Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Library Capelet
Library Capelet
Pattern Number: 80394AD
Rating: ****
3.4 (based on 33 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 33 results Page 1 of 4
1234Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Library Capelet Reviewed by Artemis Louloudias on 2015-03-31 ****
I finished the capelet and I want to add that I believe the gauge is way off for the suggested needle size. If you want an accurate gauge, I suggest using smaller needles than 6mm. Sth like 4 or 4.5mm. This would explain some of the reviews stating that the capelet was small. I followed the pattern with the suggested yarn and 6mm needles and I am happy with the outcome. The size is perfect. I would definitely knit this pattern again.

Click to zoom

Library Capelet Reviewed by noemia francen on 2014-01-28 ****
Love it!I knitted this capelet in Jan 2012. Using the yarn & needles recommended for this pattern. The outcome was a little small for me. I think it will drap nicely if you're a size 7-10(small. I'm planning to knit another one.This time I'll add more stitches.
It's quick and easy too.

Library Capelet Reviewed by tdavismelvin on 2013-11-17 ****
I love this capelet! I read the reviews before making it and made a few modifications making it longer. It drapes beautifully. I used antique buttons from my grandmothers stash. I

Library Capelet Reviewed by Heidy Jamis on 2013-10-04 ****
I'm happy with the results, but I couldn't have done it without other reviewers' comments. The directions aren't very good. - Thank you, Elizabeth Payne, for explaining the decrease directions. - I used 10.5 needles to match the gauge and the yarn color used was Pearl.

I've included photos from when I blocked it. Note the finished width is 43" and the finished length is 22". The collar (at the top of photos) is folded in half. I did tack the collar down so it would stay in place. I made a frog clossure (not shown) which looked terrific, but was a pain to make. Also shown in the picture is the remainder of the second skein of yarn.

This capelet is designed to be semi-fitted, which keeps it from looking frumpy. My results fit a medium woman (and would also fit a small woman).

This capelet is especially good for someone who is sick or bedbound, because of the elbow length and because the soft, silky yarn is washable.

I plan to make two more. One as written and another larger. - Does anyone know why the collar is picked-up along the edge instead of worked at the same time as the rest of the cape?

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Library Capelet Reviewed by Kathy Fouty on 2013-02-18 ****
This is a great pattern that is quick and easy, and makes a very cute capelet, much cuter than is shown in the photo. My mother absolutely loves the one I made her (I used a different yarn, a 100% wool, single-ply, loosely twisted). I thought the pattern was well-written and easy to follow. But I won't bother with two buttonholes another time. One does the trick quite nicely.

Reviewed by rubelea on 2013-02-17 ***
I used a white sport weight yarn with a thin sparkly silver yarn. The effect is wonderful and will be a gift for a bride.
Having said that, the pattern is poorly written. It needs more clarity. I also added additional stitches to the neckline to make it lay better.
All in all, I am very happy with the results.

Library Capelet Reviewed by Mrs. Dianne Mulkey on 2012-10-19 *****
I love shawls; I've made quite a few. This one is nice because it's just long enough and is held together with the button. I gave one to our Pastor's wife. Thank you Lion Brand for all your A-one patterns!

Library Capelet Reviewed by JOAN F BROWN on 2012-03-13 ****
I just finished kinitting this lovely capelet. However, I feel that 100 stitches is NOT enought to pick up and have it drape as nicely as it could with a little fullness in the back.

I plan to make one for each of my daughters-in-laws for thie birthdays this year.

Joan Brown

Library Capelet Reviewed by Twyla Gerdes on 2012-02-20 *
POORLY written pattern. It does not clearly state the decrease as a pattern starting with the 18 degrees, etc. I ended up with way to long a cape to get down to 8 stitches and had to ripe the entire project. Very disappointed, as I spend money for the printed book, not a free pattern!

Reviewed by Elie Quick on 2012-01-11 ****
I knitted this with size 11 needles since I tend to knit with very tight tension. It came out fine. As another reviewer mentioned, put a marker after each decrease. Then you just decrease before the marker every fourth row. I agree the instructions can be written better. This my first project that needs picking up stitches. It would be nice to include a link or an explanation on that. As for the buttonholes, I think you can do without. Just find a nice big brooch or pin and pin it together and it will look great. Mine turned out similar to the picture, quite happy with the results overall.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font