Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Simple Crochet Shrug
Simple Crochet Shrug
Pattern Number: 90689AD
Rating: *****
4.3 (based on 87 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 87 results Page 1 of 9
12345678Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Simple Crochet Shrug Reviewed by Karen Crozier on 2011-05-19 *****
I love this pattern and Homespun. I found that it was not too difficult finding the back loop of the single crochet stitch when using the large hook--I sort of let the hook find the stitch. The only thing I changed on the pattern was the first and last stitch of each row--I did a regular single crochet at each end instead of in the back stitch--it gave a nicer edge.

Simple Crochet Shrug Reviewed by Tara Williams on 2015-01-19 *****
I made it with a g hook and worsted weight 4 yarn for a 3 t size child for Valentine's Day if anyone is interested in this alteration. I used to big white buttons and crocheted button loops for the front. I thought maybe someone could use this alteration for a grandchild.

Click to zoom

Reviewed by writerweber on 2012-10-26 *****
Made it in nouveau and it is gorgeous. I am going to start another one in Edwardian. Took less than three balls of yarn. Super easy. Love it!

Simple Crochet Shrug Reviewed by Anca Buist on 2012-09-28 ****
Easy, quick to make and it looks great too.
What more does one want?

Simple Crochet Shrug Reviewed by Charlene on 2012-09-25 ****
Instead of crocheting in the back loops I am using a regular single crochet. This material makes crocheting in the backloops tedious but the end result is beautiful. (and instead of 4 balls I used 5)

Simple Crochet Shrug Reviewed by Joy Butler on 2012-09-14 *****
I also had trouble getting the hook in the back of the stitches using Homespun. So, I used a double pointed knitting needle to pick up those stitches using a rubber
tip to prevent the stitches from falling off the other end which made them a lot easier to work. JOY BUTLER NJ

Simple Crochet Shrug Reviewed by caterina on 2012-08-28 ****
mi piace moltissimo questo modello purtroppo non riesco a capire la spiegazione sarebbe meglio se ci fosse uno schema...
... comunque complimenti a chi lo ha realizzato...cate67

Reviewed by melanie_hottinger on 2012-07-26 *****
Works up so fast, so easy! I needed a warm, dressy cover up for work! I made it with 3 skeins if the home spun, tudor! It is currently a hot, dry summer in Utah so I have to wait until fall to wear it!

Simple Crochet Shrug Reviewed by Kathy Deutsch on 2012-06-07 *****
I just finished one in bulky weight yarn and have 2 more going. One in Homespun "Wildfire" and one in a navy blue sport weight cotton yarn. This pattern is the greatest. It can be endlessly modified and trimmed to look very different.

I make these 30 inches instead of 38. I also vary the stitch patterns-half double crochet works up fast. I plan on one in laceweight yarn in double crochet to get a real lacey look.

My tips: it will stretch once worn, so it could get too long. That's why mine are 30 inches, instead of 38.
Use a bigger hook to get looser stitches.
Trimming the edges and sleeves controls some of the stretch. You can crochet an edge or rib-knit around the edge (what I plan to do).

This pattern is one I love doing-the results are stunning no matter what yarn I use.

Simple Crochet Shrug Reviewed by The Wild Olive on 2012-04-12 ****
I didn't want this hanging down in the back that far, so I just used 3 balls of Homespun. It's nice and snuggly, and covers the upper half of my arms (I'm 5' 7"). Homespun is my favorite yarn - so beautiful and soft, but its "fuzziness" sometimes makes it a pain to work with - gets caught on the hook!

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font