Skip Navigation

Click for Lion Brand Yarn Home Page
separator
Our Yarns
The LB Collection
Martha Stewart Crafts
Lion's Pride Woolspun
Request Free Catalog
Our Yarns
Yarn by Weight
separator
New Catalog
separator
Shop
separator
  • free patterns
  • special sales
  • new items
  • 15% off coupon
    US orders only
    view past newsletters   Click to view newsletters and subscription choice
separator
Free Catalog
separator
Patterns
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Studio
     Retail Store, New York, NY
separator
Lion Brand
     Yarn Shop
     Retail Store, Colonie, NY
separator
Lion Brand Outlet
     Retail Store, Carlstadt, NJ
separator
Find a Store
post code:
country:
within:
more options   Click for more store-locator options
separator
Home : Customer Reviews of a Pattern
 

Customer Reviews

Image of Textured Circle Shrug
Textured Circle Shrug
Pattern Number: glamknits
Rating: *****
4.2 (based on 26 reviews)
Write your own review
 
 
Search All Patterns:  
spacer
 
Displaying 1-10 of 26 results Page 1 of 3
123Display next page
Write your own review Have you made this pattern? Send us a photo
Textured Circle Shrug Reviewed by Teresa Gun on 2014-09-23 ****
I made this in a periwinkle blue and it is gorgeous and I love it! It gets lots of compliments. The pattern was mostly clear, but I did have to guess in 1 or 2 spots (which is why I rated this pattern a 4 instead of 5) --but my guesses seem to have turned out right, so I guess you just need to use common sense. I found the pattern in the sleeve made it hard to figure out if I was ending them at the same point (in the pattern), and in the end I didn't but I am the only person who notices! As at least one other reviewer noted, you need to be prepared to have a LOT of stitches and weight on your needles and to knit for what seems a long time to get around to your row marker, once you get to the bottom/neck/front-sides. Knitting evenings, I think this took me 3-4 weeks to finish.

Textured Circle Shrug Reviewed by Maria Cunningham on 2013-03-02 ****
I made this shrug for my daughter in blue and it turned out beautiful! The pattern was easy to read. This pattern includes picking up many many stitches. I found a good tutorial for picking up stitches and it turned out well. Be ready to have over 250 stitches on your round needle and knit/purl for a long time. The result though is worth it!

Textured Circle Shrug Reviewed by Lydia Portillo on 2013-02-14 *****
I have made this nice Shrug 3 times by now, and I again I am working on it; this time for myself.
I tried to send you pictures of them, but they were too big for the space provided.
Thank you for such pattern and give my gratitude to the personnel and the family owners of this wonderful web. I have learned a lot from you and of KAL especially.

Textured Circle Shrug Reviewed by Karen Choquette on 2013-01-23 **
The pattern instructions are poorly written and difficult to follow. I have 20 years knitting experience and agree with the other reviews by experienced knitters in terms of guessing.

Textured Circle Shrug Reviewed by Christine on 2012-06-19 *****
I used the old knit along as a guide. Fun to knit, and easy to try on as I went. Fits great. I'll make this again.

Click to zoom

Textured Circle Shrug Reviewed by Erin Ingram on 2012-02-20 ****
Mine turned out GINORMOUS! It's my own fault: didn't do a swatch for gauge nor measured throughout to make sure I was on track... However, it's great pattern. Takes a while to do considering it's a bolero/shrug.

Note for phtoos: I haven't blocked this piece yet.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Textured Circle Shrug Reviewed by Vicki Kartychak on 2012-02-14 *****
This is such a cute pattern--thank you for making it available at no charge. The directions are quite clear, although it would be helpful to first-time shruggers (as am I ) to understand that the sleeves have to be folded lengthwise in order to make the transition from the right back to the right sleeve, and from the left sleeve to the left back (in order to pick up and knit as stated in the 'neck trim' section). I made the sleeves somewhat longer and tapered them slightly. Because of the nature of the construction, I initially believed that a woven underarm seam would be appropriate, but did not like the way it looked, and ended up using a backstitch seam. If you are not fond of knitting on circular needles (I am not), you will find the neck trim to be just really tedious, slogging, round after round of K1 P1 work. I invested in a quality 40" "turbo" needle with slightly rounded tips, and am glad I spent the extra money for it. My T-shirt size falls between medium and large, and I knit the shrug in size medium with good results. I used a wool/bamboo blend yarn for added softness and drape. I am an experienced knitter of 30+years.

Click to zoom

Click to zoom

Reviewed by Lavina Jennings on 2012-02-02 *****
Great pattern did my first shortly after the KAL started and loved it my first one was with Vannas yarn did another two in wool ease heater blues and one in black ( that was a challenge. Did the last one as a summer shrug in cotton. They all look great one I did in all stockinet as I wanted to see one with out the texture. Two were gifts and t
One I sold on commission. Thinking on making another in the future. In another color and yarn type.

Textured Circle Shrug Reviewed by carla hooker on 2011-04-26 *****
i just got my yarn yesterday. I'm using a bamboo/wool medium weight. i started knitting last night and can't wait to get off work and get back to it. i truly think it will be lovely. I, too, like others, will post a pic when finished. My rating is based on my excitement as I have just started. I will advise as I progress.

Textured Circle Shrug Reviewed by Sally Blake on 2011-03-01 ***
Turned out well but I had to improvise/guess in some areas of the instructions. The instructions should have been written more clearly.
I like the fact it is long at the back - it's practically a jacket, rather than a 'shrug'.

 
 
separator separator
Bookmark This!  separator
Sign up for our Newsletter  
separator Share This!  separator About Us separator Contact Us separator
  Font Size:   
Click to view page with standard font Click to view page with larger font Click to view page with largest font