Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Cottage Wrist Warmers
Cottage Wrist Warmers
Pattern Number: 90254AD
Rating: *****
4.4 (based on 11 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 11 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Cottage Wrist Warmers Reviewed by rfurtado1954 on 2014-11-15 *****
These came out beautiful, making more in a silver grey and a black.

Click to zoom

Cottage Wrist Warmers Reviewed by Becky Ferguson on 2013-01-26 ****
Great pattern -- I've made 2 pair for me and my daughter and will make more. I use sock yarn (1 ball, the amount for 1 sock makes a pair of Wrist Warmers) and size 3 needles, following the pattern as written, except making them to go up to my elbow.

Keeping the bind-off loose is the tricky bit. I used size 11 needles after trying smaller sizes first. That gave a bind-off edge the same size as the wrist part, so it doesn't cut into the arm at all. Or try what Elizabeth G. Jones suggests in her comment.

The only problem with this pattern (or my cast-on method? -- I plan to investigate others) is that the scalloped (finger end) edge curls out. It's not a big problem, it just doesn't look smooth like the pattern picture. I notice that a couple of the pictures others have posted of theirs looks like theirs curls, too.

Lovely Cottage Wrist Warmers Reviewed by Nikki on 2013-01-14 ****
Great design, and my first FO from a pattern and with a repeating pattern. Although I'm very much a beginner, I found all the resources I needed here to make these lovely wristers.
I made lots of mistakes and unraveled too many times to count, but learned lots and so I'm proud of my final results, I gifted them to a friend who loves them. Thanks Lion Brand.

Click to zoom

Cottage Wrist Warmers Reviewed by Martha Steele on 2012-10-18 ****
Lovely pattern! Here is a pic of my first one. I agree with others that perhaps it needs to be a bit smaller. My math tells me to remove 8 stitches, not 10. I'm going to give that a try and see if it works. Also, the ribbing needs two more decreased (it needs to be a multiple of 4, plus 2). Then, you would be sewing knit stitches to knit stitches and it would look neater. I will definitely be making more of these. What great gifts!! Great yarn! Thanks Lionbrand for your LB Collection.

Click to zoom

Cottage Wrist Warmers Reviewed by Kaite Murphy on 2011-09-24 *****
This is a great, easy to do lace pattern that is also easy to read. I've made a couple pairs of these and given them away as gifts. The LB collection alpaca is really nice to knit with too.



http://castawayknitting.blogspot.com/

Click to zoom

Cottage Wrist Warmers Reviewed by Carol Cormier on 2011-01-05 ****
I am currently working on these wrist warmers. I love the look of them, but for some reason, I am having a difficult time getting size and pattern right. The first one I made was far too big, and I have large hands. I scrapped that one. Started another decreasing my stitches by ten. I am now on my third try, I feel a bit challenged, but by golly I will make these and enjoy wearing them!! I will come back and post a pic of the finished project!!
(Update:-I finished these but am very disappointed with the result. I will wear these, but pride stops me from posting pic.)

Cottage Wrist Warmers Reviewed by nichole thompson on 2010-10-13 ***
Ive made these twice, and although I find them to be very pretty, they are very large and I changed my needle size twice and still found them to be a little wide. I think I may try using ten less stiches in my cast-on and see if that helps.

Cottage Wrist Warmers Reviewed by on 2010-03-07 *****
I love this pattern. It looks complicated but is quite easy once you get into the rhythm. I do recommend not having any outside distractions for at least the first couple of rows as it is easy to lose track of your stitches. I also suggest counting your stitches every couple of rows. Otherwise it is a very beautiful pattern.

Cottage Wrist Warmers Reviewed by Susi Anna on 2010-01-08 *****
I've made one pair and I'm making a second pair now. Both for birthday gifts. They are so soft and pretty I'm going to make me a pair. They fit a slender hand and stretch for a larger hand like mine. I'm very pleased with these and it was quick and fun to make.

Cottage Wrist Warmers Reviewed by Anne Jessup on 2010-01-10 ****
As we have different size needles in UK, I made these on 3.75mm needles, and they came out too large for my hands. However, they are so pretty and the pattern is so easy to follow, I will try again using 3.25mm needles. They are ideal for using when typing on the computer keyboard.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font