Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Starboard Socks
Starboard Socks
Pattern Number: 90503AD
Rating: *****
4.7 (based on 15 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 15 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Starboard Socks Reviewed by Samantha Stancliffe on 2013-04-21 *****
This was my first sock project and I found the pattern quite simple. I love the look of the two colors, however, the sock is HUGE! I knit the womens medium and it looks like it would fit Goliath! I will be using it for a slipper, not a sock. I used Lion wool, which is a little bit thicker than Wool-ease, so maybe this is why the sock came out so big. Overall, a nice pattern...I will try the smaller size next time!

Starboard Socks Reviewed by karla cain on 2013-02-03 ****
Sock is nice and warm, but too thick to fit in any of my shoes or my snow boots!

Starboard Socks Reviewed by Colleen de Bernardo on 2013-01-27 *****
Fantastic pattern! Easy to follow for beginners, easy adapt for a not-particularly-experienced sock knitter who had ambitious Christmas-knitting-project plans! Super-warm, just annoyed that I did two pairs of these and gave BOTH away... I need to make some for myself!

Starboard Socks Reviewed by Wanda Swartzbaugh on 2012-08-16 *****
Love this Pattern. I've been trying to make my Husband a pair for 2 years, but every time someone sees the socks they want them....My Husband just got his 2 days ago and I am working on a pair for myself. Ithought I would make a pair and try the Non Skid Patches on the bottom....
Next however I'm going to try making them 2 at a time - top down.....anyone else done this?
Anyway.....Love, Love, Love them!!!!!


Starboard Socks Reviewed by Shelby on 2010-10-21 *****
I've been looking for a pattern like this for years! They knitted up real fast on the larger needles, and are nice and thick: that's something I've not had luck on with other patterns. They are perfect to wear in Mukluks while mushing!

Starboard Socks Reviewed by ERCzaplewski on 2011-07-25 *****
I made these socks as my knitting project for 4-H.up until now, I have only made scarves; these socks were really fun to make. I used vanna's choice variegated yarn instead of wool ease. they look great. they are very bulky being more of a slipper type sock. I would encourage other beginner knitters like myself to try them. have fun with the pattern, and try different yarn combinations. I would highly recommend variegated yarns with this project. instead of using two solids as the pattern suggested, I used two different variegated yarns that shared some of the same colors. hope you enjoy making this easy pattern as much as I did!

Starboard Socks Reviewed by Charlene Loftis on 2011-03-02 **
These should be labled "boot" sock socks, as they are too bulky to wear in regular shoes. This is a fairly easy sock for the person who has not made socks before, but wants to learn. One could even do the socks in all the same material to keep from having to switch yarns.

Starboard Socks Reviewed by Linda Delmont on 2010-08-23 *****
This is a great pattern, I have made 5 pair of these socks. Everyone I have given them to as just loved them. I would like to know if you have any numbers of stiches to change the size. I have done them with 30sts. and worked my way through it. They turned out fine, but I would like the expert's way.
Thank you so much for all the great patterns, and support
Linda Delmont

Starboard Socks Reviewed by Meg Farness on 2010-06-29 *****
I'm new to knitting socks, and so far, these are definitely my favorite! They were fast, but the end product wasn't overly chunky or thick. It was also very fun to play with colors and how they look mixed together. I usually knit at the 'Easy' level, but it says here that these socks are advanced intermediate. I wouldn't be fooled by this,because if you know the basic concepts required to knit socks, then this will be really easy for you. =)These socks are a great gift for anybody, because they aren't overly masculine or feminine. I hope everyone enjoyed these socks as much as I did!

Starboard Socks Reviewed by Joan Murray on 2010-04-17 *****
These were quick and easy and will be great for bed socks. Thank you.

Click to zoom

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font