Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Baby Christening Set
Baby Christening Set
Pattern Number: 90073AD
Rating: ****
3.9 (based on 15 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 15 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Baby Christening Set Reviewed by Tara Williams on 2015-03-22 *****
It's an extremely simple stitch. Chain two together, chain one. Repeat. Don't mark the pattern down for that reason. This sweater is darling with a minimum of seams. Try it again! It is worth it!

Baby Christening Set Reviewed by Jean Marsh on 2013-10-02 *
I give up. I just can't get this stitch.

Baby Christening Set Reviewed by Bonnie Thornton on 2012-10-23 *****
I love this pattern and have made the blanket several times, sometimes making a white blanket and then edging it with a contrasting color like pink for a baby girl. It was a little confusing to me at first as to where to insert the hook, but once I realized I just needed to insert the hook under each stitch (you will see a single piece of thread between the 2 stitches--insert to the right and then to the left of this thread), it was easy and fast. I've used this stitch pattern to make dishcloths, too.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Baby Christening Set Reviewed by Jennifer King on 2012-09-09 **
Pattern is confusing and needs to be more detailed in it's instructions.

Reviewed by on 2012-03-10 *****
This is a great beginner set. It's basically a combination of only three stitch patterns. I found that you have a choice between going into or under the chain during the sc2tog. Going into the chain gives you a softer more filled in look while going under the chain gives a more lacy look eith little gaps around the stitches. I didn't have any sizing problems. The blanket is 22x24 without the border which may be small for some babies or babies who at christened closer to a year old. The hat and jacket are pretty big though in terms of sizing. If you're having problems check your gauge because you may be crocheting too tight for the pattern.

Reviewed by Gillian Mowry on 2012-03-06 *****
Super easy set. I made the hat and the sweater and both were easy and came out really cute. Love the little blocks stitch/pattern.

Baby Christening Set Reviewed by hazel on 2011-07-20 ****
It does take a few tries before you get it right. But looks great once you get it. ignored the 19 ch - 1sp bit in the cardigan instructions. Took the tip that count each ch sp as one stitch and each decrease(sc2tog) as a stitch(thank you goosegrl). The tricky bit is where the hook goes to get the waffle effect. So it goes under the ch sp then it goes in the next space not necessary directly under the chain(I hope it makes sense). To get the boxes aligned keep a count of stitches at end of each row till you get it.

Baby Christening Set Reviewed by Nancy Harris on 2011-02-16 ****
The first time I made this pattern, I made so many mistakes that I gave the results to my granddaughter for her doll. The blanket was way too small and the stitches weren't lining up the way they were supposed to. As it happens, the mistake was mine as I was neglecting to do the final sc on each row. I made the hat and sweater three more times and the results are beautiful. I didn't crochet the blanket again but did make and add the picot edging to a purchased plain white blanket. I plan on making this again because everyone loves it and it goes quickly now that I understand the pattern.

Baby Christening Set Reviewed by Me on 2011-01-07 *****
I only made the sweater in this set. There are some basic steps missing from this pattern, but if you are experienced in crocheting, you'll figure it out. If not....you are going to struggle at some spots where the gaps in instructions are. The end result is gorgeous! I just love it! I would love to see this pattern increased for 6 months, 12 months and 2 years.
I added a photo of the sweater I made (there are booties and a hat as well in the photo as this is what I made from my baby's trip home from the hospital).

Click to zoom

Baby Christening Set Reviewed by goosegrl on 2010-12-27 ***
This stitch pattern is a little tricky. When it says that "each sc and each ch-1 sp counts as 1 st" it means that a sc counts as a st and a ch-1 sp counts as a st. So you work your sc2tog into the sc2tog of the previous row and the ch-1 space. I hope this helps someone else have an easier time, as it took me a little while to figure out and I've been crocheting for years.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font