Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Vanna's Collection
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Edith Shawl
Edith Shawl
Pattern Number: 90207AD
Rating: *****
4.4 (based on 11 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 11 results Page 1 of 2
12Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Edith Shawl Reviewed by Jane on 2015-05-20 ***
I am a novice knitter, and I've started over about six times but am determined to finish this, if my yarn holds up! I've gotten as far as three repeats before missing something. Finally came here and will use your great hints, thank you!

Edith Shawl Reviewed by Patricia Homer on 2013-06-29 *****
This is a wonderful pattern for first time lace knitters as well as old pros. There is enough to interest even for those who have knitted lace before.
I wish that the stitches had been charted, I had to do it myself. It would have been a good, painless introduction to reading a chart.
Some advice for those who have not knitted lace before: make use of stitch markers after every repeat, count your yarn overs before you knit the next wrong side, they can be easily picked up at this point if marked with a small safety pin, it is a quick knit and very attractive.

Edith Shawl Reviewed by Jana Shepard on 2010-10-01 *****
This was a fun pattern. It works up quickly, and looks more difficult than it really is. I used 7 balls of the Almond Organic Cotton and added one more repeat in the width. It ended up a few inches longer than the original pattern, but I like the extra length. I liked working with that yarn as well, and will use it again. I will probably make a few of these shawls, and perhaps make some scarves with 2 repeats of the pattern in width.

Edith Shawl Reviewed by Dagmar Merritt on 2010-09-13 *****
Love the pattern and the shawl! So far I have repeated the pattern 6 times. Still a long way to go. I placed markers after every repeat in each row. It helps keep track of the 15 stitches per section. Just by reading at the directions you can account for the 15 stitches on row 4. Don't forget that you knit twice the first and last parenthesis. There is 1 knit, a yo, another knit and another yo on each end (this is for Sara, the reviewer, that can't account for 15 stitches on this row). I also printed the pattern directions in a large font and made each stitch name abbrev. a different color. I lost the last yo stitch on the last repeat of the 6th row and founded easily. Once you become familiar with the pattern and stitches, it becomes very easy. You just have to review and/or practice stitches you are not familiar with before you start. Other than that, I think it's an easy and fun pattern to follow. I'm a beginner knitter and I think it's pretty easy. I have even been watching the tennis tournament on TV while I knit. The markers are of great help. I'm using a chunky yarn (5) and size 11 needles and so far it looks really good. I'll post a picture when I'm done. Good luck with yours and happy knitting!

Edith Shawl Reviewed by RoseMarie Herman on 2010-07-30 *****
I made this shawl for a Prayer Shawl. I've made the plain ones with Homespun and was looking for something with more detail for someone special. I've only made a few lace patterns and I loved this one. I had no problems following the pattern. I typed the 8 row pattern in a larger font so it was easier to follow and to find my place as I worked along. I will definitely make this one again!

Edith Shawl Reviewed by Sue Hodges on 2010-04-27 ****
This was my first shawl and I enjoyed making it. I used a self patterning yarn, so the leaf pattern is not as noticeable. The only thing that bothers me is that the two ends don't match when finished.

Edith Shawl Reviewed by La'Ketta Casey on 2010-04-19 *****
LOVE LOVE LOVE, I had a time with row 4. After starting over 3 times; everything worked out just great. Hope this will help the next knitter. You start with 68 sts. On rows 2-7 you will have 60 sts for a set of 4 repeats; 15 sts for each. Row 8 you will have 68 sts, for 17 sts each 4 repeat. I so agree this is a very easy pattern once you pass row 4 for the first time.

Edith Shawl Reviewed by Sue Dolezal on 2010-02-25 ****
This is a very pretty shawl but I would not call it easy. I found no problem with Row 4's stitch count and followed the pattern as written. You have to have your wits about you while you work on this item, but the outcome is well worth it!

Edith Shawl Reviewed by on 2010-02-21 ****
I have made this shawl twice...a while ago. I'm making it again. I don't remember this from the previous times, but in row 4, only 13 stitches are accounted for. I'm adding a purl stitch to each end. Seems to work fine. But it is a very pretty shawl, & easy to make.

Edith Shawl Reviewed by Sandy Badger on 2009-11-09 *****
This shawl is beautiful! I have only done about 6 inches but I am so pleased with the results. It is easy, but it does require that you pay attention and count your stitches. Well worth it! I am using Cotton-ease and I am happy with the results.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font