Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Stratford Circle Afghan
Stratford Circle Afghan
Pattern Number: 90097AD
Rating: *****
4.7 (based on 33 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 33 results Page 1 of 4
1234Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Reviewed by laurel lobas on 2015-02-24 *****
Definite five star rating on this afghan. Used your recommended colors. I am self taught when it comes to crochet and am so proud of the finished product and how beautiful it looks against my carmel colored sofa.

Reviewed by Lauren on 2015-01-26 *****
I absolutely love how this project turned out! It was a nice, fairly simple pattern, that did not take too long to make. The colors I used were Colonial, Apple Green, Barley, and Pearls. It is beautiful, and very cozy and warm with the homespun yarn. I crochet pretty loosely and this blanket turned out HUGE (approx. diameter 88 in.). I ended up needing a third skein of the yarn I used for B, only made it about 3/4ths of the way around round 30 with it, and would've needed an additional skein of D to finish round 40. I ended up just doing 39 rounds, since I didn't feel like running to the store to buy another skein, but it still looks fine. I may have only run into this problem because of how loosely I crochet though. If I were to make this pattern again I would probably either use a smaller size hook or do 32 rounds, only doing 4 rounds for each color instead of 5, to make it a smidge smaller. Overall, I am very pleased with how it turned out and would encourage others to try it!

Stratford Circle Afghan Reviewed by Pamela Bryan on 2014-06-10 *****
I love, love, love this pattern and the yarn is wonderful...works up beautifully . It can be used in any color combination and everyone wants a circle afghan after seeing mine..oh, yes, I have given every one i have made away once someone sees it and loves it...one day I will make one for me and actually keep it..




Stratford Circle Afghan Reviewed by Kim Langer on 2013-08-18 *****
I made this afghan and can't get it to lay flat. But told my brother to just throw it over his big living room couch, and it fits perfect! With it hanging on the sides and back, you can't tell. So warm and cozy too.

Stratford Circle Afghan Reviewed by Margot Nowicke on 2013-08-13 ****
I am a novice crocheter and made this afghan once. It came no where near laying flat. That eventually drove me crazy so I ripped it back and am starting over. I am having problems getting it to flatten out! I have searched for a local crocheted to assist me to no avail. My first 2 rounds are less than 4" no matter the size hook I use. I love the pattern, the ease, the yarn. Can anyone please advise me?

Stratford Circle Afghan Reviewed by Rachel Callahan on 2013-07-31 *****
This afghan was my very first project. The instructions are very easy to follow and the afghan is absolutely beautiful. I made this afghan for my husband for Christmas and he will not let anyone else use it. It is so warm and soft. I had to purchase extra material so that it would cover him from head to toe. I am not sure of the dimensions, but he is 6’4” and it covers him completely up! I plan on making another one for my father.

Click to zoom

Stratford Circle Afghan Reviewed by Stefanie on 2013-02-10 ****
I just started this afghan and I consider myself a reasonably intelligent person. However, Round 6 says "continue in pattern established". That could mean either Round 5, OR rounds 2 thru 5. So, upon the advice of another reviewer on here, I looked up the Kew Gardens Afghan. Much clearer instructions!!! Thank you for your advice!! This is going to be a wedding gift for my daughter and son-in-law! Now I will have to make one for my other two sons-in-law as well!!

Stratford Circle Afghan Reviewed by amanda on 2011-12-29 *****
I had a little trouble like many others understanding the instructions on how to continue the pattern but after reading the reviews, I figured it out. Love the blanket, super cozy and beautiful.

Click to zoom

Stratford Circle Afghan Reviewed by Nicki Weathersby on 2012-05-25 ****
Here's how I dealt with the increases without having to count. I placed a stitch marker on each of the 2nd stitches of the increase after about row 15. From then on I knew the following stitch after the marker was the increase, and I moved my SM accordingly. Also, to make things easier I also used a single different color SM to signify the beginning of the row.

Another note I wanted to share - Count the slip stitch, when completing a row, as the first of the Ch 3 on the next row.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Stratford Circle Afghan Reviewed by Samantha on 2011-12-27 ****
Here's my tip to help remember increases -- remember which row you're on (doesn't count for the first row). The number of stitches including increases is always the same as the row you're on, and the last two are your increase. So, on row three, you count "one, two, three" and stitches two and three will be in the same space for your increase. On your fourteenth row, you will count "one, two, three... twelve, thirteen, fourteen" and stitches thirteen and fourteen will be in the same space -- those are your increases. Gets a bit confusing when your blanket starts getting huge, but it's great while you're getting used to the pattern!

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font