Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Elspeth Shawl
Elspeth Shawl
Pattern Number: 90253AD
Rating: ****
3.3 (based on 18 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 18 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Elspeth Shawl Reviewed by Marge Stone on 2014-03-18 ****
I made this with a light weight yarn and think it is very pretty. I wish there was a pattern that would make this a full moon ponchos. It is very pretty if you turn it around like a cover up however you can't wear it that way.

Elspeth Shawl Reviewed by Ana Mary Fernandez on 2012-11-26 *
It is a very pretty pattern, but poorly written. I've been crocheting for over 40 years. The reviewer got it right that said, count the first stitch on the row as the second one in. The pattern was written by a novice who did not know to explain that and, and it has made a BIG difference in the pattern. In crochet we always begin the stitch cound for a row based on the stitch the hook is in, not the next stitch. Please consider recalibrating and rewriting your pattern.

Once you get the hang of the pattern, the rest is easy, if you count based on the writer's way of counting the first stitch.

Elspeth Shawl Reviewed by Christine Ellis on 2011-07-17 ****
This was easy to make, and the shawl turned out so beautiful! Thinking about making another one. i found the directions to be a bit confusing at first, until I realized that the first stitch of each row, is not the stitch at the base of the turning chain, but actually the next stitch in. After that, I had no problems with the pattern and my stitch counts for each row were accurate.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Elspeth Shawl Reviewed by SaConda on 2011-05-07 ****
I read the reviews after I started this pattern. I'll agree with some of the posts, the instructions seemed a little off, but overall an easy pattern. The shawl was a bit short so I repeated the last 4 rows.

This pattern is definately a keeper. I will be giving this one out as gifts for close friends and family using different yarn textures. For this one, I used Jiffy, color: Oat. Completed it in 2 days.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Elspeth Shawl Reviewed by Phyllis Tee on 2011-03-13 ****
I am half way thru my third Elspeth Shawl. It works up quickly and is beautiful. I use a K size hook and continue the pattern until it is long enough to cover the arms as in the picture.

Elspeth Shawl Reviewed by lisa ohara on 2010-12-05 *****
I made this shawl in two days. I didn't have a problem at all with any directions and it came out beautifully!

Elspeth Shawl Reviewed by Theresa on 2010-04-15 ****
I made this shawl too, I liked it;easy and quick,but my 25yr old daughter said it looked like a doily. But found the Sea Shell shawl and that she liked...it is more elegant.

Elspeth Shawl Reviewed by Carolyn Padilla on 2010-03-27 ***
Please, this is a beautiful pattern but so poorly written. For the sake of everyone making it please rewrite this pattern. I am an experienced crocheter of 40 years and found this pattern to be confusing, not complicated, but confusing. I really don't know how to rate this as I figured it out but would not have started it if I had known in advance.

Elspeth Shawl Reviewed by correen schrenk on 2010-03-17 **
This pattern is used several times at lionbrand with different weights. all the patterns are confusing. I have corcheted for 50 years and I too just gave up Sometimes things are so easy you are blind to it, but this pattern shouldnt be confusing in any way, it has simple stitches, just very poor instructions.. I returned the unused yarn. What a shame.
Wish you would FINALLY rewrite it, it could be a lovely project.

Elspeth Shawl Reviewed by Deidre A Wright on 2010-03-01 ****
I have been doing crochet for about a year (self-taught) and did not have any problems making this shawl. I found that it worked up really fast. As written, I thought the shawl was a little short so I did a repeat of rows 20-25. Of course, that made it wider also. Row 21 does have an error as it does not tell you to chain 3 at the beg. of the row but that is easy to figure out.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font