Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Simply Stockinette Hat
Simply Stockinette Hat
Pattern Number: 90621AD
Rating: ***
2.6 (based on 12 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 12 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Simply Stockinette Hat Reviewed by Amanda on 2012-12-31 *
This did not turn out anything like the picture. The ribbing is the same width as the rest of the hat, looking like an ordinary toque, fairly tight against my head. Very disappointed as whatever she is wearing looks so pretty and unlike other styles.

When I tried it to 7 inches, it actually turned out to look like the picture for the Camelot Hat pattern, which I do not like.

Simply Stockinette Hat Reviewed by Megan Schmidt on 2011-12-30 *****
The overall rating should be better for this pattern. It turned out really cute, like the picture. I knitted a flat piece and sewed the seams instead of knitting in the round. The ribbing was a little loose, but it helped with the slouchy appearance. Knit more than the suggested 5 inches, go at least 6. Very quick to knit up. Give it a try, you can always undo it and try something else.

Simply Stockinette Hat Reviewed by Kisha on 2011-08-21 *****
Well I did read all the reviews before starting the hat and I had to make some changes to the pattern. It took me some time, but I got it. I love Wool Ease Thick n Quick or Lion Brand Hometown USA Yarn. It knits up quicker. I decided to use Hometown USA in black and a size 13 16" circular needle. I cast on 44 stitches and worked K1, P1 for 4 rounds. On the 5th round I increased every other stitch. So, I K the 1st stitch and increased on the 2nd stitch by knitting through the front and back of the same stitch. By the end of the 5th round I had an addt'l 20 stitches- total 66. My hat slouches perfectly. I continued to K until it was time to decrease. I prefer to inc every other stitch bc it lines up with the purl lines on my ribbing perfectly. With the pattern provided you are only adding 2 more stitches and thats not enough to slouch. If you use the yarn specified in the pattern, I would cast on 88 stitches and increase like I suggested. I will give you an extra 20 stitches and you will start to knit 108 stitches total which will give you a nice slouch! Feel free to email me at lferrine@verizon.net if you have addt'l questions.

Reviewed by Aimee Hurtado on 2011-07-11 ****
I love how my hat turned out!! Instead of stopping at 5 inches of work before I started the decrease, I knitted to 7 inches. (The directions say you can knit up to 5, 7, 9 inches). I have also found that you can try on your hat before you start the decrease. That way, you have a better idea if you need more "slouch" knitted on your hat before decreasing and finishing it up. Hope that helps some of you.

Simply Stockinette Hat Reviewed by michelet814@verizon.net on 2011-02-25 ****
I would like to amend my earlier review. On my second attempt with a different yarn, it turned out much better. Not quite as slouchy as I would have liked but still a good hat.

Simply Stockinette Hat Reviewed by Mary Sue Driver on 2011-02-28 *
Pattern makes a hat that is much too small & I have a smaller head. I unravelled my work bc the finished hat would fit an infant...Maybe would be better if much larger needles were used. A very disappointing pattern!

Simply Stockinette Hat Reviewed by Stephanie Park on 2011-01-23 *****
It's a beautiful hat; it's comfortable and keeps that cold off. My only problem was that I used yarn that was too thick (which was entirely my fault.

Simply Stockinette Hat Reviewed by jeannette valley on 2011-01-12 **
ADD 10 STITCHES

Simply Stockinette Hat Reviewed by Kami Leigh DeLorenzo on 2010-12-09 *
well im almost done my hat and i dont know if it is going to be slouchy so i'm kinda dissapointed.

Simply Stockinette Hat Reviewed by michelet814@verizon.net on 2010-12-03 *
The hat is tight and not slouchy as the other reviewer stated. I, too, am very disappointed and am looking around for someone with a small head.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font