Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Gaelic Bay Afghan
Gaelic Bay Afghan
Pattern Number: 90088AD
Rating: *****
4.4 (based on 11 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 11 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Gaelic Bay Afghan Reviewed by Linda Jiang on 2011-09-20 ****
I am almost finished this Afghan and I am very happy with it. A few points:
-I was very careful with the stitches as the other posters suggested but the blanket is still a little "bubbly". That said, I do not mind and just consider it a feature of this pattern (if you zoom in closely to the picture you can see the "bubbliness").
-I used the Fisherman's wool which is a little "scratchy", but this is a gift for someone in a very cold climate so the wool will serve her well. It is a very warm and heavy blanket. The pattern is very striking.
-Lots of tie-offs because of the color changes but they wound up not taking that long to do.
I also wound up having to buy one ball of extra yarn because I wanted to finish off with a different color. It took me some time to complete but it is not a difficult pattern and I got into a good rhythm with it. I will definitely make again!

Gaelic Bay Afghan Reviewed by Marianne Parra on 2011-02-16 *****
This blanket won't be "bubbley" as long as you keep count of your stitches. Don't add or skip anything. I used an easy to move hairclip to keep track of my stitches.
I also added a color, otherwise I followed the directions exactly, I'm happy with the results.

Click to zoom

Gaelic Bay Afghan Reviewed by Joyce Baranski on 2011-02-17 ****
This is my favorite afghan in the house. It was easy to make and came out so nice. Soft tones of brown and tan.

Gaelic Bay Afghan Reviewed by Hillary Fields on 2010-11-29 *****
I made this afghan and it came out exactly as described. It was quick and easy and I fell into a rhythm with it that made it enjoyable to make. I'm sad I have to give it away, but I promised...!

The only issue I have with this is that the yarn is very scratchy. My friend who I made it for loves that kind of fabric, but for myself, I would prefer something softer. The fisherman's wool is easy to work with, but not the most comfy.

Click to zoom

Gaelic Bay Afghan Reviewed by Rebecca Sturtevant on 2010-07-26 ****
I made this for my mom for Christmas. The colors are SO her. She absolutely loves it.
The pattern was very easy to follow and once I got into the rhythm of the stitches I was able to blaze through it.
I don't buy my yarn on line and found it a little difficult to find all of the colors, but eventually I gathered them and was able to proceed.
I think I will make one for my in-laws this year in a different set of colors.

Gaelic Bay Afghan Reviewed by Erin Carr on 2010-06-08 ****
I made this Afghan for my dad for Christmas this year. It's a very fun pattern after you finish the first row. I'm still currently working on it and plan to add a boarder to it with the oatmeal color. Only downside is that between switching colors there are a TON of tie-off's that you have to work into the blanket. A very beautiful blanket!

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Gaelic Bay Afghan Reviewed by Chiquita on 2010-03-14 ***
This Lion Brand design is very pretty, but it does not lie nice and flat. I would like to see the pattern tweeked a bit so it doesn't bunch up.

Gaelic Bay Afghan Reviewed by Christina Presnell on 2010-02-11 *****
I am working this afghan right now. I second the statement of not losing count of the stitches. It is beautiful, though, and the Fisherman's Wool yarn works up very nicely.

Gaelic Bay Afghan Reviewed by KATHRYN GRAY on 2010-02-05 *****
I made this afghan using the instructions for the Mulberry Street afghan (Vanna's Choice). The pattern instructions are the same, but I chained 168 and used a J hook. I used one skein of each of the 5 Fishermen's Wool colors. It turned out great, real cozy.

Click to zoom

Gaelic Bay Afghan Reviewed by Linda on 2010-01-16 *****
I really enjoyed making this afghan and the wool yarn was wonderful to work with. I hope to see more colors in the future.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font