Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
New Catalog
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
Free Catalog
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
Find a Store
post code:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern

Customer Reviews

Image of Bells Lake Afghan
Bells Lake Afghan
Pattern Number: 90323AD
Rating: *****
4.6 (based on 9 reviews)
Write your own review
Search All Patterns:  
Displaying 1-9 of 9 results
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Bells Lake Afghan Reviewed by Stefanie Crane on 2012-07-04 *****
Very easy to knit... pattern was exceptionally easy to follow. I knitted five additional rows stripes to make it longer (ending on same color combo that I started). Weaving in is a bit of a pain with such thick yarn, but the end result is worth it.

Click to zoom

Bells Lake Afghan Reviewed by Barbara Ratliff on 2011-05-07 *****
This is the first time that I've worked with needles this size and it took some getting used to. Worked with Thick & Quick once before and I love it. This afghan is so much fun to make and it's beautiful!! ... and it works up fast. This will be a Christmas gift for one of my daughters ... then I'll need to start on another for my other daughter. Maybe one for Mom, too.

Bells Lake Afghan Reviewed by Amy Marsh on 2010-11-22 *****
I love this pattern because it is not only quick and easy but warm and good looking too!

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Bells Lake Afghan Reviewed by DEBORAH GRAHAM GIBSON on 2010-07-13 *****
I loved making this afghan, and will be starting another one this weekend! I agree with another poster that it turned out a bit smaller than anticipated, but the stripes are beautiful and the color "weaving" is pretty to look at and fun to do. Even with it being sort of smallish, it's perfect for a lap-size afghan, just not blanket-size, and it will be cozy and soft for chilly nights.

Bells Lake Afghan Reviewed by Jennifer Slack on 2010-03-29 ****
I didn't like the colours when knitting, but they are quite nice to look at now that I am done. The finished product is smaller than I anticipated so I bought more wool & adding another 7 strips. I was also able to get away with a smaller *length* double needle, it was tight but didn't affect the gauge.

Bells Lake Afghan Reviewed by Ellie Nye on 2010-03-21 ****
This was the first time I had worked on such a piece with large circular needles, so many colors, double yarn. It turned out really great.
I would like to make another but in the blue family but have no idea how to pair up the four different colors so that it would come out so beautifully.

Bells Lake Afghan Reviewed by Carol Cripps on 2010-03-05 *****
This is a good, easy pattern. I will be teaching my sister to knit, and will be using this pattern to get her used to doing knit and purl stitches. I'll be doing one at the same time, so that if she runs into trouble, she can watch me work.Since it works up quickly with doubled yarn, and the colours shown are some of her favourites, I'm sure we'll have a good time making it.

Bells Lake Afghan Reviewed by Greenberg Helen on 2010-02-19 ****
I used this pattern with doubled worsted weight yarn and it worked up beautifully. Because of the smaller gauge I made a couple of additional panels. I added a solid color garter stitch border and used all the colors of the apghan for the fringe. I am very happy with the end product and plan to make another one with different colors as soon as I can get to the store to buy more yarn!

Bells Lake Afghan Reviewed by Rita Bolognani on 2010-02-02 ****
I have just started this afghan and although I think that it is Easy+ I have some recommendations already. First let me say that it is not a true Moss Stitch. Which I did not think so in the beginning so I looked it up in the Stitch Dictionary.
Multiple of 2 sts + 1 stitch

Rows 1 and 3 Knit
Row 2 p1, *k1, p1 rep from* to end
Row 4 k1, *p1, k1 rep from* to end
rep rows 1-4
Second I think that it should be done maybe on a speed stix. The reason for this is that it is super bulky yarn with 2 strands held together and when done on size 19 it feels more like a rug then an afghan. (and I knit very loose)
It is a pretty afghan and I have sooooo much yarn that I am using simlar older colors. Mind you these are only suggestions and I have only done 2 stripes, in less than a couple of hours.

separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font