a Wool-Ease heather, with several yards left from the one skein. The gauge was correct in this yarn. Other than the math, this pattern was easy to make. I'm thinking about picking up stitches around the thumb and adding a couple of rows of ribbing there. I'll see what my daughter says when she tries them on.

Dolce Fingerless Gloves Reviewed by Kubida Kathleen on 2011-12-26 *****
These are great gloves! I used the Olympia Amazing Yarn and the color changes was gorgeous! :) This is a quick and easy knit project that will be a sure to please gift!

Dolce Fingerless Gloves Reviewed by Kapunahele on 2011-12-29 *****
This is a very easy pattern. I modified the it somewhat. First, I made my gloves shorter so that they start maybe 3 inches past the wrist. I also used US size 5 needles for most of the gloves because I wanted a closer fit than what's pictured (which would have swallowed my hands). I have pretty small hands with my wrist measuring 6.25" at the smallest part and my knuckles measuring 7.25" around. When I got to the end where the ribbing starts around the knuckles, I switched to US size 3 needles for a snug fit. Additionally, after finishing the pattern, I picked up some stitches at the thumb opening and added a little 2x2 ribbing to match the knuckles.

Someone mentioned in another review that the yarn, because of its variations in color, makes the gloves look very different, like they don't match. Though my gloves are a little different in that one came out with a green stripe and one has a pink one, the overall tone and texture is still consistent, even though I made mine short.

Next time I'll use circular needles instead of double pointed ones though because the needles kept slipping out and I had to remember to continually move the point protectors around to prevent it.

I'll definitely be making these again and creating variations based from this original pattern.

Dolce Fingerless Gloves Reviewed by MARY YOUNG on 2011-12-16 *****
I just finished my first pair of gloves. Love it and I took all the comments to heart. They are right!! I learned how to do the German cast on and now I am a believer even though I had to watch the video many time before I got it. My tip is to us a marker when you finish the cuff then when you start the increasing.
It makes it so much easier when you do the second glove.
So they are exactly the same length. I did not make mine as long as the pictured gloves because my daughter wanted them X long. It took me one evening to do one glove.......and finished up the second one tonight. Not bad. Wished I had started earlier for making Christmas presents.........

Dolce Fingerless Gloves Reviewed by Connie Englehart on 2011-11-29 *****
love the pattern...easy to make

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font