Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Lyndhurst Cowl
Lyndhurst Cowl
Pattern Number: 90581AD
Rating: ****
4.1 (based on 20 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 20 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Lyndhurst Cowl Reviewed by Rebecca Myers on 2012-03-27 ****
This was a fun project, and my first circular project. As a beginning knitter, I found the pattern instructions easy to follow. The knitting went so fast that before I knew it, I had made the bottom ribbing longer than called for, so I did the same on the other side (subtracting from the middle portion to acheive the same length.) Overall I am very happy with how it turned out, and ordered more Vineyard to make a matching earwarmer. I also plan to make more of these as gifts.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Lyndhurst Cowl Reviewed by Janet Penvose on 2011-11-15 *
I made the cowl and ran out of yarn. I took the whole thing apart. Thanks for the suggestion of making it shorter. I will make it again but only knit to 8 1/2". It dosen't look anything like the picture.

Lyndhurst Cowl Reviewed by Chris Hybicki on 2011-08-26 ****
Like everyone else I ran out of yarn and had to buy more. You don't get as nice a striping using 2 strands together and I couldn't find two skeins that started the same. So, I was a little disappointed. It will make a beautiful gift though.

Lyndhurst Cowl Reviewed by christina turley on 2011-02-06 ****
Easy Pattern to follow. The Amazing yarn is simply lovely and works up beautifully. However, may want to make adjustments to the pattern. I checked the gauge and it matched that in the pattern but 2 skeins of the yarn is not enough to finish to the proper measurements. Two skeins of yarn only worked up to 10.5 inches too short to match the pattern. Luckily I was able to run back to the store and get the same dye lot.

Lyndhurst Cowl Reviewed by Catherine Weigel on 2011-01-11 ****
I had just finished an earlier project in Amazing Rainforest, a SweaterBabe sweater program -- still have to block but it's beautiful.

So, anyway, I started on this pattern in Glacier Bay. It's gorgeous, but I will be taking the suggestion of others -- thank you -- and ending at 10" total, so 8-1/2" before final ribbing, or I will definitely not have enough yarn. I am giving this as a gift to my sister and it's actually plenty long enough at 10".

I came in here to read the reviews when I saw that I would not have enough yarn, just to make sure it wasn't me. Gauge is right with 10-1/2 needles, though.

Lyndhurst Cowl Reviewed by Joan Carmello on 2011-01-09 ****
easy pattern yarn great to work
with. a professional finished
piece. good project to do
while watching tv.

Lyndhurst Cowl Reviewed by Angela Mosley on 2010-12-29 ****
Made this for a gift exchange (with the Dolce Fingerless Gloves) and it was a huge hit! The yarn is beautiful and everyone loved the striping. I also had to make my cowl a bit shorter so I didn't run out of yarn.

Lyndhurst Cowl Reviewed by Leslie Wells on 2010-12-18 ****
Knits quickly and beautifully for a short project. Two skeins are enough if you make the final length 10". Otherwise, you'll need three skeins.

Lyndhurst Cowl Reviewed by Susan Brown on 2010-11-09 **
Two balls weren't enough for me and my gauge was correct. Frustrating!

Second try-reduced stitches to 76 and came out better, still not as long as pattern but it actually came out just as wide as 80 stitches.

I love this yarn! Reviewed by Bonita L Pennington on 2010-11-22 *****
I had not knit with the Amazing yarn before and it really is . . . well, amazing! I had picked up 3 skeins in Aurora, not knowing what I would do with it, but I loved the yarn and I knew that 3 skeins is at least enough for a scarf. I didn't really want the long striped scarf look, so I browsed through the Lion patterns and found this pattern.

Of course, I'm one of those folks that you can give me the directions, but you can't leave me alone with them! I went from double stranding, to single yarn so I also dropped the needle size (to an 8). I love this and everyone who sees the yarn (I knit in public) loves the yarn. I did use the 2 skeins to make it long enough --- actually 1-1/2 so I have 1-1/2 to make another one --- hmmm! A Christmas present!

I am now planning a vest using this yarn.

I was home sick and finished this the same day I started.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font