Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Ruffle Shrug
Ruffle Shrug
Pattern Number: 90011AD
Rating: ****
4.1 (based on 21 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 21 results Page 1 of 3
123Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Ruffle Shrug Reviewed by Carol Zalek on 2013-07-15 *****
Love this pattern! Finished one and started another - but why not offer a larger size. It's easy enough for me to calculate the increased stitches and inches I need, but not everyone can/likes to do that.

Ruffle Shrug Reviewed by Sheila Deutsch on 2012-10-10 *****
I made two for two of my granddaughters, two for my daughters-in-law and one for myself. I will probably not stop. SD

Ruffle Shrug Reviewed by Annette Van Ee on 2012-10-04 ****
This is a nice pattern but I agree that the construction instructions don't match the photo. The photo matches the incorrect instructions that have been crossed out! Ignore the picture and follow the instructions and it'll turn out beautifully.

Trust the original pattern!! Reviewed by Kris Piper on 2012-01-28 *****
No, the way the assembly of the shrug in the original pattern doesn't match the pattern photo, but it DID fit my body better!! And I LOVE it! After knitting the basic rectangle as described, I pinned the pattern together the way the experienced reviewers recommended, then I did it the way the pattern recommended, and it simply fit better. I really like the way it fits and the way the ribbed pattern runs down the back much better. It IS odd that the website photo isn't the way the pattern is described, BUT it IS much better. I am SO HAPPY with the end result! This is my first ever "garment" for the body, besides socks. Thank you, Lion Brand!

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Ruffle Shrug Reviewed by Jill on 2011-12-02 ****
Made this for my daughter in a Vanna light grey yarn. She loves it.

Ruffle Shrug Reviewed by Celeste on 2011-07-05 *****
I made the shrug in black yarn with the varigated black and white ruffle. Will make it again with a wider ruffle.

Ruffle Shrug Reviewed by Aurora on 2011-06-18 **
Cute idea, but the pattern doesn't match the outcome. I teach knitting, and while I do not consider myself an expert, I do think of myself as an intermediate knitter, and I had trouble with this pattern. The directions are not very clear on how to pick up stitches for the ruffle, and if I had followed the pattern (even after checking gauge) this would have turned out way too big for who I was knitting it for. More of a woman's medium instead of a teen small or extra small which is why I had picked this pattern. A bit disappointing, but I was able to make it work, and it is still going to be a nice graduation gift.

Ruffle Shrug Reviewed by Gail Connolly on 2011-05-23 *****
Cute. I even knit it with a broken wrist - no kidding!

I made it as written in a soft sand color and it goes great with a long sleeved black vneck tee.

I think I will make it in blue. I am a size 4-6 petite.

Ruffle Shrug Reviewed by Carol M Hesselink on 2011-02-04 ***
To have a rib pattern, the number of stitches to cast on
need to be a multiple of 4 ~
(I'm trying 132) instead of the 130. Otherwise, the odd rows would have to be P2, K2 across instead of K2, P2 as directed.
~Carol in Amsterdam, NY

Ruffle Shrug Reviewed by suzanne Axtell on 2011-01-24 ****
I just finished this tonight! Well, I haven't woven in the ends yet, but I'm very close. :)

I was also confused by the instructions to match the cast-on/bound-off edges. Thanks to the commenters, I knew it might be an issue, so I basted it both ways before deciding how to seam it before starting the ruffle. I felt it fit a little better with the sides meeting (which looked like the picture) so that's what I did. I'm a woman's M-L so I made it longer than the pattern. I think if I had known how I was going to fold it from the beginning, however, I would have increased the width rather than length.

Overall I'm happy with how it came out.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font