Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Autumn Lace Afghan
Autumn Lace Afghan
Pattern Number: 80878AD
Rating: *****
4.7 (based on 15 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 15 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Autumn Lace Afghan Reviewed by Pam Shelburn on 2014-12-12 *****
I love this pattern!!! I have made 4 or 5 so far this year for Christmas presents!! I prefer using non-bulky yarn, so I make this using 10 skeins of Vanna's Choice yarn and size 13 needle - use 2 strands of yarns at once. A very lovely afghan!! I am working on a nice purple shade of this afghan now!! It works up really quick and produces such a wonderful result!

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Autumn Lace Afghan Reviewed by Susan Hancock on 2014-03-15 *****
I would definitely recommend making this afghan. It's gorgeous when finished. I just completed my second one, and will start a third one soon. Pay careful attention to pattern directions and check your work regularly; it's really easy to make mistakes. I increased the size by one repeat in width and ten total repeats vertically to make it closer to 48x60 inches. I have also added a crochet border to give it a little something extra. Love it!

Autumn Lace Afghan Reviewed by Sue O on 2013-12-22 *****
Very beautiful, but can be challenging. Counting stitches as you go is the key to success, if you are having any problems. Make sure you always have 12 between the markers, before you move to the next marker. Here are some tricks that have helped me. Photos included.

I wrote out the pattern in a little spiral notebook. Each row in detail on a separate page. Write it how ever it makes sense to you. At the bottom of the each page I make an ongoing notation 1,2,3, etc., (reflecting the pattern repeat) as I finish that row, so I know where to pick up again after I lay it down.

If you are nervous about "tricky" row 19, place a "life line" after row 18. Then if there is a problem, it is easier to rip out and get your stitches back on the needle correctly. Actually a life line is a good idea in a large piece like this, placed after every pattern repeat. Especially if you are not good at taking out stitches and getting them back on the needle with the proper twists and angles. If you don't know what a lifeline is, check youtube for tutorials. Very easy. You can see my life line in the photo with Red yarn.

Stitch markers are easy to make with knotted loops of a bright colored yarn. Easy to transfer off & on the needle as you go.

I can't wait to finish this and have it on my bed this winter. Then make more as gifts. I wanted it bigger, so I cast on 119 stitches, using a size 13 needle, and bought 12 balls of yarn.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Autumn Lace Afghan Reviewed by Louise Sena on 2013-12-03 *****
This made up quickly and looks more difficult than it is. Note: the instructions for the last row of the lace pattern (row 19) could have been clearer. Removing the markers from this row helped but the instructions for the end of the row were not clear. I just counted stitches from the end backwards.

Autumn Lace Afghan Reviewed by Betsy Wemyss on 2013-03-17 *****
Just finished. This afghan looks beautiful, and it is fairly easy to knit.

I used a double strand of Navy Blue Vanna's Choice worsted weight and size 11 needles. An adult size afghan, 4 feet by 6 feet, used 18 skeins of Vanna's Choice yarn.

Other posters have commented on row 19. Be warned: on row 19, the markers get moved over one stitch to the left. Each time row 19 came around, I was prepared to concentrate!!

Counting stitches between markers was a big help. It seems that I always create a mistake or two while building these projects, but counting the 12 stitches in each pattern repeat kept me from ripping out rows!!

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Autumn Lace Afghan Reviewed by Sarah on 2012-10-28 *****
Beautiful and quick to knit up! This make a lovely gift

Autumn Lace Afghan Reviewed by Patricia Tuohy on 2011-02-04 ****
I have completed two sets of the pattern, and think there are two places, both in Row 19, where the instructions need to be more specific. The stitch markers need to be removed to complete this row, and the end of the instructions for Row 19 could be more clear, i.e., state number of stitches to knit to the end of the row.

Autumn Lace Afghan Reviewed by Gail Osten on 2010-07-10 ****
This is a beautiful piece, took me awhile to learn the trick of counting between st. markers to make sure I had 12 sts. before going forward -- it's easy to forget a yo and then you are going back later to rip out. Also, your 6th st on odd rows will always result in the center knit of the pattern, especially useful in the 19th row where stitch markers can't be used. These tips helped me.

Autumn Lace Afghan Reviewed by Helen Leonte on 2010-05-02 *****
I am almost finished with this afghan and it has turned out so beautiful! I used size 13 needles (I knit tight) and wheat color in Thick & Quick. It looks complex & difficult, but isn't. :) Several people have asked for the pattern - it's a winner!!

Autumn Lace Afghan Reviewed by Tammy Larink on 2010-03-25 *****
I just love this pattern. This was my first try at the intermediate level of knitting. This pattern worked up quick, helped me use up some left over thick and quick yarn and make a wonderful 48th wedding anniversary gift for my parents. You must give this a try. You won't be sorry.

Click to zoom

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font