Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Margaret's Hat
Margaret's Hat
Pattern Number: 80752AD
Rating: *****
4.5 (based on 53 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 53 results Page 1 of 6
123456Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Margaret's Hat Reviewed by Kimberly Merritt on 2013-02-08 ****
I finally made this hat after having the pattern for over a year. It was much easier than I expected, and it looks great. I love how it turned out and will make several more in different colors; it's a great hat to give as a gift, too.

Reviewed by Danielle Shaw on 2012-12-04 *****
I followed this pattern exactly (except with green yarn- seaspray mist, I think,) and it turned out great! Getting the bow to look like a bow and not a skimpy tassel was the most troublesome part. I really like the feminine spin on a classic beanie style. This is my most 'professional' looking crochet piece to date, so I'm very happy with it!

Margaret's Hat Reviewed by Ashley Elliott on 2012-03-28 *****
The pattern is pretty easy and works up fairly quick. The hardest part for me was the top, which i had to do twice for it to look right. I used a J hook instead of a K ( many past reviews have said to use smaller than K) I did 15 ch instead of 18 like the pattern calls for. It worked out perfectly. I didn't do the entire brim. I did the first row of Treble and then did a single. I then made a smaller brim just in the front, like a cloche. For the "ribbon", I didn't use just a chain, but i did SC to make it thicker. I then edged the hat with SC all the way around. I crocheted 2 flowers ( 1 maroon, 1 black) and sewed them on. I can't wait for winter so i can wear it. I"m going to make a scarf that matches.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Pattern Doesn't Give Hat Shown Reviewed by Marlena Brusacoram on 2012-02-15 **
I love, love, love the hat in the picture. I am an intermediate crocheter and thought, sure, I can do this.

Following the pattern as written, however, will not give you the hat that is pictured. If you follow the instructions, you will end up with three rounds of treble crochet and no edging, whereas there is only one round of tr in the picture and a nice edge or border to roll up.

I had to modify the pattern (add two extra rows to fit, only complete one round of tr, and do several hdc rounds for the border)in order to get something similar to the picture, so for that I had to give the pattern 2 stars.

If I could rate the hat separately, I would definitely give it 5 stars, but since I am rating the pattern itself, I have to be honest and say that it is disappointing.

Yes, it is a free pattern and for that I am grateful; however, we should be able to follow a pattern -- regardless of cost -- and achieve the advertised result.

Margaret's Hat Reviewed by Christina Reimer on 2012-01-26 *****
Had a blast making this hat for my daughter! I incorporated some of the suggestions. The last four rows I used an "I" hook which was one step down from the "J" hook used to complete the hat up to this point. It was a tad longer then I would have liked. The next time I will start with 15 chains. All in all it was a success! Hope she likes it.

Margaret's Hat Reviewed by TA Bernhardt on 2011-12-03 *****
Love this pattern! Changed it up a bit by adding a different color border and tie. It came together quickly and easily.

Click to zoom

Reviewed by April Riley on 2011-11-29 *****
Love this hat! Very feminine style and easy to make. My first one turned out a bit long, even after rolling the end up so I improvised by folding the brim up, out of my eyes, then put the chain ribbon through the outside of the last round of treble crochet. Overall the hat was snug so one the next one I can just try it in as i go and maybe omit a few rounds of sc before the treble crotchets and length will be perfect!

Margaret's Hat Reviewed by Laura Sullivan on 2011-11-22 *****
found the pattern to be easy to follow and the hat came out super cute! the person I made it for loved it!

Margaret's Hat Reviewed by Sheila Lance on 2011-02-16 *****
Like this pattern a lot! A person can always change a pattern to suit them, but this pattern isn't written wrong... the reason you can't see the rest of the rows of treble crochet is that the brim is folded up. :)

Margaret's Hat Reviewed by Debra Leuthard on 2011-02-15 ****
This is a really nice hat. I followed the instructions up until the last 4 rows of the brim. The instructions did not match the pictured hat. The powers that be should change the last 4 rows to read: "repeat rnd 4" instead of repeating rnds 3 and 4. There should only be one row of the treble crochet (rnd 3), from what i see in the pictured hat. Other than that, it's awesome! I've been crocheting for over 30 years and have substantial experience behind me. I usually tend to lean toward "challenging" patterns, but this one is really cute, even though it's labeled "easy"! I will post pictures soon.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font