Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Felted Slip Ons
Felted Slip Ons
Pattern Number: 90080AD
Rating: ****
4.0 (based on 14 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 14 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Felted Slip Ons Reviewed by DONNA PIEHL on 2013-11-16 ****
I used two circulars because of the elongated shape. I switched to the Magic Loop when there were 33 sts left.

Felted Slip Ons Reviewed by Koleen Hassey on 2013-08-09 **
I am an intermediate knitter and found this patter to be very difficult.

Felted Slip Ons Reviewed by Christine Wonder on 2012-01-02 *****
I made a pair of these using the yarn leftover from my Inishturk sweater.
It is so fun to watch the felting. I had never felted an item in my front load washer before but it worked out fine.
One thing to keep in mind is that slippers always look better on feet than they do fresh out of the wash.

Felted Slip Ons Reviewed by Gail Peterson on 2011-01-22 ****
These slippers are warm and toasty. I have made 10 pairs in various color combinations. However, I added two more even rows to the slipper part and my cuff part does not come up as high as the slippers in the picture. Did they add rows too? I'm going to experiment with slippers with no cuffs.

Felted Slip Ons Reviewed by victoriana_collector on 2010-11-06 ****
LOVE the design! I like the suggestion of the reviewer who made these into Mary Janes...it would be ADORABLE! A strap would be a great place for some embellishment too.

Rather than a double strand of Wool Ease, I used a single strand of Wool Ease "Thick and Quick" because it was what I had on hand. I am really happy with the cuff using that. I may use one size smaller needle on the cuff next time just too give it more of a sock-like feel.

For a more novice knitter, if would be helpful for the pattern to note which end is the heel and which is the toe. Because they aren't knit like socks, it may be confusing until well into the shape.

It would also be helpful to instruct where to reverse the decreases with a (sl1, k1, psso) on one side of the center front to create a center front that is symetrical. As an advanced knitter, I made note of this myself.

I did NOT dry mine. After washing, I put them on my feet, stretching to fit and air dried. I made the largest size, and I wear a 9/10 in shoes. I feel a tiny bit cramped in them, but they fit my daughter perfectly who is a size 8 shoe.

When I make my next pair I am going to make a couple changes:

* Because the of the odd shape of the foot while knitting, I will use more than 4 double points, or perhaps a short circular. I knit tightly, so it was akward on just three needles and the 4th working needle.

* I plan to use a double strand of the wool and a larger gauge needle for the foot portion. I have been happy with the results of my mittens knit with two strands, and it will make my slippers longer wearing!

* I think I will add a couple more even rows of wool before I switch to the cuff yarn.

The last two changes should make the size a bit more roomy for my comfort.


Felted Slip Ons Reviewed by Sarah Bjorndal on 2010-08-06 *****
Love them! I actually made them into maryjanes by leaving off the cuff and adding a strap with antique buttons.

Please stay with the washer while you are felting! You must check often (every couple of minutes) as your project nears the correct size. I squeeze out the excess water and try them on right there! Once you felt them down they may stretch for you a bit but not much. Stop the washer immediately when they are the right size! I take them out no matter where the washer cycle is and dry them in a towel. Then they go on feet to be shaped.

Felted Slip Ons Reviewed by Marcia Chandler on 2010-02-28 *****
I am very pleased with my new slippers. In my store, the available dye lots of the suggested colors in the two different yarns did not blend well at all so I used the Oak Tweed for felting and the Wool Ease in the natural heather for the top. They go well together and the slippers don't show dirt. I made the largest size (I wear 8 1/2). I am a very tight knitter so was afraid they might be too small. I pulled them from the dryer while damp, stretched them back out, inserted a pair of aerobic shoes, and finished the drying. Perfect! I will make these again in a different color.

Felted Slip Ons Reviewed by Anna Downen on 2010-02-24 ***
Felting wool is always a hit or miss. Your washer may felt more or less, causing the pattern to be too big or too small. I've always found making felted items for wearing risky. My pair turned out a bit too small.

Also, I recommend casting off very loosely!

Felted Slip Ons Reviewed by Debbie Thompson on 2010-02-16 *
I tried making these using the large pattern. The felted part was too big, and the ankle portion where the slipper is attached to the bootie was massive!! I don't know if I did something wrong or if the pattern was not properly written for larger sizes (I wear a women's 10).
Can't say the project was a complete waste though....it made a great dog toy!

Felted Slip Ons Reviewed by GKohli on 2010-01-28 ****
These worked out great!

I ended up using the brown fisherman's wool for yarn A, and Vanna's choice for yarn B, and they turned out pretty nicely. However, I think they shrunk a bit in the dryer while felting...so be careful with that. Make sure you measure your foot size first, and make it accordingly!

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font