Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Cardiff Cowl
Cardiff Cowl
Pattern Number: 90268AD
Rating: *****
4.4 (based on 36 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 36 results Page 1 of 4
1234Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Cardiff Cowl Reviewed by Katty on 2014-12-30 *****
Very easy to follow, and the diagram was helpful too.

Cardiff Cowl Reviewed by Rachel on 2014-05-19 ****
Pattern was easy enough to follow. The diagram was helpful to make sure the initial few rows line up.
I used a locally available yarn here in Australia called Moda Vera Chantilly and it worked up beautifully. My only complaint is that I would have liked it a bit looser so it draped more like the photo - mine turned out more like a skivvy neck rolled over but that was likely due to the yarn I used. Would be great if there was an option to add x amount of chains to add to the diameter for a looser fit as I don't know how to work that out myself based on the pattern.

Cardiff Cowl Reviewed by Linda Lalonde on 2013-11-03 ****
Several people were looking for a picture of the cowl flattened out. Go to

http://www.lionbrandyarnstudio.com/index.php/time-to-plan-your-holiday-crafting/#disqus_thread

and you'll see it there made in the Alpaca.

Cardiff Cowl Reviewed by Trudy Hetherington on 2013-09-18 *****
I loved this pattern and found it to be quite easy to make. My first attempt was with worsted weight yarn and a size H hook which made it fit close to my neck. My second attempt was with DK weight, a size H hook and I added 21 extra stitches to give it a softer drape. LOVE!

Reviewed by Karen S on 2013-09-02 *****
Great pattern and lovely final product. Don't be discouraged by poor reviews. Once you read thoroughly-it's quite a simple pattern and easy to follow. I made mine with the LB collection Baby Alpaca and it came out absolutely beautiful. I used a size I9 crochet hook to obtain the appropriate gauge.

Reviewed by maryam alabdullah on 2013-02-23 *****
I love it and its very easy to follow you can see mine on instagram
@maryamishaq

Cardiff Cowl Reviewed by Vicki on 2013-01-27 *****
Very pretty cowl. Works up fast, easy to follow. Just follow the instructions and don't read more into it (rnd 3). I will be making more of the Cardiff Cowl. Thanks

Cardiff Cowl Reviewed by pidge on 2012-10-02 *****
I loved this pattern. Got it right on the first try. I think the problem on round three is that it says "skip sp" ... skip the fist SPACE, then make the 2dc,ch3,2dc in the second space. All the fans line up and all the "2dc" posts line up. Very nice pattern when read carefully. :)

Cardiff Cowl Reviewed by Tina Licari on 2012-06-28 ****
This pattern is absolutely beautiful! I would have given it 5 stars if the instructions were written better. I kept having to do round 3 and looking at the pictures that people posted until I finally got it. After the shell sequence (2 dc ch 3 2dc) skip right to the dc group and dc in each one. So it's the shell sequence, skip 2 dc and dc in next 2 dc. Hope this helps. Don't give up on the pattern, it really does come out gorgeous. I just finished mine in a beautiful 4 ply yarn with a satin sheen. I made it for my sister-inlaw, but I think I'm going to keep it for myself :) This pattern is a keeper and I plan on trying it in a longer cowl.

Cardiff Cowl Reviewed by Heather on 2012-05-25 *****
I have made this twice now. the first time was in a forest green locally hand spun alpaca, and the second time was in Lion Brand's own Baby's First in Beanstalk. Both came out beautiful. The pattern was easy to follow after figuring it out (by following the instructions).

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font